We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz, Conch, Beach, Sea, Friendly people!”

Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Beach Shack
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Jazz, Conch, Beach, Sea, Friendly people!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This relaxed restaurant/bar is right on the beach with road access. You can walk off the beach volleyball grounds and right to the bar or bench. The roast conch was DELICIOUS, though its the most expensive thing on the menu.

The "gully wash" was an interesting local rum cocktail worth trying.

Go on a Sunday when they have a live jazzband playing right in the restaurant. The atmosphere is great for both adults and families. I would definitely go back if I had the chance! For pictures check my blog!

Only downside was that it was a bit slow (had to wait an hour for the food), but the time went by pretty quickly.

David De Clercq

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    31
    25
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best beach day ever!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family and I visited Freeport on a cruise ship and we were looking for something "out of the ordinary" to do when visiting the island. While researching, I happened upon some great reviews of Tony Macaroni's and we are so glad we took the chance! We had the best day EVER! We had a wonderful time drinking delicious frozen drinks and eating conch salad! Mario and Lisa are so friendly and helpful, but Tony is a show stopper!

Tony Macaroni's is about a fifteen minute ride from the cruise ship port. Sit in a lounge chair on the beautiful white sand beach and feel your worries melt away! This was certainly a day we will never forget!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcatelotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A little pricey compared to stateside, but less expensive than most others in the same area. Very friendly staff, good slightly less crpwded area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small, open concept”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Original, small setting. Limited choices but good tasting food, efficient service and beautiful beach view! Don't miss Jazz Sundays in the afternoon for live music.

It was very windy to relax and really enjoy the music and food last Sunday, but i could just imagine in one good weather Sunday afternoon.... :)

Did not get to meet Tony, but Mario was around, and he did good job keeping the orders and keeping things from flying because of the wind .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funtotravelwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great conch, great atmosphere, great experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perched above one of the prettiest beaches on grand bahama island (Tanio Beach) Tony's feels fun, relaxed and authentic. The conch salad is super fresh, the grilled conch is a great way to truly taste this creature ( use the pepper sauce sparingly, it has a real kick!) and the gully washer is my favorite drink (I started making them at home now)...

They are only open thurs - Sunday so plan accordingly! If you want to learn how the conch is prepared and yanked from the shell, just ask and tony will be happy to demonstrate! Be patient as everything is cooked to order (no rushing things). Free conch shell (they look dirty outside, but this moss/grass once it is dry, flakes right off leaving a perfectly pretty conch shell.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poz222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Tony Macaroni's Conch Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing