We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beach Bar Should Be”
Review of Margarita Villa

Margarita Villa
Ranked #18 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Beach Bar Should Be”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you are looking for a slice of paradise away from the tourist traps this is the place! A little local beach bar off the beaten path that will sooth your soul. We had lunch and some cold adult beverages and kicked back and enjoyed the view. We didn't try anything but the seafood but then again why travel to the islands to get chicken strips?! The cracked conch was excellent and the fish bites were as fresh as you can get. If you are looking to put your toes in the water and your "boongie" in the sand; this is the place to do it. If you want the same old, same old then go to Port Lucaya and save this place for me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BananaWind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    26
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AKA "The Sand Bar"”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visit Freeport A LOT. Never have we come to the Island and not visited The Sand Bar! In fact, we often go several times. Definitely a local place which is very nice. I recommend getting the cracked conch and fish bites baskets. The bahama mama's and rum punch's aren't so bad either. Fun place that is off the beaten path.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuziQFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food, atmosphere, and staff we experienced!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great time at Margaritavilla! The food was EXCELLENT and we had a great time talking to the staff there. When we went, we were the only tourist there and that's just the way we like it. We will for sure return to this nice "little" slice of heaven on Grand Bahama Island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wdhagood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome place to visit. We stayed at Diamonds by the Sea and it was a nice walk down the beach. Food was good but pricey. Chicken chunks, a side of mac, conch fritters with cole slaw along with two waters, $38! That was our only complainant. The sand floor is fun and the view is great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetblossom_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very laid back, very good food. A bar with a sand floor and outdoor seating, near the beach. Had great salads and fish burgers, and wonderful service from Yolanda.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbcMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita Villa also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Margarita Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing