We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the Ocean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banana Bay

Banana Bay
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right on the Ocean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We eat here frequently. It's a great place to take people, as it's right on the beach and they serve traditional Bahamian fare. It's a small place, but there is seating on the deck outside and we frequently bring a dozen or so friends at a time. The service is also traditionally Bahamian, so don't be in a hurry. Have the Banana bread! They bring it to your table straight from the oven and it's very good!
Attire: Swim suit, wet hair. Seriously, straight from the ocean to the table!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravvelKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    143
    38
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Food and service was good. I had the cracked conch and peas and rice-excellent. Conch chowder was also very good. Water was nice one day and full of seaweed another. Overall nice time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Banana Bread on Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I love this place so much we walked up the beach to dodge flooded hurricane roads just to get some wonderful banana bread and conch fritters. The view from the restaurant is a post card and the owner is very friendly. We had a wonderful experience there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rainy Day Culinary Tour of Freeport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have had alot of rainy days the last two weeks (Hurricane Arthur and very rainy week after Arthur). I got a bit of cabin fever and decided to drag the hubby to some local joints to try the food. Banana Bay was one stop #2 of the day. We were the only people in the place. Jennifer waited on us...she was a bit shy / hesitant but eventually opened up a little. I ordered a rum punch in a tall glass (less alcohol I was driving) and Bill had beer (High Rock - good and cold). My rum punch was delicious. Not just some pre - prepared junk in a jug but fruit juices mixed together perfectly with the right amount of rum and plenty of ice. We ordered the grouper with slaw and peas with rice. It was delicious. The fried fish was cooked to perfection - not oily , the slaw was fresh and cold,. The peas w rice were a little dry but hot sauce fixed the problem. We ordered their house made hot sauce and it was original...peppers steeped in lime juice . They take the peppers out and what you end up with is a refreshing and different hot sauce. We liked it. They gave us alot of looks when we asked for really hot sauce so she press them and they will give it to you. Great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIVRDOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“My favorite restaurant on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We went on the East End Tour which we booked at the last minute in the lobby of the Grand Lucayan Resort. The best part of the day was visiting the Banana Bay Rest. for lunch. It is located on a beautiful stretch of beach where you can sit outdoors on a shaded deck and enjoy the view while having a delicious meal. Swimming in or just watching the blue water was a joy not to be missed if you are on Grand Bahama Island

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Bay also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Banana Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing