We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great time and experience we had!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“What a great time and experience we had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

I can't begin to describe what a wonderful time we had during our weeks stay at "The Sunrise Resort and Marina" on Grand Bahama Island. The accomodations were perfect, as my room had it's own gallery style kitchen. The rooms were spotless, the staff more than accomodating, and the atmosphere....perfect. I would highly recommend anyone going to the Bahamas to check out this retreat. You won't be sorry!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank omagosh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
arnold, md
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Last November, 18 of my fellow Naval Academt classmates, ages 60 or so and their spouses converged on the Sunrise resort and Marina for a week of fun and companionship. Doug Sheppard, the owner of Sunrise and Taschar, the manager, took personal interest in our visit. I came via sailboat from the US and my USNA friends flew into Freeport. It was a spectacular time. The hotel planned a dinner one night and a poker tournament the next. The Marina facilities were top notch and the rooms at the Marina hotel like new. The staff was extremely professional and their was even a boatyard next door for some maintenance to the boat. We borrowed the hotels kayak's each day, went to their beach and on and on. Not only was it a great price performer but also was a hugh success with the group. We went for walks on the beach and then ate fresh conch salads at lunch from Mr. Walker. All in all an A+ from Tashar, Doug and the Sunrise staff...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironwill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I have been to Sunrise Resort & Marina 3 times and i plan to go back again soon as they have great hospitality: The staff is always friendly and helpful and the place is always clean and well maintained. Also, the rooms are very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas , TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Nightmare Xmas holiday stayed in sunrise resort.
It was horrible experience stayed in 4 days in this hotel from my family vacation.
No restaurant opened in this facility; even in their web site they claimed there is restaurant in the hotel.
We were only customer in the resort; advance notified them that we need get out for food in Xmas’s eve, but all they disappeared in the afternoon, left us in hungry Xmas night
Very bad attitude, add 60% tax on the top of the bill, added another $25 charges to my credit card without authorization.
That was why they don’t have any customers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cgigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk Va.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

What a wonderful time we had at the Sunrise Resort. We went there after the holidays to get away and relax. The service was excellant and the food was great. We were able to really enjoy first hand how hospitable the resort staff is. This place exceeded my expectations. I am planning to return and have my daughters destination wedding there. The hotel was comforable, very clean and reasonably priced. I really work hard to get a great deal and I hit the jackpot on pirce, food and peace at the Sunrise Resort and Marina.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable!
  • Disliked — Friendly helpful staff! inexpensive accomadations and the resort is off the beaten path!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindyelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
6.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Property: Sunrise Resort & Marina
Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing