We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place in Freeport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Resort & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Freeport
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place in Freeport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a little out of the way, but has harbor access and is relatively close to the airport as well. The service is wonderful and staff is very thoughtful. The rooms are clean and fresh with no musty smell so often found in the islands.

The price is excellent and the amenities are very good.

It is not the Ritz or Lucya, but it makes up for that by being warm, inviting and a great example of Bahamian friendliness.

Will I go back? YES! And I hope soon. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would pick a second floor room if possible, a better view and maybe even quieter than sown stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

quiet and neat - the room I got was fabulous - over looking a canal. It was third floor, but I needed the exercise!
Easy to get to the dive shop and back again from this place. Everyone on staff was so very nice and helpful, too.
I will be going back again...next year (2014) for Memorial Day weekend.
The only down side here, was the restaurant was not that good and the hours were a bit hard to understand (sign said open, and it was locked, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psincl5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel was a little ways from the downtown and port lucaya hustle and flow so I wasn't to enthusiastic at first ,but when we arrived we were greeted by the warm and bubbly manager aka TC (or who we affectionately called THE DIVA) who introduced us to all of the lovely amenities and near by places to go for food. We went bike riding (something I haven't done in years!),then we went kayaking (something I have never done!), the hotel is at the end of a quiet street right off the ocean inlet,some of my male friends went fishing and we all enjoyed the pool and the recreation room which had wifi. The rooms were roomy,clean and comfortable and the staff aimed to please,I would definitely go again and again.the only thing I think they should change is putting wifi in the rooms. Excellent customer service,nice amenities,clean large rooms with refrigerator ,what more can I say!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This wonderful place is tucked into a corner at the end of a tree lined street not far from the Ocean. The staff is very kind and helpful. If you have a boat the marina is beautiful. The grounds and the rooms are well maintained. Rooms are very clean. Bicycles are available for free. Kayaks are available for the adventurous ones who want some exercise and a chance to admire the scenery. Would definitely recommend this place for peaceful get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Once again, the staff and Ta'Shar at Sunrise Resort & Marina have done everything to go beyond my expectations. My guests from Canada were thoroughly pleased and impressed enough to consider a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Beautiful scene, rent a car and enjoy what the island have to offer.... Had fun playing pool, also enjoy the music playing in the pool area. Clean swimming pool.... the library has a calming effect..... Just lovely, just go and enjoy yourself, with that special one...

Room Tip: In the middle you can view the Marina! It's beautiful.....
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Malicha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was definately not worth the money and I'm glad my whole vacation was not spent here!

Dirty coffee machine, no restaurants anywhere in the vicinity and no cooking facilities to bring your own food! No access to the beach even though you are told there is....the beach is located down a road that is marked "private property" and has a security guard!

As for the name, they are not even facing the right way to see the Sunrise!!

No internet service as per advertised, dirty linens, I won't get into specifics, needless to say I slept fully clothed!! Dirty bathroom......and I could go on but I think you get the idea!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunshine13NovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ta Shar C, General Manager at Sunrise Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sunshine13NovaScotia,

I apologize for the issues during your recent stay, and wish you had voiced your concerns to us while you were here.

I can assure you that our housekeeping staff takes great pride in ensuring every room is spotless and linens fresh and clean for our guests. Your experience is not representative with our high standards, and I am working with our staff to look into the issues.

We are working with the authorities to enhance our free Wi-Fi, but there are free hot spots now throughout the resort. The nearby white sand beach is also available to our guests, many of whom appreciate its quiet nature.

Again, I apologize for the issues you experienced.

Best regards,
Ta’Shar Cuccurullo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.8 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#4 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.9 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
6.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.9 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 15 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Property: Sunrise Resort & Marina
Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing