We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very friendly staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here with my family (12 of us in total) for 5 nights and we had a great experience. The staff was very friendly. With such a large group we were a bit of demanding customers, but the staff had no problems tending to our needs. Free bicycle and kayaks are avaliable for use and there is a pool with a game room. The rooms stayed very cool and were spacious. The marina was beautiful and although we did not bring a boat, we were able to meet boaters using it and they seemed satisified. The hotel also recommends Mr. Cooper as a driver. Mr. Cooper was amazing and made our vacation even better. Everything was priced nicely and we were very happy with our choice to stay here. The rooms are not new and high class, but they were clean and comfortable. Also the location is not in the middle of the tourist areas, but Mr. Cooper happily took us anywhere we wanted almost anytime we wanted. He also served as a tour guide and introduced us to some very neat things to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just spent two nights by boat at Sunrise. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were simple, but very clean and neat, sufficiently spacious and well air conditioned (very important in the Bahamas in June!). security seems excellent and they were willing to drive us around the local area for free (we tipped the reasonable value of a cab ride though of course). For boaters a big plus was the floating docks and, in our case, our room was right in front of our boat slip. There was also a full grocery store nearby. The room rates were VERY inexpensive.

On the downside, the harbor entrance (for boaters) is shallow,3-4 ft at low tide. The facilities are a bit basic. There is no restaurant or bar on premises (the building is there, just not open). There is very little in the way of restaurants nearby. Da Clapboard Cafe was a long walk, short ride away and was basically a take-out place with a basic menu of local Bahamian food. You do have access to a beach, but its a 15 minute+ walk away.

The rooms offered a small fridge (which worked well) and tv, but not much else. There is a small pool and a "recreation room" made from the old bar area. It houses a pool table, ping pong table, an exercise bike, a stepper, and a few chairs and a smattering of books for the rainy day travelers stuck without reading material.

In summary, this is a great place for a boater on a budget. If you bring your own grill or don't mind cab rides for your activities, its perfect. You won't find more friendly staff at a marina on Grand Bahama and the rates are the cheapest I have seen of any clean place in the Bahamas. The shallow entrance (depth inside is fine) limits the boat volume so it is understandable that they can't offer on premises entertainment or dining, but it doesn't mean I didn't miss it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jupitom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We came in to Freeport by boat, we did not expect to have to spend the night. We found this marina/hotel by chance. It was a very quiet nice hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. Only one problem, we didn't realize until we got back to our room that night that the A/C wasn't working. It was so hot and we were miserable. Next morning we reported the problem with the A/C and we were told a security guard could have gotten us into another room, things happen but we have to come back to Freeport next week and we will stay here.

Room Tip: Check the A/C as soon as you get into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YounggunsFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephMPA, General Manager at Sunrise Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear YounggunsFishing,

Thank you for the review. We apologize again for the issues with your air conditioning, and wish it was brought to our attention earlier so that we could have moved you to another room.

Everyone on our staff is committed to making our guests’ stay truly enjoyable, and are happy to assist in anyway. Again, thank you for the review. We are happy that you found us, and enjoyed our quiet, clean and friendly marina resort.

We enjoyed meeting you and your family, and look forward to welcoming you back to Sunrise soon!

Best regards,
Mrs. Ta’Shar Cuccurullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Met friends that brought a boat over from Key West. The marina rates were reasonable and we used the hotel for two nights unti they got in. A little way from Lucayan resort area but the Sunrise Marina and hotel is just what we wanted. Laid back, large clean room with good A/C, and refrigerator. Easy walk to a secluded beach,the staff was very helpful and even had a bike or two we could have borrowed. Not the big resort experience but a great value.

Room Tip: Ground floor is easy access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We loved this marina--there were alot of people staying here the week we did, but not once were we disturbed by anyone or kept awake (a rare thing for a resort vacation). It's only a short drive from here to the towns, so you can go there for all the great food, bars, and excitement you need, and come home afterward to a good night's rest. Beds are extremely comfortable, rooms kept very clean. We stayed in the suite, which was gorgeous. I would stay here instead of a large fancy resort any day. Prices are very reasonable, as well. All the people who work here (front desk, security, and housekeeping) are friendly and super-conscientious.

Room Tip: Spring for a little more and get the suite, if it's available. So spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

My family started here one night before the resort. I would definitely come back here. The staff were amazing helpful and just plan laid back. They have bikes and kayaks to use the beach is minutes away. We had a great time here,the rooms are clean and average. The hospitality makes up for any problems here. The entertainment area could use a little help, to pool table is a little past retirement. The exercise room is more then you need. We got a free ride to the strip mall and had a nice 15-20 minute walk back. The strip had restaurants and grocery store . The people are very nice Freeport 's only drawback is the cost, everything is costly, everything cost the same as back home or greater.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harderbunch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We needed a get away that wasn't a chain hotel, chain food, forced march. This was the spot. Staff was attentive and their recommendations of places to eat was spot on perfect. We strayed from their recommendations once and ate at the Chunk Fook Chinese joint (we couldn't eat the slop they served and wound up giving a $70 dinner to a dog on the side of the road). We took the kayaks out to the beach and cruised the area on bikes - both free. Sorry, I still have the keys but I'm mailing them back. Freeport isn't that large so that if you need to go to Lucaya because you need big crowds you can do it easily and then get back to calm. Definitely going back again.

Room Tip: If you can do the Presidential Suit, I would spring for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
Royal Islander
Royal Islander
#13 of 14 in Freeport
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
2,954 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
963 reviews
6.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Property: Sunrise Resort & Marina
Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing