We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had 3 rooms at the resort and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The whole staff, including Ms. Albury, was very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed the quiet in the morning and evening sitting on the balcony. There were six of us and we enjoyed the use of the game room and the library. We also enjoyed the use of their bikes and kayaks. We rented a van so we went in to the Port Lacaya market for dinners. A big variety is there to enjoy. We also ate some meals in as one room had a microwave and we had coffee makers. Some very nice beaches are only minutes away. We would definitely stay there again. We only wish we had had more time! You just start getting into the groove of what you like doing and the week is over!

Room Tip: If you are elderly, you may want to request a downstairs room. The view on the balcony is nice, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
16
35
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau City, New Providence, The Bahamas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I traveled last minute to get away from it all. was happy with the stay and undisturbed by the hustle and bustle of big hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Very well maintained and managed. Friendly employees. Kept quite clean. Free bikes and kayaks. Set away from town. The neighborhood is safe and very quiet but you will likely hear your fellow guests at night.

If you go, borrow a bike and spend the day on bahama beach, between Xanadu beach and princess beach. There is a beautiful grove of pines that you will likely have to yourself. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken27701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had 2 rooms at the Sunrise Resort. The staff are really great and accommodating. We had a late arrival flight and security had our room keys as promised. There was a tiny mix up leading our family of 4 to a king size bed room, but the security guard quickly arranged two doubles. After the first night, we decided that we and our two teenage boys needed to rooms. Which was easily arranged the next day and added to the sanity of our vacation! We recommend renting a car. It was difficult driving on the left, but after one day we adapted. It's really essential to get around, as you'll want to drive to almost every meal and attraction (even the beach).

PROS: very nice staff, we requested coffee makers and they arrived quickly. They suggested we use the pedal boat, and that was fun to tool around the marina. Clean rooms, the cleaning staff were very thorough. Our room had bees in it after cleaning and they were quickly "taken care of". Each room had a small sitting area to enjoy breakfast (make/bring yourself). There was a pool, which my younger son tried to swim in...but it was a bit too chilly while we were there for an unheated pool. There was a pool table and a ping pong table in a rec room that was VERY comfortable and we spent a few hours in there during our stay to decompress from the beach/sun. The marina is beautiful too, with small yachts to enjoy looking at...

CONS: The wifi dropped alot. We were able to get only about 5 minutes at a time before it dropped. We awoke to a new neighbor at midnight having a party or something. Luckily, most of the people left within a half hour and it was quiet -- except for a baby crying frequently, but they couldn't help it I suppose! :)

Overall...a good value. We would stay again...Staff were good at giving directions to attractions.

Room Tip: All rooms had a good view. If you don't want to haul your luggage to the 2nd floor, ask for a 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moma_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Ta'Shar and her team are relentless in providing a memorable experience for their guests. We went to Freeport for a funeral and decided on this resort after extensive research. The price,cleanliness and close proximity to the beach makes it an ideal location. I have stayed at several hotels in Freeport over the past 4 years and this by far was the best one. The front desk closed at 8:00Pm but arrangements were made to leave our key with security because we had a late flight.I was forwarded a copy of the e-mail sent to inform security of our late arrival. When we visit Freeport in the future our hotel of choice will be Sunrise Resort and Marina. Thanks!! Ta'Shar for an outstanding job!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Ta'Shar and her staff are the best. She went way out of her way to help with one of the passengers on my boat who had forgotten their passport. The Marina is deep and secure. Laid back and quite, nice change from Lucaya.

Thanks, Sean

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here for a nice weekend trip in early November, 2011. This is a decent place to stay if you are coming to Freeport but there are a few qualifications. For one, because of its location and lack of restaurant, it is almost essential that you get a car.
This resort is very much off the beaten path in a very quiet secluded neighborhood just a few minutes south of the old International Bazaar and pretty convenient to the airport.
It is misplaced on many maps of the Island. Some older maps may still have this resort listed as the “Running Mon” resort but its name changed about 4 years ago. Many islanders still don’t know its new name. But the location is also wrong on many map programs. It is located just a few blocks east and across the channel from Xanadu Beach, which is located correctly on most maps. It is located just inside the channel next to the Tyne Beach Terrace.
This resort has a lot going for it. It is very clean and nicely maintained. It has an excellent staff. It’s GM was recently named to the Island’s Tourism Board and really cares to make sure visitors have a good time. It has a nice marina for yacht owners and it is very reasonably priced compared to a few other places on the island.
There are two floors to this resort with all doors opening to the outside. The rooms are spacious and very fresh looking. The floors have no carpet so they stay very clean and the rooms smell very fresh. The beds are a bit firm but not horribly so. There are plenty of power outlets and the resort has free WiFi which worked very well. There are very large cabinets just outside the bathroom on which rests a safe and coffeemaker.
The bathroom is large enough for two. The fixtures worked well and the shower water was hot. Our room came with four bottles of lotion but no shampoo or conditioner (probably an oversight).
This resort also has a non adjacent private beach which is easily reachable either by walking or biking (they provide the bikes) or by car.
The resort has restaurant facilities inside but they are not open, so it is really essential that you rent a car in order to get food.
While this resort is a excellent choice for those who want to come to some of the best beaches in the world, there are some very good reasons to wait awhile before coming.
Grand Bahama Island doesn’t seem to have recovered from several damaging hurricanes that have struck over the last ten years or so. There are many resorts (in fact most of the resorts) that are currently not open due to the triple whammy of storm damage that has never been repaired, a bad worldwide economy that dried up the financing to build or rebuild and the lack of tourists because of the poor economy. All over the island, there are many hotels and resorts that are fenced off with a security guard patrol keeping looters out. There are also many buildings that have been partially built or repaired but then just left in ruins. Someday, the economy will recover and tourists will come back. And when they do, this island might come alive again and be worth visiting again. But its been a few years of the downturn and the island shows it.
While cruise ships do stop here and the island seems to come alive during their stopovers, on the off days, there are many places that are virtually abandoned, the International Bazaar being one key example. It is still open but with only a few dozen shops open.
The restaurants suffer from incredibly slow service (a ‘quick’ lunch can easily take 90 minutes or longer) and wait staff that seem disaffected. Of the nine meals we had on the island, only one didn’t seem agonizingly slow. Since the island grows almost none of its food, the imported food is quite costly and restaurant meals are a more expensive than they probably should be.
There is also crime here probably more so in the down economy. Our car was broken into and a handbag stolen when we went to Gold Rock Beach at the Lucayan National Park. It is a beautiful beach, one of the best if not the best I’ve ever been to. But the park is mainly deserted and the parking lot not attended which easily leads to crimes of opportunity.
If you’ve already decided to come to GBI and need a good, low cost place to stay…this is it. If you’ve not yet decided fully you may want to make sure things have picked back up before committing.

Room Tip: Pick a lower level for convenience and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank markmywordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
3.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
2.6 mi away
Castaways Resort & Suites Grand Bahama Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
6.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort & Marina

Property: Sunrise Resort & Marina
Address: 208 Kelly Court and Knotts Boulevard, Freeport F42663, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your Bahamas vacation in one of our 31 Caribbean-style furnished, fully equipped rooms or our Admiral Suite! Relax at our fresh-water pool and THE CORAL REEF Sports Bar and Cafe! All guests can enjoy complimentary use of the resorts Bicycles, snorkel gear, Kayaks, & Fishing gear as well as free Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection), ping-pong and billiards. Enjoy your Bahamas island experience by booking a dive or fishing trip, play golf or visit the nearby Casino, located only 10 minutes away. Freeport, Grand Bahama is a great place to start your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resort And Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina Hotel Freeport
Sunrise Resort & Marina Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing