We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“East end/cave tour - meh, beach fantastic must see”

Lucayan National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
East End Blue Hole Kayaking and Snorkeling Adventure in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“East end/cave tour - meh, beach fantastic must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

If you can rent a vehicle or get a taxi go for it. We booked a tour on sunwing and weren't thrilled for the $50 per person. The park is ok, two caves to look at. The beach made this trip worthwhile - the beach here is fantastic and a must see. They then took us to a restaurant for an hour where our driver proceeded to get a cut of what we spent, meh :| Food was ok but our next stop was back to the resort where food was free! All in all see the beach but don't spend $50 per person to get there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosalee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    49
    21
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Although I lived in Freeport in the 60's, I had no idea this interesting "nature walk" existed only about 25 minutes East of Freeport. Ben's Cave was discovered by Ben Rose, a friend of mine who still lives on the island. After visiting the cave, a short walk on the boardwalk through mangroves leads to the beautiful white sand beach.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and so different from the US.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The caves are really interesting, especially if you take the time to read the signs about the history. The Mangrove Swash is full of bird and sea life and cool foliage. Emerging from the "forest" onto the expansive and remote beach is incredible (and very romantic :-) This is a great way to spend an afternoon when you need a break from the beach. For a little more Bahamian sight-seeing and culture, continue about 7 miles east on the Grand Bahama Highway and go to Bishop's Bonefish Resort for lunch or dinner, or just drinks. Enjoy the native settlements and the above-ground cemetery on the way. Just watch out for the potholes and dogs!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BrendaM994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
220 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to visit for the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Huge park of mangroves and caves. Has boardwalks to enjoy the walk through the mangroves, lots of birds, raccoons and fish. Great spots to stop along the way. Explore cave system that runs for miles underground; you can see two entrances to the caves. Gold rock beach on the other side of the park. An absolutely gorgeous beach with shallow blue water. The park is about 25 miles from the beach area of Freeport. Entrance fee of $5. Take a tour as they can get you there with no hassle. We paid $50 each for the 4 hour tour. You have lots of time to enjoy the beach and mangroves.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dolls111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Walking through the National Park and the caves was not as interesting as I was expecting - but it is absolutely breathtaking when you emerge from the trees to see the most beautiful beach. It is shallow and warm and gorgeous - very peaceful and restful1

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucayan National Park also viewed

Lucayan National Park, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Lucayan National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing