We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch at Bishops” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishop's Bonefish Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Bahama Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop's Bonefish Resort
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunch at Bishops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Although we have never stayed at the Resort we always make a point of driving from Freeport to have lunch at Bishops. Located on a beautiful beach. Clean and friendly atmosphere serving good food. This visit we ordered Red Snapper body cut but after some time we were informed the Red Snapper was not available but we could have the whole Snapper dish which we had. A little disappointing as of course had to pick out all the bones leaving very little meat. Menu prices are very reasonable, staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We decided to stop by Bishop's (after visiting Gold Rock Beach) for some authentic Bahamian cooking - whole fried snapper and conch fritters. It was a beautiful day so we decided to sit outside on the deck by the water overlooking a private beach. Bishop himself stayed there to keep us company, along with his dog. The food was fantastic and cooked to order. Definitely a memorable stop on our Bahamian vacation. Looking forward to going back some day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christy2176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a beer and water when exploring the Eastern part of the island. Great spot and Bishop has all the charm you could ask for in a barman. Bathrooms were basic in the beach bar but then again, that's not why you're there!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank JMorganB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place offers a chance to relax in real island life with the access to excitement and nightlife of Freeport. I got back home totally relax with fond memories of morning sport fishing, snokling and evenings with my family. The beach is simpley fantastic with a huge amount of quiet private area. If you want to experience a great vacation Bonefish Resort is a winner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPB Fl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent 5 days there for New Years, this was better than staying at a resort. We didn't have the crowds and noise as you would expect at a hotel. Bishops is a safe and relaxing place to stay. Very clean and the people were nice. Make sure you pick up snacks and drinks before you head to Bishops. Sometimes they close a little early. The food was very good, we had cracked conch and lobster tails. We literally opened our frt door and saw the most beautiful sunrise, just steps to the beach.I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 561Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central KY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Traveling with young children we were a little hesitant about staying at a place that did not offer what the larger resorts offered, however, found out that Bishops was our idea of paradise. The beach is beautiful filled with all types of nature to explore. we could walk for miles without seeing anything man made. we could hear the ocean from our room (#2). the sunrise from the front patio was spectacular every morning.
there were plenty of chairs available, a hammock i wished i spent more time in (next time), and we were steps away from our room.
Always felt safe and secure.
The staff was so friendly, the food was incredible, and all the buildings on the property were immaculately kept. Our room was so clean and I believe our sheets were changed every day. A special bonus was Brownie the dog who was always there to greet us. Her dog manners were great.
Bishop arranged a fishing trip per our request. Philip picked us up and took us to the east end for a light tackle half day trip with Wilson which we requested to turn into a full day . www.bahamasbonefishing.net Bishop said to bring the fish back to be cooked, however, we left them with the guide. (good option for future reference though).
notes: stop by the grocery in Freeport and bring snacks (including coffee). food and drinks are very reasonably priced however they don't stay open late. ask when they will close and plan accordingly.
we can not wait to go back and spend more than three nights!

Room Tip: room #1 is the room closest to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BethTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I have visited Grand Bahama several times during the past year, and once you've hung around Lucaya it frankly gets pretty old. Bishop's is a wonderful break from the expensive tedium of Big Hotel life in Freeport.

You'll need a car or at least a scooter, as it is about 30 miles east of town on the main road. (Get a map). When you get to High Rock, look for the small sign on the right that says "Bishops" and turn right. (Don't be afraid to stop at a shop and ask for directions. People are very friendly and helpful.) If you get to the big oil tanks, turn around and go back about 3 miles and turn left into the settlement. At the shore, turn right and Bishops is all the way to the end of the road.

Bishops has 7 rooms, each with two queen beds. Room # 1 is best. Clean tile floors, cable TV and WIFI (spotty) are standard, and a unique outdoor beachside gazebo is often frequented by locals and tourists alike. His food menu is limited but good, with cracked conch being a specialty. Lobster ($18 for a full dinner at this writing) is available in season, and even out of season if you give him notice. (Out of season will have been frozen in town.) Do not plan on eating late, as unless he has a crowd (defined as four or more), he will shut the restaurant down at about 6:30. The bar is open until the throng leaves, but you aren't here for the nightlife.

The beach is absolutely beautiful - you can walk for about 4 miles before you see any development. It's usually deserted. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and the peacefulness. Take a few days off from the Lucaya bustle and come out to Bishops for a nice tropical and typical stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Bahama Island hotels
23.1 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
23.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
23.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
43.8 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#7 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Bonefish Resort

Property: Bishop's Bonefish Resort
Address: High Rock, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Bahama Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Bonefish Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Bishops Bonefish Hotel
Bishop's Bonefish Resort Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing