We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Family Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishop's Bonefish Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Bahama Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop's Bonefish Resort
Grand Rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place offers a chance to relax in real island life with the access to excitement and nightlife of Freeport. I got back home totally relax with fond memories of morning sport fishing, snokling and evenings with my family. The beach is simpley fantastic with a huge amount of quiet private area. If you want to experience a great vacation Bonefish Resort is a winner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WPB Fl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent 5 days there for New Years, this was better than staying at a resort. We didn't have the crowds and noise as you would expect at a hotel. Bishops is a safe and relaxing place to stay. Very clean and the people were nice. Make sure you pick up snacks and drinks before you head to Bishops. Sometimes they close a little early. The food was very good, we had cracked conch and lobster tails. We literally opened our frt door and saw the most beautiful sunrise, just steps to the beach.I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 561Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central KY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Traveling with young children we were a little hesitant about staying at a place that did not offer what the larger resorts offered, however, found out that Bishops was our idea of paradise. The beach is beautiful filled with all types of nature to explore. we could walk for miles without seeing anything man made. we could hear the ocean from our room (#2). the sunrise from the front patio was spectacular every morning.
there were plenty of chairs available, a hammock i wished i spent more time in (next time), and we were steps away from our room.
Always felt safe and secure.
The staff was so friendly, the food was incredible, and all the buildings on the property were immaculately kept. Our room was so clean and I believe our sheets were changed every day. A special bonus was Brownie the dog who was always there to greet us. Her dog manners were great.
Bishop arranged a fishing trip per our request. Philip picked us up and took us to the east end for a light tackle half day trip with Wilson which we requested to turn into a full day . www.bahamasbonefishing.net Bishop said to bring the fish back to be cooked, however, we left them with the guide. (good option for future reference though).
notes: stop by the grocery in Freeport and bring snacks (including coffee). food and drinks are very reasonably priced however they don't stay open late. ask when they will close and plan accordingly.
we can not wait to go back and spend more than three nights!

Room Tip: room #1 is the room closest to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BethTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I have visited Grand Bahama several times during the past year, and once you've hung around Lucaya it frankly gets pretty old. Bishop's is a wonderful break from the expensive tedium of Big Hotel life in Freeport.

You'll need a car or at least a scooter, as it is about 30 miles east of town on the main road. (Get a map). When you get to High Rock, look for the small sign on the right that says "Bishops" and turn right. (Don't be afraid to stop at a shop and ask for directions. People are very friendly and helpful.) If you get to the big oil tanks, turn around and go back about 3 miles and turn left into the settlement. At the shore, turn right and Bishops is all the way to the end of the road.

Bishops has 7 rooms, each with two queen beds. Room # 1 is best. Clean tile floors, cable TV and WIFI (spotty) are standard, and a unique outdoor beachside gazebo is often frequented by locals and tourists alike. His food menu is limited but good, with cracked conch being a specialty. Lobster ($18 for a full dinner at this writing) is available in season, and even out of season if you give him notice. (Out of season will have been frozen in town.) Do not plan on eating late, as unless he has a crowd (defined as four or more), he will shut the restaurant down at about 6:30. The bar is open until the throng leaves, but you aren't here for the nightlife.

The beach is absolutely beautiful - you can walk for about 4 miles before you see any development. It's usually deserted. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and the peacefulness. Take a few days off from the Lucaya bustle and come out to Bishops for a nice tropical and typical stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TheInveterates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Had an amazing time! This one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever been to. The room was ok – very large, two double beds, a small refrigerator, and TV (pictures attached). We visited here for the day 2 months ago and decided to return without our kids for a romantic getaway and were not disappointed. We were the only people staying here and we had the entire beach to ourselves every day. The restaurant here serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The breakfast was simply eggs and ham or eggs and bacon. Lunch and dinner had a great menu with the best cracked conch I’ve ever tasted! We had conch, grouper, and lobster and ate at the beach bar with Bishop, the owner, and several locals who would drop by for a drink.

At night when Bishop would leave, we were the only ones on the beach. We laid out on the hammock looking at the stars and even went swimming as late as 10 p.m., as the water was so warm. Cannot wait to do this again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anejo-y-Coca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2005

We were looking for a secluded, affordable, and clean place to stay in the Bahamas. Bishop's place came very close to giving us everything we were looking for, but there were a few disappointments.

The beach - Bishop's place had the prettiest beach we saw on the island. The sand was white, the water was aqua-marine, and we pretty much had miles of beach to ourselves. A 5 minute walk down the beach and you felt like you were on a deserted island. It was a very nice get-away.

The rooms - Overall, the rooms were fine. They were very spacious, and the staff kept them amazingly clean. There is a bit of a funky smell when you first walk in (no doubt from water damage inflicted by prior hurricanes), but you stop noticing it very quickly. Also, the towels and sheets always smelled very fresh.

Location - I wanted a place that was secluded, but Bishop's is almost too secluded. The nearest grocery store and restaurant (other than Bishop's) is 40 minutes away in Freeport. It was nice to be away from the crowds, but I wished it were just a little closer to some of the other attractions on the island.

Service - I was disappointed in the service we received. Bishop is a friendly guy, but it seems like he was always trying to squeeze an extra dollar out of us. Example: I ordered the snapper for supper which is listed as $10 on the menu. After I ordered, he told me that he was having special snapper that night and the cost would be $2 higher. Not a big deal, but I didn't appreciate the constant "nickle and diming" we encountered.

Overall, we had a satifsfying experience at Bishop's.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

This was a different bonefish trip for us. We wanted a nice inexpensive place to fish the east end of Grand Bahama. Bishop's seemed to fit the bill. The room rate also included breakfast and dinner, per their website. We were asked to pay the entire hotel bill, along with charters, when we arrived. Breakfast was not served until 9 am. We left at 7:45 am to fish. Dinner was not served after 5 pm. We did not really feel like driving half an hour to Freeport for dinner every day.The air conditioner was turned off every day while we were fishing. We wouldn't go back.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank bonefish2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Bahama Island hotels
23.1 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
23.0 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#2 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
19.7 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
43.8 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
25.8 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#9 of 15 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Bonefish Resort

Property: Bishop's Bonefish Resort
Address: High Rock, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Bahama Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Night minimum stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Bonefish Hotel Grand Bahama Island
Bishops Bonefish Hotel
Bishop's Bonefish Resort Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing