We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in an amazing destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel in an amazing destination”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed as a group of travel agents visiting the destination and had the pleasure to stay at The Reef Atlantis, what an amazing place- The Reef was close enough to the action without being on to pof it- which meant a great night sleep after hitting the Casino and nightclub and fantastic bars and restaurants in the hotel and Marina Village.
The people were genuinely warm and friendly, the beaches were pure white and the sea was the bluest blue,
Dining was an experience at the Mesa Grill - totall fantastic food just wish I could have eaten there more than once.
Definately a place to visit if you have never thought about it you certainly wouldn't be dissapointed- The Reef in my opinion was definately the best part of the hotel to stay in (either that or the Cove) The Reef rooms have self catering facilites which although I never used would be great if you have kids. The bathrooms were just awesome and the bedroom area well lets just say I had the best sleep ever!
I just cant wait to take the family back as part of a Orlando/Bahamas tour!

Room Tip: Must visit the Mesa Grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designertravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    480
    161
    85
    75
See reviews for
1,071
272
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I have relied on Trip advisor reviews very often, but this is the first time I am writing one! There are so many conflicting reviews of the Atlantis and the Reef, and I just want to share our experience.

We just returned from a 6 day vacation - stayed at the Reef. Our room was an Ocean view suite on the 22nd floor, with beautiful views of the ocean, beach and the pools. We were traveling with 2 small children so having a kitchenette in the room was important.

Overall, we had a great time! It was a very relaxing vacation with the right amount of high energy activities thrown in. Things that worked for us:

- Even though the Reef is the furthest away from the action (Aqua venture, casinos etc), we liked it this way. The Paradise beach is beautiful and definitely less crowded. We never had a problem finding lounge chairs - though good spots near the Cascade pool would get taken fast. The kids and us were happy spending hours relaxing by the beach and pool. We would typically have lunch there - the little shacks serving up hot dogs, burgers, drinks etc were great and relatively inexpensive.

- The weather was lovely and all of us enjoyed walking everywhere. We took the shuttle several times when the kids were tired and never had to wait for more than 5-10 mins.

- Aqua venture itself was fun - kids enjoyed the rides. Dolphin Cay is great - smaller kids would love it and it was the highlight of the trip for my kids. Yes, the photos are super expensive - but you can save a bit by taking all the pictures on a usb drive. The Dig and Predator Lagoon are awesome. Kids Club is cool and we sent the kids there one morning for a few hours - they had a great time.

- Food - we did not take the meal plan and are so glad! Mostly ate at casual restaurants or at the poolside - this gave us a lot more flexibility and we saved a lot of money. We stopped at the grocery store on the way to the hotel and stocked up on breakfast items/milk/water. The Starbucks at the Reef was amazing and had a good selection of sandwiches and wraps.

- Prices - Atlantis is super expensive! But what we pay a premium for is not the room or service, but the location and the unique experience. We did not have any unanticipated expenses as some people have experienced. We had booked though Expedia so our room rate was inclusive of all taxes/gratuity etc - and there were no surprises when we got the final bill.

What we wish was different.....

- The pull out sofa in the room was of a very poor quality - I am amazed how a resort like this can put in something so bad. The mattress was sunken and we could feel the springs digging into our backs! When I complained, the staff said they had no other solution but to put extra bedding underneath. So we actually took turns sleeping on the sofa to prevent any one person's back from acting up!! The king bed was very comfortable though.

- One caution about the Currents Ride at Aqua venture - don't take it if your kids are very small and are not able to sit/balance on their own. We saw a couple of double tubes overturn and in one case, this happened in the rapids part of the ride and the kid got hurt. This ride is fun and popular with everyone, but its a disaster waiting to happen....

Overall, we had a great time - we will definitely return - the Bahamas are beautiful and the people are lovely....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkles_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed at the Reef Atlantis for 10 days. We had a number of issues with their staff, from eating the food in our refrigerator , the concierge double booking us for activities, room not cleaned thoroughly, poor management, bad customer service overall. We learned that the concierge makes commission on the booking when we were double booked 2 times and did not find out about it until the morning we checked out. When we spoke with the manager on duty on the morning of our check out, he apologized for the issue and that he would issue credits to our account. We asked him for a copy of the credits, he said that the credits would take up to 2 days to process and that he was not able to give us any copies. Of course we thought that was ridiculous, but after 30 minutes of asking him for some type of paperwork to confirm the credits to no avail, we had to leave for the airport. After we returned home and received our American Express bill, we found that he did not issue the credits. It has been 8 months and we still have not received the $655.00 credit. When we called to speak with them, they say they have no record of anything and are rude on top of it. We spent over $10,000 at this resort and although it has the potential to be a really great place, it appears that they management does not care and some of the staff are CROOKS!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Flaneur33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Reef is remote and families steered to these accommodations should really enjoy walking with gear to the other end of the resort and back unless they want to stay in the Reef area which is really a condo-tel with limited amenities and limited access to the greater resort. The staff is sleepy and inconsistent and the pull out sofa mattresses are of very poor quality. This is a pay to play resort that functions within a system trying to be all things to all people. Many basic amenities are located far from the Reef as are many of the advertised activities. The surface of the resort is slick but the substance is lacking. So breaking it down in more detail would go as follows:

1) The resort itself is very nice but you can see it fraying in many places. A father and is son asked for a basketball at the fitness center was told there were no more basketballs and nothing was done to get one or offer the guest an accommodation. The courts were not full and you could see the disappointment on their faces. The fitness center ran out of bottled water at 9:00 am or 3 hours into a 14 hour day and several fitness center machines were inoperable due to lack of maintenance. The fitness center itself is showing its age and date as it is getting packed with more and more machines as guests work out on top of one another;

2) The shuttle service is ineffective and guests were complaining of fumes from the shuttle buses. The driver made no announcements as to where the shuttle was stopping so several guests new to the resort missed their stop and would up back at the Coral Tower;

3) The Casino is disappointing as it should be a jewel of the resort but is plagued by crowded tables in the evening and a poorly trained staff particularly at the cashier windows and on the floor as there were several instances of slot machine jams and guest including us waiting a long time for drinks and service. The casino really feels amateur as the service and vibe just isn't there. They could get so much more revenue and participation from the guests if they had a friendly and attentive staff and worked just a little bit to get you in the casino and to stay for awhile;

4) The resort is relaxed as you can pool hop but need wristbands for the water park, the fitness center and spa. Guests at the Reef pay a premium for condo-tel accommodations but not effort is made to compensate for the location of the Reef relative to the amenities;

5) Housekeeping is hit and miss as we had to initiate numerous call backs for service and items left out as part of everyday service;

6) The wireless internet service is an additional charge and the quality and speed of the wireless service is poor;

You have to credit the resort for thinking of amenities such as a dedicated lap pool, easy towel service and a first come first serve beach/pool chair access. However, the real problem with Atlantis is it is a mile wide and an inch deep. It looks good on paper but when you're there you realize its more or less a do it yourself vacation for a premium price. There is a system in place and over time the novelty of Atlantis will wear off and it will be a weekend and conference/convention destination where they run promotions day and night to drive up occupancy but revenue per guest per day will decline because the service, attention to detail, and substance just isn't there with all the other choices available in the world. For most people, not all, I am betting that you go to Atlantis once to say you went there and experienced it, you cross it off the list and start planning your next vacation somewhere else.

Room Tip: Study the resort carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ejlehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This is a must visit resort! I loved the reef, it was in a superb location and very chilled out and relaxed. The rooms were stunning I had a studio and it certainly had the wow factor and the most comfortable bed ever!
I loved the complex - the setting was beautiful and the waterpark was a fantastic day out, the highlight of the trip was swimming with dolphins!
I would not hesitate to return here and I urge people to go, its amazing!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We spent one week at The Reef from 3/12-3/19. We had a wonderful time. In my opinion The Reef is the best place to stay as it is away from the crowds of the Royal Towers. I went with my husband and four children...ages 24, 18, 16, and 12. The older two are girls just loved laying by the pool/beach while the boys enjoyed the waterpark. Atlantis is expensive but found it no more so that any of the other islands in the Caribbean. Also there were no extra charges that we did not expect.
We stopped at the grocery store on the way there which I highly recommend. We purchased water bottles, fruit, breakfast and frozen pizza for our first night (which turned out to be a great ideas as we were all tired and just wanted to rest. We had gotten up at 4am for our flight and with delays we arrived in Nassau at 4pm so it was a long day. We ate out for lunch and dinner. There is a Starbucks in the lobby of The Reef where they have sandwices for lunch which we all enjoyed. I recommend you make dinner reservations before you leave, we did not and couldn't get into Mesa which we really wanted to try. We went to Anthony's, Bimini Road, Murray's Deli, Nobu for our dinners. They were all good! Also at the small shopping plaza where Anthony's is, there are small shops for t-shirts, etc and a duty-free liquer store where we bought some wine and beer.
The staff at the Atlantis is hit or miss. Some of the employees were very friendly others acted as though they were doing you a hugh favor. I found that unfortunate as The Reef is very expensive and the service should be excellent.
Our room was on the 22nd floor, harbour view. At first I was worried about the view. I originally wanted an ocean view but they were all booked. As it turned out it was a great room. We had an ocean view but also could see all the cruise ships coming in and out which was fun for the kids to watch! Yes, there is a large parking lot on that side but I think we were high enough that it didn't bother us....request a high floor if you are on the harbour side!
We also did the Dolphin adventure which was cute...expensive...$900 for all 6 of us but glad we did it!
Three of the kids joined the gym for the week which was $50 per person for a 7 day pass. They said it was crowded and hot but could usually get a machine.
All in all, great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We recently returned from staying at the Reef at the Atlantis, reviewers are right you can not get around the prices, if you go knowing that you will have a great time, the beach at the Reef is the best in our opinion and a great place to stay with kids minus the hustle & bustle of the Beach tower, we ate at Mesa twice it was that good, Dune once over-rated definitely but the property is a must see how beautiful it is there. All had fun at the water park, The Poop Deck is across the bridge and a must do for great local fish would not go anywhere else off property. Dolphin Cay was the highlight and the kids loved that.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
1.0 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograp...
#10 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,550 reviews
4.6 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection

Property: The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#2 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Paradise Beach, guests of The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection enjoy miles of white sand and ocean in their backyard with all the wonder and excitement of Atlantis on their front doorstep. Our Bahamas resort hotel features studios, one and two bedroom suites that offer all the conveniences of home with a full kitchen or kitchen area complete with linens, cookware, table settings, refrigerator and private balconies with water views. Guests of The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection enjoy a semi-private pool, shared only with The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection and a Starbucks lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Reef Atlantis Paradise Island
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing