We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER COMING BACK, RUDE SNOBBY STAFF, OLD SMELLY HOTEL.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NEVER COMING BACK, RUDE SNOBBY STAFF, OLD SMELLY HOTEL.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I, along with 12 other friends stayed at the Atlantis Coral Towers. Let me began by saying that all of us plan on NEVER returning here again. We are all in our mid-twenties, easy-going and dont like to complain. The Coral towers is an old, smelly hotel, one of the worst I have ever stayed at-I would even go as far as to compare it to a Motel 6, definitely not worth the money charged for it. To make matters worse, all hotel staff we encountered (except for the manager, when we complained) are rude, snobby, and condescending.

It began with us being put in an old room the 6th floor, as soon as you step off the elevator, it stinks like mold and cigarrete smoke. Very old looking room, chipping paint, rusty vents, view was of the roof. We went down and complained. The lady then decided to put us in a room on the fourth floor, we slipped her a twenty dollar bill, and asked if there was any other rooms available. She took the money (WHAT?), and then decided that a room on the 11th floor was available. The eleventh floor smelled ok, and we had a nice view of the beach and Atlantis grounds. Once I took of my shoes I felt that the carpet was soaking wet, from the sliding door all the way through halfway in the room. And the wind was whistling through the door to the point that my ears were ringing. Did no one notice this when the room was prepared? we called and complained, and were moved to a room across the hall. Thankfully this room was dry, and no whistling wind. From there, all of us met up for lunch at Murrays Deli (NEVER go here). Our waitress gave us attitude and glares the whole time (when she brought the food, I didnt hear her announce my salad, when I heard her, she plopped the plate in front of me and said with an attitude:, "well, ive been calling it out, and you didnt say anything" .) My husband and I shared a house salad (wilted lettuce with old-looking freezer burned cucumbers) and a club sandwich (Burned toast, and super dry sandwich). This cost us about $45 plus a 15% gratuity which is added anywhere you go in return for the poor service you receive.

The beach was closed because we came right after hurricane Sandy came through and there was sand and debris littered everywhere on the grounds and beach, (Fine, its not their fault). Staff seemed to work at a glacial pace to clean in the rest of the week though.

From there onwards for the rest of our trip, we overpayed for bad food ($50 for breakfast, $100 or more for dinner), got glared at by staff, and were overall treated not like guests staying at a "luxury resort", but perhaps at a Motel 6. I've received better service at a Sharis or Dennys back home. When walking down one of the narrow paths to the pools towards some Atlantis staff members, we didnt hear a hello or receive a smile, instead were almost plowed down, and expected to move out of their path.

On to the positive, thankfully: The grounds are beautiful-the pools, the amazing aquarium, the fun water slides and rapids river. Casino is ok, Royal towers are fancy, Spa is fine.

Overall, very dissapointed with the trip and mostly the service at Atlantis. I would have been ok with the hotel and prices if the service was better. Again, in my book, it is unecceptable to pay so much money to stay at a "luxury resort" and receive such terrible service. Never Again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irina2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    952
    446
    225
    160
See reviews for
1,365
645
38
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Laurel, NJ
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was originally booked in Beach Tower, but they upgraded me to Coral Towers. I had a great time, the pool was nice and everyone was friendly. Everyone in Concierge was so helpful. If you go to the beach, get there early. It gets crowded. In terms of bottled water, please compare prices at the stores across from the resort. I found the cheapest water at Bahama Sol gift shop, large bottle for $2.50. I would definitely go back and also make sure to make reservations for dinner as soon as you arrive. A very fun and relaxing trip!

Room Tip: Get a room facing pools or ocean, you can take nice pictures off of your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJean137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Janicka Curry was the first person we encountered upon check-in. She was amazing! Such a nice personality. She quickly uncovered that it was our first anniversary and she upgraded our room to the most magnificent view. We are so thankful to her! The grounds were beautfiul. The water park was so much fun! We really enjoyed our first 4 days in the sun and then Hurricane Sandy blew through. The airport shut down, so we were 'stuck.' The staff were pleasant, cool, calm and collected. They had a plan in place and executed flawlessly. I am also greatful to Jackson - security I think - he really went above and beyond making sure I had all the resources I needed to rebook our flight. We did not buy a meal plan and nearly died after receiving the bill at dinner our first night. All in all we came in under what we would've spent on a meal plan. Now that we are home we have a $90 charge on our bill. We are told it was from the mini bar in our room. We did not purchase anything from the mini bar, so hopefully we will get that resolved soon.

Room Tip: We were upgraded from the Beach Tower to the Coral Tower, 10th floor. We loved it because we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMcJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have been to Atlantis six times in the last five years and each time we stay in the Coral Towers based on its access to the Resort's many features and the price per room. We are always pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoy the hotel, the water park and the proximity to the beach and other features when we go back and have yet to grow tired of the great restaurants, incredible pool area, water park and the excellent Casino. We have never felt the need to "upgrade" to the Royal Towers and actually prefer being out of the hustle and bustle of the main atrium.

In fact, on our last trip to Nassau in December, we rented a condo about six miles from Atlantis with our two daughters (21 & 31) and one son (23) in tow, and when we all went for the day to Atlantis, we realized how much we all liked it and the convenience to everything we all wanted to do, including scuba and sailing, so we booked two rooms for the remainder of our stay in the Coral Towers. We all used them for the day and evening and then my wife and I just said to hell with it and we all spent the remaining four nights there to hit the Casino, disco and beach party and to avoid a possible DUI.

It was great for all concerned and while it might have seemed overkill to rent two rooms when we already had a four bedroom condo on the water a short distance away, the Atlantis "experience" was just worth the extra dollars, which in the end only amount to $678.00!! And we are all still talking about what a wonderful holiday that was!!

Room Tip: Any ocean view or partial ocean view room above the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbormaster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whinnipeg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Awesome vacation...stunning resort! We are a couple in our early 50s and went mid-October for one week. We had booked a Beach Tower oceanview room. Upon arrival, we requested a room on a higher floor (for maximum view enjoyment) and were upgraded to the Coral Tower. Wow! We had a view of the beautiful grounds, the ocean, and the cruiseliners coming and going every morning and evening. There was an open-air pond below our balcony filled with manta rays and sharks. The rooms were average and our maid was great. The weather was beautiful. Even on a windy day, you could sit out on your balcony without things blowing around (not sure how that happens...lol). Expensive...yes, but no more so than Vegas. There are cheaper places to eat and the food everywhere is good (except Starbucks of all places). Cheaper eats for us included options at pool bars (2 hamburgers, chips and drinks for about $20) and Marina Pizza in Marina Village (very short walk) where they have a great Penne Pasta for $6.00 and they give lots, as well as pizza slices for $6.75 (again, huge slices). Room service options for supper were cheaper than going out for supper. We ordered a few appetizers with a side of vegetables or fries 3 times and the bill was between $45 and $63.00 (not bad for 2 for supper and they gave lots). We went to Virgils one night (connected to the Coral Tower) and shared 1 order of ribs and fries with a full carafe of wine for $95.00 (including the 15% gratuity they add on everywhere). There were enough ribs for 4 people...would pay more at home for a similar meal in a similar setting. The water taxi across to Nassau is worth the trip (walking distance from the resort). While it's only a 10 minute ride, it'll take close to an hour as they don't leave until the boat is fully loaded. A local on the boat gives you a rendition on local highlights and you drive right beside the huge parked cruiseliners giving you a great view of these monster ships. If you've never been up and close with a dolphin, go for the Shallow Water Dolphin Interaction experience (you don't have to go in deep water). The Casino is very nice and did pay from time to time. Drinks are free although it sometimes takes a while to see a waiter. Ocean is awesome, although we mostly viewed it from our balcony...often too many hustler's out there which kind of spoiled the ambiance of actually being on the beach. Tide was rough too...not too many people in the water far off shore. Blue Pool outside the Coral Towers was our favorite...lovely foilage, layout and not too big. Some of the pools on the resort were too big for us. The Lazy River by the Beach Tower was closed to our dismay, but the Cascades (lazy river with currents and other surprises was open). We are sorry we didn't try the Cascades (looked like fun, but were worried it might be too swift in certain areas). We later heard it would have been OK for us. Loved walking along Marina Village (very close to the Coral Towers) where the yachts dock and there are little shops and restaurants. Only cons for us were all the hustlers outside the resort and on the beach where it's almost to the point of harrassment sometimes. I bartered for a couple of clothing items for $10.00 each at the Straw Market in Nassau and later bought 2 more at Pirana Joe's in Marina Village for $12.50 each (and they were better quality too). Don't know what it is, cultural communication differences or what, but signage and directions are confusing. Almost everytime we asked for directions, it seems like we were pointed the wrong way. While there were lots of signs on the resort, still confusing. For example, a sign would say restrooms a certain way, but as you walked a way you didn't see anything except 2 different pathways with no more signs. There was a cave on one pathway and when you went inside there was a restroom sign, but no sign outside the cave? We tried a cave another time for a restroom and ended up going through an underwater acquarium to another side of the resort...LOL. Lastly, 95% of the people you encounter are very friendly. This having been our first sun vacation, we were a little nervous and unsettled the first few days, but the Bahamian people are very warm and friendly and you soon feel very comfortable. Thank you Bahamas and Atlantis for a great vacation. We intend to be back again!

Room Tip: Although we booked at the Beach Tower, I'm glad we stayed at the Coral Tower. The Beach Tower i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LoveDisney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower al.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

10/21/12 to 10/24/12. first time to Atlantis - Coral Towers, great time and service. 1st day I took a shower and the drain was very slow to drain, call front desk and within 15 min maintance was there. Room was clean and well kept while we were there. yes the food is on the high side but we were aware of this b-4 we arrived. we book thur a home town travel agent and were not charged a utility or cleaning charge, don't know what others are talking about. over all we had a great stay!! we are 60ish so some stuff they have/offer we don't do but we had a great time there. JUST KEEP THIS IN MIND every thing on the island has to be brought in by ship. no matter where you go on the island there will not be wal-mart prices. I can see if you go during the summer it will be very busy and you may not get top service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzukirider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The meal plan was too expensive, and not enough good choices. When we bought the trip they offered $500 of freebies, but they don't tell you that those freebies aren't on your meal plan. The freebie is for only one person activity, but generally there are two in a party, so they charge for the spouse. The service was very slow, generally taking 15 minutes just to get a soda. That was everywhere we ate, and we ate at non-peak times, yet still had to pay gratuity charge for sorry service. You must pay a utility charge of $27 a day and a cleaning charge of $10 a day. This is after you have already paid your regular room rate. At the sundries- Mucinex was $56. Delta charged us $400 to change our fare because of hurricane sandy. Done with Bahamas,

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,767 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection

Property: Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island (Formerly Atlantis Coral Towers, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection is a centrally located hotel on Paradise Island and within the Atlantis resort. We offer contemporary, relaxed accommodations within a tropically casual atmosphere. Guestrooms have one king or two queen beds with sitting areas and full balconies with water or terrace views. Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection is just steps away from marine exhibits, a seven-acre snorkeling lagoon, BLU Pool, water slides, the Crystal Court Shops, Marina Village, the casino and several casual and gourmet dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Coral Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Coral Hotel
Atlantis Coral Resort
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing