We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for a OFF SEASON fall escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife, 18 month old daughter and I chose to go to Atlantis in mid October to celebrate my wife’s 40th birthday and to have one last hurrah before the arrival of our second child this December. After booking our trip in the Coral Tower, we received an email confirming our reservation that also solicited any special requests. I requested a crib in the room, a room on a high floor, and if possible without charge, a fridge in the room. I also informed them of our reasons for travel.

At check-in we learned that management decided to complimentarily upgrade us to a two-room corner suite on the fifth floor with bay, ocean, and resort views. Needless to say we were very happy. The space allowed us to let our daughter run and play, and with the sofa bed in the living room it provides more than enough room for any family of four to stay comfortably (five if using a crib). We of course are only three. The fifth floor is high enough to shelter you from ground floor noise, and the room we were given was fairly toddler proof.

The room itself is furnished nicely, not too fancy, but not worn. The building itself shows some signs of age, but nothing that should scare you away from staying there. Examples include cracked glass on hall artwork, chipped doors (where there should be a door kick), and antiquated color schemes. The only knocks on the room is a lack of unused power outlets outside of the bathroom and a lack of hooks on which to hang wet bathing suits/clothes. If you charge phones, camera batteries, and computers, I suggest you consider bringing a power strip. It will make life easier.

This resort is pretty cool. You can believe the hype – the casino is enormous by Caribbean standards, the pools are huge and plentiful, the water attractions like none other, the aquariums phenomenal (and I say that as a past member of the National Aquarium in Baltimore), and the options for eating and night-life seem limitless.

There are plenty of slides and rides to keep one entertained for a day or two (longer if cruise ship visitors clog the lines). Over the course of two days you should be able to experience everything and then concentrate on your favorites. Some activities take longer than others – the canyon rapid ride takes approximately 40 minutes to completely traverse, and others are over in a few seconds (the abyss). Depending on where you are staying and which pool you decide to park at for the day, the canyon ride can be used to move around the property faster than walking (for instance going from the cove to the kid’s pool). While there is an excellent baby pool with attractions to climb and slides to ride down, the water attractions are geared toward guests 48” and taller.

The pools (in the offseason) have plenty of empty chairs and do not seem crowed. The beach too had plenty of space and is fine sand. The ocean, however, has underwater coral which makes it a dangerous place to body surf. If you like to bounce in the waves, or float on a raft (bring your own) it is great. In mid October the ocean was warmer than the pools. Bring your own snorkeling gear and enjoy the scenery.

Traveling with a toddler, we choose to bring a full-size stroller thinking that the convenience of being able to carry and store towels, food, and clothes underneath was worth the excess weight. It was, but the layout of the property is such that without taking circuitous routes, stairs are unavoidable. The resort was not designed with the handicapped in mind. Leave the full size stroller at home and take the umbrella. You’ll want to carry it upstairs rather than take the alternative paths.

Hurricane damage was described as cosmetic but we arrived to discover that an entire pool was closed, as was the “Lazy River” attraction. This peeved my wife as at 6 months pregnant and traveling with an 18 month old, we had planned on them being able to drift away parts of the day. The resort could have been more forthright when we called and asked.

We chose to use Dan Knoles transportation from and to the airport. In our opinion, a wise choice.

We chose the value meal plan which included the two buffets (Market Place and Seagrapes) and also Murray’s Delicatessen. Murray’s was closed so I can’t comment on that, and having paid for the plan, other than grabbing a lunch poolside, we didn’t avail ourselves of the dining. Upon walks of the property we saw prices in every range from $15 entries up. If you are on a budget, buy the value plan, arrive at breakfast before 9:00am and dinner before 7:30pm to avoid the lines, plan on either bringing food from home for lunch, or buy a combo meal (sandwich, chips or fries, and a unlimited refill drink) for around $10 poolside to split between two people. To save money you can bring non-refridgerated snacks from home – we were quoted $15/day for a fridge. Buying a few glasses of wine and lunches, at checkout our gratuity and food charges were under $250.

Do check every item on every receipt. We were overcharged due to the server charging more than the advertised price, and when we asked how they calculated the bill, we were told first to just “allow” the charge, then that our math was incorrect (it was not). Finally, after more time than it was worth, the charge was corrected. Also we were charged for items out of the minibar which we did not take. The total of these charges was minimal (under $10), but we are not big drinkers, and they were alcohol centric. If every guest is treated this way and it goes un-checked, it adds up to big profits for the resort. As they charge obnoxiously high amounts for drinks in the first place, I found it insulting. Just charge me the extra dollar or two upfront – I’ll pay it. Don’t treat me like a moron. Anyway, check your receipts, and if you are not going to use the in room minibar, ask that it be locked on day one.

If you are going with a family with children under 48”, stay at the beach tower. It’s cheaper, closer to the lazy river, and has close access to great aquatic resources (pools, shark tanks, and the dig). SeaGrapes looks like a dated Atlantic City buffet, but in my opinion the convenience of it being right below you offsets the dated decor.

If you are going with a family of older children, stay where your budget allows, but understand that if you choose the Corral Tower over the Royal Tower you will be doing A LOT of walking. Finally, make sure that you take the time to enjoy Marina Village at night – on most nights there is free outdoor musical entertainment and the yachts that dock there are quite impressive.
The resort has a few “secrets” like the statue of Frodo at the Atlantis Speedway, and the fish with one eye down by the Beach Tower. The staff does a good job of keeping you entertained with them. Nightlife seemed to be great with short skirts and low tops being the norm after 10:00pm. The nightclubs are open until 4:00am.

There are kids’ programs available for those over 3. I wish I could comment on the kids program, but beyond seeing staff members walking with them on the resort, I do not know enough to feel comfortable giving advice. My wife and I enjoyed ourselves enough that once our smallest child is over 3 we will consider going back. Of course by then Atlantis will have built an entirely new resort. You may want to wait for that. But if not, my advice is to go in offseason. The lines at the water attractions were busy enough just from the cruise ship traffic. We will not be going any other time – there is just too much capacity in the hotels, pools, and beach. The water attractions and buffets would be way too crowed.

Room Tip: Small kids can't ride anything but the lazy river located by Beach Tower, and nothing is near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,989 - 1,995 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great pool, but huge complex, getting a bit dated now and penny pitching management adding "gratuities" to the bill

I stayed here for a week whilst attending a conference, so was on a discounted rate, but was surprised at checkout when "Gratuities" for the Bell Hop, Pool attendants and cleaners were automatically added for every day stayed. When I questioned these I was told that "a gratuity was like a tax and had to be paid! I disputed this but was told by the Assistant Manager that "we have your credit card details so will just charge it anyway"!

One brilliant receptionist, Alithia, tried her best to resolve the situation, but was over-ruled by the arrogant and unhelpful assistant manager.

The rooms were clean, but about 5 years late in being decorated.

The waterpark was great fun and managed to turn a conference of professionals into screaming kids instantly.

Being a huge complex (thousands of rooms), it's very easy to become captive to the on-campus (and expensive) restaurants and bars, however there are some great places to eat a cheap taxi ride away (which unfortunately few of the other guests thought of doing).

Perhaps it's a European/American difference, but I despise being forced to leave a "Gratuity", an act which really soured the whole stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Did travel in 2006 but just joined Trip Advisor.

Had a fantastic relaxing holiday here after losing our luggage on the flight from Las Vegas.

Staff were the nicest people in the world, they couldnt do enough for you. Food was fantastic, location perfect, room amazing looking at the Atlantis it self.

I cant say much more in all honesty becuase even though we werent booked in the Royal Towers we had the most fantastic time and all i can say is that every aspect was fantastic!

Room Tip: If booking the Coral Towers then definitly a view looking at the Atlantis royal towers is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidisHappyHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at Atlantis Aug 30-Sept 6 and it was an amazing family vacation. We were a bit worried after reading a lot of the reviews regarding outrageous prices, but really only the drink prices were high, food was reasonable. Plus our breakfast and dinner were covered since we opted for the meal plan (enjoyed both Marketplace and Seagrapes, however liked the quiet atmosphere better at Seagrapes - Market place gets very busy the later you go). We had booked the Beach Tower, but since the pool at the Beach Tower was closed (incl lazy river) we asked to be moved to Coral Towers and were accomodated by the very nice person at Concierge. The Coral Towers are closer to the water park so that was a huge plus.

The rooms are very clean, had conecting rooms since there were 6 of us, were accomodated with all our requests (connecting, higher floor, cots in room etc). As for room charges, do keep an eye out on the TV bill since we were billed some mini-bar charges that were not correct (as soon as we asked they credited the $ back).

The beaches are amazing, the main beach "Atlantis Beach" is the most crowded and full of vendors (braids, drinks, jet ski every 2 minutes) so we got sick of that the 2nd day. The vendors are not allowed on the other 2 beaches "Cove Beach" and "Paradise Beach". Paradise Beach was by far our favorite, quiet, crystal clear, no waves just gorgeous (perfect for little kids). Plenty of beach chairs to go around too.

The pools/slides were plentiful, didn't even get to see all the pools, the kids loved the Splashers pool and the Temple pool which also had slides. They also couldn't get enough of the lazy river/rapids (tons of fun for adults too). Watch out for the rides in the Power Tower, my husband got a huge gash on his shoulder because the water was too low in the single tube ride and his tube overturned at the end and he hit his sholder on cement (no life guards were around to help with the wound - good thing we had antibacterial and band aids for the kids in our beach bag).

Some extras we did were the shallow dolphin interaction which we absolutely loved (we had a 4 yr old and 6 yr old with us and they still talk about the experience). Photo prices were absolutely outrageous at Dolphin Cay ($149 for a disc w/ all the photos, a couple of prints and a frame), but we wanted to save the memories so we went for it. We were also there same time Bruno Mars had a concert so we saw him too (great seats 5th row, great show - they even provided open bar before the show, Amazing for Atlantis which charges for everything).

Overall, an unforgettable vacation, the kids loved it, so did the adults, will definitely be back (probably during low season again, the deal was too good). For this being low season, it was still pretty crowded up until Labor Day, that day looked like 70% of the people left. So if you have kids and are looking for a place to keep them entertained, don't think twice they will LOVE it.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better. Also don't be afraid to ask for upgrade to diff tower if a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I went to Atlantis over the Columbus Day holiday and was sorely disappointed. I feel like this was a beautiful resort 10 years ago, but that it hasn't been maintained.

The thing that made the biggest impact on mye was the state of the various aquatic tanks. Atlantis advertises heavily based on these tanks - turtles, sharks, rays, etc. Their main ad campain features their large aquarium, The Dig. All of the tanks were filthy, algae growing everywhere, film on the windows, and the water was so dirty that you couldn't see the back walls of the tanks. In The Dig, parts of the facade inside the tank had fallen off the walls - chicken wire, bolts and other means of affixing the structure to the wall were showing and laid there on the floor of the tank for the 4 days we were there.

As for the rest, it was a hotel. Room was fine but I've stayed in better Holiday Inns. The food was great but way overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were somewhat concerned when we booked our holiday to The Bahamas, as there were so many mixed reviews. My first suggestion would be, if you don't have kids, don't go in the summer holidays. We went the last week in September (stayed at Coral Towers) and children were still around, but not too many.The hotel is great and staff are friendly, they all say 'hi' and help you with what you need. I can only think that those who say they received bad service, was probably their bad attitude towards staff. I did have to query an overcharge, only 1 bottle of water from the minibar, but they were nice and speedy about removing it from my bill.
The waterpark is brilliant, we spent 2 full days going on all the waterslides and the rapids are amazing.
If you can, go to Dolphin Cay, we interacted with a dolphin and it was a unique experience.
The food and drink is expensive, but we knew this, so stuck to burger and chips (Johnny Rocket is great) and pizza. We took the ferry over to Nassau ($6 return trip) and had some proper Bahamian food for 1/2 price. Cocktails are $8 at the Atlas bar in the casino.
We had breakfast included in our package, so filled our boots there (it serves until 12.00), then had and early dinner.
There is plenty to do and it is very much a place to relax and take it easy, even if things take a little longer, don't worry, remember, YOU'RE ON HOLIDAYS!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheesy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is an extraordinary property. There are so many things to do and there is also very quiet beaches to relax at. They have a fabulous spa and the casino is also fun. Snorkeling can be done right on the resorts beaches without having to pay for any extra trips. They have fun areas for kids as well as adults. It may be a little pricey for food, but it was worth every penny. If you want to eat off the property there are places for that too. I have been there many times and I have never been disappointed. The only reason I gave it four stars was because of the price of drinks and food.

Room Tip: Ask to be put away from the elevators.. it makes for a more restful night. The lagoon wing in the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,659 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,861 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection

Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island (Formerly Atlantis Coral Towers, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $290 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection is a centrally located hotel on Paradise Island and within the Atlantis resort. We offer contemporary, relaxed accommodations within a tropically casual atmosphere. Guestrooms have one king or two queen beds with sitting areas and full balconies with water or terrace views. Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection is just steps away from marine exhibits, a seven-acre snorkeling lagoon, BLU Pool, water slides, the Crystal Court Shops, Marina Village, the casino and several casual and gourmet dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Coral Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Coral Hotel
Atlantis Coral Resort
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing