We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, below average customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a 10 year anniversary trip for us. We travel a lot (always beach vacations) and wanted to try the Bahamas this time. The Cove is beautifully decorated and the furnishings / decor is high end. You won't be disappointed in the view either (we were on the 17th floor).
- we went towards the middle/end of September and occupancy was in the 20-30% range. We weren't told ahead of time, but a lot of things are closed for maintenance in September / October because those are the slow months. It would be nice to have been told before making our reservation.
- Loved the lazy river with rapids. You can ride this all around the main pool area and hop off when you want to get on water slides, etc.
- Cain @ the Cove pool. Awesome pool, atmosphere and music. Seemed really strange that at 6pm the pool closes (music stops, service stops, etc.). Maybe it was because of the slow season?
- Getting around - shuttle service is fast, we found it easy to get around the property by shuttle or walking.
- Restaurants also closed at 10pm except for some snack bar type places in the Royal Towers and Room service. Breakfast at Mosaic is definitely great food, but that was the only standout. Nobu and Mesa were ok.
- Pricing - Incredibly Expensive. Almost double what we have paid for food at other high end resorts and we have been to a lot.
- Casino - by far the best service around the property (T'shura at 3 card poker and pit boss Katie were tons of fun)
- Room Service - not great. We didn't get anything refreshed while we were there (coffee, cups, towels, etc.). It seemed like they were stopping by to make the bed and that was about it. 2 days we were there they stopped by in the evening to give us water bottles, but they didn't do it on the other nights.

The property is beautiful and really has everything you could want or need. The only reason I would think twice about coming back is because of the terrible customer service. Not sure if it is because 15% gratuity is already included in everything, but we very rarery got service with a smile. Mostly service staff tried not to make eye contact and when they did come finally come over they just seemed really annoyed to have to help you. Definitely the worst service of anywhere I have been. Even off-property people really seemed like tourists are a burden.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,948 - 1,954 of 2,919 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

I want to make sure you understand our visit was in September and this review may contradict many of the beliefs and reviews you have read. It was Not crowded and the service was FAR better than anticipated. I visited Atlantis about 13 years ago and vowed to never go back. The service and attitude of staff in my prior visit was not good. However, I was convinced to go back and found improvements in all fronts. Our service was very good, the food was very good and the grounds were beautiful. The closest thing I can relate this place to is like taking one of the mega resort casinos out of Vegas and putting it on a Caribbean beach with crystal clear water and pure white sand. Then you add a Disney like water park and aquariums. My wife and I travel quite extensively in the Caribbean and to the nicest resorts in Mexico and I can't tell you where I have found a better combination of amenities. You will find nicer hotels and nicer casinos and friendlier staff, but not all wrapped into one resort like this one.
I would point out that if you are accustomed to staying in the high end resorts, you need to book either the Reef or the Cove. If you stay in either of these, you have the right to visit all of Atlantis. If you stay elsewhere in the resort, you will not have the right to enter the private pools and beaches of the Cove and Reef Tower areas. I would agree that, as a whole, the culture of the Bahamian people is not one of hospitality and that few ever get in a hurry. However, I did find the staff to be far more polished and more highly trained than my first visit and most of them went out of their way to speak and tried to be friendly and inviting. As a whole, they did an excellent job in all aspects of their duties. I think the thing that was a pleasant surprise for me was the fact that the food and drinks were not so excessively overpriced as you see in these reviews. Try going to any of the high end resorts, Rosewood, Banyan Tree, St. Regis, Viceroy and getting food or drinks for less. I actually found most of the restaurants to be slightly less than what we see in the other high end resorts. In fact, I paid more for a hamburger in the Miami airport than I did at the resort. Overall, I think you can expect to pay about 25% to 30% more for food and drinks at the resort than you will find in the states. We ate lunch pretty much every day at the pool next to the Cove and hamburgers were about $10 to $12 and drinks may have been $12 to $16 but were very good and very well prepared. We pay $18 for the same drinks at some of the resorts we visit in Mexico. When you add it all up, I personally think the total package that you experience here is a good value. Not cheap, but a good value. If you like the beach, like to people watch, like good food, good drinks and even like to gamble, go.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Cove, you might ask for the rooms that face east, but don't be disappointed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TylerREBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first visit to the Cove Altantis.

Service - Could not have been better. Reception desk, Spa workers, Waiters, Cleaning staff - all were very polite and helpfull, always smiling and willing to help with anything.

Sleep Quality - We stayed on the 14th floor in a deluxe ocean suite. The room was big with 2 big king size beds.

Food - We ate at the restaurant in the cove pool and it was excellent. We also had an excellent breakfast at the Mosaic restaurant. There is also a Starbucks coffee.

Cleanliness - Can't get any cleaner. Excellent.

Pool - The pool at the cove is great with great music.

Bottom line - Beautifull and romantic place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyTalmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is our third stay at the Cove, and this time we traveled without our children. We stayed here for 3 nights in September and had a great time. The rooms at the Cove are awesome and worth the extra money that you spend to stay here. They are larger than a standard room, with an over sized bathroom and a sunken living room. The room was very clean and well maintained everyday. We were on the 18th floor overlooking the ocean. The view was amazing, and it was fun to sit out on the balcony and watch the ships come and go out of port. When you are staying at the Cove you have access to the adults only pool, the Cain. During this stay, it felt like this pool was busier than the other pools on the property. If you are interested in good people watching, this is the pool for you. All types are at this pool and there is plenty to see. In general, this is a very slow time of year to visit the Atlantis and it shows. We have been during peak times also and there is a night and day difference in the feel of the resort. When it is busy, this resort feels like Vegas for Kids and it is BUSY. During this time of year, there are hardly any kids in site. We did not need reservations for restaurants, nor were there long lines for the Mosiac Buffet. Even during the "busy" hours of breakfast, after 9 am, we just walked right into the buffet. The property offers a great shuttle service that transfers you to all of the towers on the property and this service is fast and efficient. It was very easy to use the shuttles. The staff at the property was exceptional. They were extremely helpful in answering questions and making sure that all of our requests were met. the main reason that this place does not get 5 stars is simply because of the cost of vacationing here. Everything is so expensive and you don't necessarily get what you pay for here. When you plan a vacation to the Atlantis, you just have to expect the high costs. Due to the low occupancy this time of year, it probably was our best visit ever and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banker562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Cove is beautiful when you walk in. Front desk needs training they were very rude and not welcoming when we checked in. 2 rooms they put is in were dirty it was a lot of back and forth and walking in this huge hotel it was really annoying upon settling in especially when you just get off an early flight. I expected staff to be warm and accommodating to us especially giving us horrible rooms it was their fault, but that was not the case. The hotel was not even at full capacity I think it was just pure laziness, I guess these staff members need the fire lite from under them to do a better job. Only one staff member that stood out and goes above and beyond his ability to make travelers stay perfect even down to the last detail was Dominic Cunningham in concierge. We trusted him to plan our dinner and activities and he did an amazing job an corrected every mishap we had on our first day. The phone system is very bad lots of transfers and holds with confusion when you are calling front desk, housekeeping, or any other hotel department. If you are calling room service you should be fine it was quick and easy. The rooms are nice, big bathroom sunken in living room, walk in closet. Very good turn down service nice touches from the housekeeping service. The Cain at the cove pool is adults only very good music but very cold pool. The Atlantis resort overall is too big like Disney world get your walking shoes because everything is a mission to get to. Keep the map close as it is very easy to get lost! Without a doubt check out the aquarium at the dig, dolphin cay, and the water slides the resort has to offer. Even if you are an adult this resort will unleash your inner child and you will have lots of fun. Bumps in the road on this trip but none the less it was really nice and enjoyed!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and bigger balcony the downfall of the room is the balcony it is a hit or miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights and it was amazing! The private pool, the beach, cassino made this place. There is only one thing I didn't like at this time: all restaurants close too early, at 10pm, so if you haven't got a reservation you won't be able to have dinner anywhere...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from a stay at the Cove Atlantis in a deluxe ocean suite with my fiance. We had an unbelievable experience. Because our room was comped for the majority of our stay due to a prior trip, we received a room on the 4th floor (which is the first level of deluxe suites). No issue whatsoever; the view was fantastic from our balcony and we experienced no noise issues from the pool, etc.

The room was spacious and the bathroom luxurious. It was great to have a balcony that we were able to relax on and people watch before dinner or in the morning as it got sunny. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Service was impeccable. And I must say, for being such a high-end hotel, it did not have the pretentious feel that many other resorts of this caliber often have. The grounds around the hotel were gorgeous and very reminiscent of a previous trip to Hawaii. You get what you pay for.

Having the luxury of spending our days at the Cain at the Cove (adults only pool with a great vibe, DJ, and black jack tables!) was a HUGE plus. You may think that you are on the outskirts of the property (the resort map makes it look like the Royal Towers would be a hike) but it no hardship to walk over to the Royal Towers at night for dinner, gambling, etc. In fact, it is a lovely walk and you get to see even more of the beautiful grounds. Or if you prefer, you can hop on the free shuttle and be there in a matter of minutes. We never waited more than a few minutes for the shuttle to come through and the staff was always ready to get an e.t.a of the next shuttle to arrive for us.

You cannot go wrong staying at the Cove. It was wonderful for us (newly engaged while on this trip!) and looked equally as friendly to families (a family pool is just steps outside the hotel). Try Mosaic (ground floor just around the corner from the reception area) for breakfast. It is money well spent and very delicious! I'd highly recommend staying here, even though it can be a bit of a splurge. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovesTheBeach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
1.0 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
One & Only Ocean Club
One & Only Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
895 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection

Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $533 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and stylish. Sophisticated and sensual. A place where scene meets scenery and urban chic meets white-sand nature. Inspired by the beauty of its surroundings, The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection thrives on the rhythm of the day. While our Atlantis hotel's exclusive ultra-pool and beach club create a seamless day to night scene, our Bahamas paradise's spectacular ocean views and balmy open-air architecture embrace nature’s most compelling elements creating a seductive and indulgent experience. Stay with us and enjoy a perfect location steps from pristine beaches and gorgeous Paradise Island lagoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Cancelon, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Atlantis Hotel Paradise Island
Cove Atlantis Paradise Island
Atlantis Cove
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing