We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveler rating
326
337
171
92
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
326
337
171
92
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews specialty restaurants calypso bar jerk chicken swim up bar infinity pool cappuccino bar jerk hut hour bar liquor dispenser family suite a la cartes larger pool sewage smell all inclusive resort nightly entertainment reservation system chairs and umbrellas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2019

This hotel is awesome! Well kept and staff are so nice! Housekeeping was great. Buffett was great breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Lyden is the best waiter at the buffet. He makes it so fun, remembers you and works his butt off. The only downfall is the pool and pool bar close at 6pm every night. The beach is beautiful and open 24/7. The bar inside is somewhat boring in my opinion but still "fun". Staff will get you chairs and an umbrella wherever you want to be on the beach. Staff are knowledgeable of the island and things to do. Very accommodating. Very welcoming. I put it was our honeymoon in the comments portion of our reservations and we did get an upgraded room. Some people say its not a great honeymoon spot/location but it was fine for us. It is about a $20 cab ride to downtown Nassau and $20 back. Or you can walk to take a ferry which is about $6 per person. Bring singles for tipping cuz everyone is tipped every where.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Z2k2tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

The adsorbent cost is only for the priceless beach. Location is great. However, the buck stops there. The pools are VERY small. There is no outside bathroom. Only accessable bathroom is in the lobby and there is security in there to make sure you do not go in wet and you have to have a cover up on. Guess how many people got out of said pool to go to bathroom inside the lobby....NONE.
There is 1 bar open at night for all 1000 patrons. Good luck getting a drink.
The food situation.....I am telling you now. Go somewhere else for your money. They do not take reservations, there is no sign in system. They make you stand in line like a toddler at kindergarden. Then I saw two patrons pay the hostess IRIS to cut in line. You have to line up 1.5 hours ahead of time if you even think of eating by 6:30-7. So you have to pay your way into dinner....to an all inclusive.
If you get a king bed....it is two beds pushed together with separate sheets and covers.
The hotel is very small. Zero romance factors. The entire right side of the hotel looks over huge generators/Air conditioners. You can not even hear the ocean.
The beach predators aka vendors are relentless!
***There is no drink service on the beach.
If you go to the front desk with an issue............They do not care and will offer no help.

Room tip: The entire right side of the hotel look over a huge loud generator. stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TaraPP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor while staying with us.

We are surprised to read your comments concerning our staff and the perceived service quality. Service is one of our key values and our staff is constantly trained in order to offer the highest of standards. Let us point out that tipping is always optional for our guests and the quality of our service should not depend on it. Also, we would like to clarify that we are offering accessible bathrooms by the pool as show on the resort map you received during the check-in.

We will send your comments to management in case these standards have not been fulfilled at some point and we always encourage guests who are still at the hotel to contact our Front Desk staff in order to resolve any issues during the stay.

We truly hope you can resolve this with our Front Desk staff during your stay as it is remarkable that the dissatisfaction you are describing did not come to our attention up to now.

We truly hope you can resolve any issue with our Front Desk staff during your stay and we look forward to hearing about the rest of your stay.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

Overall we had a great time for our Honeymoon, but there are definitely some room for improvements. Food was all around pretty good, but the service in the restaurants was pretty slow at times, and the wait time to even get a seat took a while if you didn't show up early to wait in line. All of the restaurants and buffet closed around 10pm. They did have some late night snacks you could get at the bar though. The room service food wasn't all that great, but is offered 24/7, so that was nice. We really wished the pool bar stayed open later into the night, since that was always the most fun place to hang out at. Once dinner started around 6pm, the pool bar closed. The overall service by all the staff was great, majority of people greeted us with a smile, bar tenders poured great drinks, and the place was always super clean. The beach was never too crowded and there was always help to bring out some chairs or an umbrella for some shade. For my first time staying at an all inclusive, it was very enjoyable and worth the fairly inexpensive price compared to some of the others.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank unclepappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

This was my first all inclusive resort I ever stayed at and I had high expectations. This hotel ruined everything for me.

First, I get to the hotel and everyone was greeted with champagne except me and my friends. Second we go to check in and the room isn’t ready! Me and my friends wanted to use the pool, so the hotel held our luggage’s and we went into the main floor bathroom to get changed and it smelled like sewerage. Disgusting!

Went back to see if our room was ready at 6pm and it finally was. The front desk person told us that there was a power outage and we had to walk to our room which was on the 11TH floor. They said the whole island was out of power meanwhile Atlantis had all their lights on. We get to the room and our luggage’s are not there. We waited for the power to come back on to connect to the front desk and it took them 15-20 minutes to bring our luggage up. We then experienced an additional 3 power outages that day!!!!! OBSURD and the hotel staff did nothing to reimburse us.

Once we got settled, we were supposed to have a room with TWO double beds, they gave us a king size frame with two double beds together so someone had to sleep in the crack. As we are unpacking we see that our decorative pillow is completely dirty along with the runners on the bed. Later that night we found a COCKROACH in our bathroom!!!!!!!!

Absolutely no service by the pool. We had to get the drinks ourselves. We couldn’t get into any restaurants as there was a sign in sheet to eat. We paid a lot of money and didn’t eat at any restaurants in the hotel room.

We wanted to get our late check out waived and the manager did nothing for us to reimburse us and what we went through the entire trip.

I DO NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was extremely useless and rude. Nobody was helpful or showed any pride in their job. I would never step foot into that hotel again! TERRIBLE experience. Do not book them!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Aritropiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Aritropiano,

Thank you for your time,

We are sorry that in general your experience with us was not what you expected and that you left our hotel with a totally opposite impression to that which we always try to convey. In RIU we are committed to provide excellent quality products and services to our guests, so we appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. For this reason, we will share your impressions with the Management team to take actions if needed.

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

I typically don't write reviews but felt like I needed to post one regarding the Riu Hotel on Paradise Island. In short, I was very disappointed in this resort; it sure didn't measure up to the "Riu" name. The pool was small and there was no "wow" factor that I could see. I guess this hotel doesn't provide pool side servers because we had a hard time finding one. The trash around the pool and on the beach area was disappointing to see. I couldn't believe they were serving straws. At the beach, you had to gather your own chair and the umbrellas looked like they had been thru a hurricane and back. I was surprised to see that the hotel didn't rake the beach nightly (to make it pretty), like other Riu resorts. The spa was the biggest joke! The staff acted like they didn't care if you were there or not (hard to feel pampered). Their prices were high and the "spa" experience sure didn't match up to any other spa I had been to. All in all this resort sure didn't compare to other Riu's we have stayed in.

Date of stay: October 2018
4  Thank xyz000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear xyz000000,

Thank you for your time,

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your overall experience during your stay at our Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island! In RIU we are committed to provide excellent quality products and services to our guests, so we appreciate your comments as they help us improve our services. For this reason, we will share your impressions with the Management team to take actions if needed.

However, we are surprised about your comment regarding the cleanliness of our property as in order to guarantee a maximum level of comfort our staff is constantly trying to keep our property clean and well maintained. This includes the cleaning of all our facilities on a daily basis. We will share this information with them in order to take actions accordingly!

We hope to host you again in one of our worldwide hotels in the future!

Greetings,

Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews