We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel was not something to get excited about. We stayed at Riu Cobo and it was 5 times nicer. The food was ok nothing special. The hotel really is showing its age it needs a lot of updating, thing were really old and a lot of things did not work or you could see how they just tried to hide things. We got their a couple of hours early so they said our rooms were not ready, but they gave us our bands and said go have fun until 3:00 when they would be ready. They held our bags and off drinking and eating we went (Good Start). My room was ready at 3:00 and our friends were not until 4:00. The first thing in the room it had aunts and they had to come and spray, we never another. For some reason they would not leave coffee for the machine in the room we had to call and have some delivered ever day witch they did bring it right up. The water, pop and beer were refilled every day. We didn't like the idea that most of the rooms were bragging about how nice it was to have Miller Light in the room and when we asked and were told they had ran out days ago but yet for a week every one else was getting restocked daily with it, and trust me 3 of the people I was with asked quite often because that’s all they drink.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,793 - 1,799 of 4,838 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The staff for this resort was great. They are the most polite and courtesy staff I have ever seen. The food for the buffet is average for a buffet. They have specialty restaurants that you have to put reservations in every morning I think at 8 a.m.. The first morning I tried to put in a reservation but they were all full. So the first two nights we had to eat at the buffet. When you put the reservations it is first come first serve. You are allowed two put in for two nights each time. All of the other guest I talked to complained about this system. The resort should try something else this is a very inefficient system. Since this is all inclusive resort it was nice to see they serve some higher end booze. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. The room was clean. I would go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from the Riu. Very, very disappointed. Should have paid closer attention to some prior reviews as they were dead on. Staff was friendly and courteous, however the Hotel itself lacked a lot of things. For the duration of our 5 day trip we had no hot water in our room. Water was luke warm at best. Sink water was sometimes brown, we would have to run it for ten minutes or so to get clear water. Hotel is outdated, small rooms, only one pool...Beach is very very nice but that is about it. Steak House is a joke...would not recommend eating there....room service menu is also a joke...maybe 5 items or so and the portions are tiny. Food in main room was good on the first day and then it went down hill from there.
Been to many resorts over the past few years and this was by far the biggest disappointment. Safe to say I will never be staying at another Riu again. On a good note, the Atlantis is just next door. We spent the better part of two full days there. Although it is indeed very expensive, I think it is worth staying there. Place is beautiful and there are a thousand different things to do.
My honest opinion would be to spend a little extra and book elsewhere.

Room Tip: we requested the best possible rooms they could give us as my wife is 7 months pregnant and is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank petelamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

we stayed for 3 days
room was clean
did laps at 8am - pool was very well looked after despite high winds early in the morning
restaurant sign up starts at 8 and is not very well organized but, you can sign up for more than one night and if the table has not been picked up within 15 minutes, you can ask the maitre d' if they have a table available. We had an excellent dinner at the Fusion restaurant and a good dinner at the Gourmet restaurant. The buffet is good, breakfast is standard omelette station, bread station, cereal station etc. I enjoyed the fresh juices in the morning. Would have loved to see more exotic fruits at meal times. Pastries, croissants were ok. They make an effort and try to have a different theme every night, they had Mexican, Caribbean, Italian etc. We chose tables by the windows and the view was beautiful. You need to pay for an umbrella on the beach which we weren't used to. We did a lot of walking. Just down the street, there a neat little area where they have turtles and birds. We walked to The Cloiisters and Versailles Gardens(across the street) absolutely beautiful, free and if you walk through the gardens and the One & Only Club you pop out on the beach very close to the Riu. We walked to the ferry. Cost was $8 for a round trip and we had an awesome tour guide on the way there, informational and funny. The ferry lands where the cruise boats are anchored and it's a very short walk to the main street. There is a neat straw market with local crafts and an ATM machine. Found the people very pleasant. We also walked to the Atlantis "shopping lane", and from there keep walking through the Casino and down the stairs to The Dig where they have beautiful aquariums. We went outside from there to see the Mayan temple and the sharks. We made our way back and walked inside to check things out and found the Atlantis theater where a movie was playing (about an hour into it) and we could have just sat down and watched. We kept on walking and eventually popped our right across the street from the Riu. There is no charge for any of this. It was also different for us since this is a hotel not a resort so you dont get to walk around beautifully groomed areas. Yes check in is at 3 but they store your luggage and you have access to food and towels etc. We had a late check out and again same scenario.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marie9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My fiancee and I traveled to the Bahamas in July 2013. We love to travel to the Caribbean and we always book all-inclusive resorts. Since the moment we arrived to the RIU hotel, we were greeted with warm towels and a drink (my kind of hotel). We immediately went to the front desk to check-in. Our room was ready, the bellhop took our luggage upstairs. Spacious corridors with rooms on both sides; our room was on the 9th floor! We unpacked quickly and went downstairs to the pool area where we enjoyed some caribbean libations until the pool bar closed at 7pm. We met a couple who were from New Jersey, who had arrived the day prior with their two children. The hotel grounds were extremly clean, the staff extremely friendly and made us feel as though we were home. Plus, RIU is next door to the famed Atlantis Resort. I will recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to the Bahamas. It's a great place to vacation!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

we stayed for a week our room was great family suite ocean view..originally were on 3rd floor and found the air conditioner loud but we were moved up to 12th and it was fantastic. we had two bedrooms and a sitting area..two bathrooms and two fully stocked liquor/mini bar. the beach was great and very clean..sand is much nicer than the sand in front of the Atlantis (next door). Food was good..lots of variety loved the Japanese a la carte..steak house was good too. Drinks were great and bottled beer. Staff were very friendly..weather was amazing!

Room Tip: ask for balcony and higher level..get the suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjwats2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time at RIU. All of the staff were extremely accommodating and nice. We saw the manager/owner (not sure exactly what he was) a couple times and he didn't seem to love his job as much, but overall the staff was great. The food was good - although some stuff was a little different. They had a good selection. Breakfast was our favorite. There were beach vendors, as expected, selling jet ski rides, wraps, hair braiding, Cuban cigars, etc but they were nice and left if you said no thank you. Plenty of beach chairs with an attendant to help you move them. Right beside Atlantis. After 6pm you can visit without a day pass. We read that the rooms weren't all that great but they weren't bad at all. Yes, it felt a little "sticky" at times, but you're at the beach...it's expected. The Calypso Lounge was fun. They have different entertainment each night.

Tips: bring your own (large) cup and they will fill it with whatever you want at the bar(s) - the cups they give you for the beach are small. Wi-do was spotty in our room (on the eighth floor) but seemed to work a lot better on an iPad. Sunscreen is super expensive, so bring your own! I WOULD NOT recommend using Majestic Tours for transportation from and to the airport. They were really nice, but it ends up being $24 per person plus a tip each way and you can take a taxi for less than $20 each way, plus you have to make other stops at different hotels with Majestic but a taxi takes you straight there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abigaillee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,669 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas ...
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
424 reviews
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $327 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing