We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 23-30 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The reviews here can be terrible. It is so much better than people say it is here. The staff is great, helpful and polite. Reading some of these reviews will scare you before you go. But the food was great, you wouldn't even have to book a restaurant if you didn't want to. We only went once, to The steakhouse, service was incredible. The beach is beautiful. Sun is hot, but that's what you want when escaping the bitter winter. Pool area is great, they clean it around 3 times a day. The rooms are nice. We were left a bottle of champagne and a fruit platter, with a thank you note in our room on our 4th day. This was perfect. Would return in a heartbeat. It is the Caribbean, so it does get humid, which means a little moisture, but it was not damp. Honestly it is everything you are looking for, it has the sun, the beach, the sand, the pool, delicious food and free drinks 24 hours a day. And it is away from the cold and snow. So enjoy this gem of a place, where the sun is hot, the people are great, and the food and drinks are endless. Wifi was not great, but it is in the lobby, and youare on vacation, so it shouldn't really matter. Definitely 4 stars. We loved it! Didn't want to leave. Thank you Riu!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
10  Thank Lynnalou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 4,956 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

1. Pool closes at 6
2. Food is good except chilean sea bass at Krystal
3. Fifths of liquor and beer in the rooms
4. Hidden lukewarm jacuzzi in spa that all guests can use
5. After 6pm you can walk in the Atlantis and see the dig exhibit for free. It is in basement of royal towers. Go in beach tower next to riu and stay to the left then follow signs to royal towers.
6. Need to wake up and stand in line at 8am every other day to sign up for specialty restaurants. Avoid Japanese if you can't hit all of them
7. Taxi to airport is $45 one way. Do not use prepaid majestic pickup they charge $75 one way and do not show up on time. Lots of taxis at airport.
8. Avoid the guy on the beach giving free rides to straw market was forced to listen to a 90 minute time share preso that sold for 18000.
9. Stay in an odd numbered room on a high floor if you want to see pool and don't mind club music till 12am
10. The whirlpool in the pool area is cold
11. Beach is nice but public so locals hang there too. Saw one piss in the sand behind the beach chairs and cover it with sand
12. Sun is strong bring 60 proof with titanium
13. Beds are small doubles pushed together - four in a room is tight if you are bigger
14. Ten minute walk to see Cloisters monastery was free and good exercise. It is a 14th century French monastery that was dismantled and rebuilt in 1962.
15. Straw market was a waste - can buy same stuff on beach and not waste hours in a stuffy downtown when you could be relaxing on the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Tronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just returned from our 7 night stay at the RIU, Jan 19-26, 2014. Overall fantastic resort experience and beach and excellent value for the money we paid. We had read many reviews and had an idea of what to expect before we booked. I think this is the key to enjoying this place as it is a solid 4++ resort and not 5 in the way that North Americans think of it. I would give it pretty close to a 5 for Carribean style all inclusive resort though. Anything that wasn't perfect was so small as to barely be mentionable, but for those who are picky, I will include that at the end.
Arrival/Departure
We arrived about midnight on a late Sunwing flight that was delayed about an hour and a bit due to winter weather. Quick bus shuttle, welcome drink, smooth check in, bracelets and off we went. They thoughtfully kept a small hot buffet open for us to eat from upon check in. Check out was even smoother on the last day. Our bus left at 7pm, so the use of a hospitality room for 30 min, free of charge was much appreciated and allowed us to enjoy our last day in the water.
Food and drink
Buffets were excellent, as good as the a-la-carte restaurants. 24 sports bar for night caps or late arrivals, and this has 2 fridges of snacks including fruit, sandwiches, nachos, hot dogs, hamburger, etc. pool bar and lobby bar also great. Good brands like Canadian Club, Smirnoff and Bacardi. Local beer Sands is great and Kalic is good too. Room liquor a bit lower end, but unimportant as they will give you anything to bring upstairs. Mix in the fridge nice. Mini bar in the room refilled daily at around 5pm, 24 hour room service nice for snack food. Loved the chicken Mexican tosties. Ate at 2 a la cartes, they were very good and lovely service.
Beach/Pool
Both were excellent, no complaints. Vendors on the beach friendly and a polite no thanks was sufficient when not interested. Water was warm in ocean and pool on sunny days, towel hut was always stocked and plentiful and no issues with towels or towel card on last day. No issues with chairs at either pool or beach. Found both clean and well maintained.
Room
Lots of space, very clean and comfortable. We were on our honeymoon and they gave us a lovely suite on 15th floor with a corner wrap around balcony. Super view of the ocean and the island. Tub and shower a bit small and sometimes water pressure was wobbly on 15, but no major complaints. Out toilet gurgled once in awhile but worked well. Double sink, king bed, beautiful dark solid wood accent and 2 big bright patio doors, living room area and TV. Got about 30 channels, covered most of what you could want to find for late nite chilling out. No real humidity issues in the room, carpet was fine (had a small run in it in one spot if you care about that), but we found ourselves waking up congested. We have allergies/asthma, so perhaps something in the vents? Bed and bedding and room were super fresh and clean so we just took antihistamines and got on with our holiday. Room cleaning works 9-5 type hours, so you may get the service in the afternoon. This was never a problem for us, and the girls would always hand you anything (towels) if you couldn't wait.
Staff
The happiest staff and most friendly and helpful as well! From housekeeping, to bar and food servers and including the girls at the front desk, security, cleaners, etc, etc. On our last night, the staff at our a la carte restaurant really pulled out the stops with champagne and a special dessert, the perfect end to a honeymoon trip. Service is 5 Star ++ all around! RIU was said to be a good, fair employer, and it shows in the staff. Well done!
Overall resort
Loved the small resort, all in one building complex. A bit of shopping, dining, bars and spa and gym all in one. Original fixtures from English Colonial were a unique touch (I dont call dated) such as the massive real crystal chandeliers, real tiffany stained glass lamps in the lobby bar, wrought iron torch holders, etc, etc. A weird thing about the 15th floor is that only one of the three elevators goes to 15. This left us playing elevator lottery sometimes. It was worth the amazing suite and views, but as an improvement, I would recommend a separate control that is able to summon this elevator seperately from the others. Currently the "up" button asks for the first available of the 3. Yes, the restaurant reservations at 8am are bit of a pain, but not so bad, we booked 3 nights during our week, had to cancel one. As everyone crowds around early and sits in the lounge, I would recommend the hotel putting out some plastic numbers or sign in sheet, so people can know their order or arrival in the "line". There were a few tense moments over perceived "line budding", which makes for bad guest interaction and feelings.
Our Sunwing rep, Clarista was very good and super helpful, thanks girl!
We enjoyed our stay, despite getting some cooler weather for the first half of our week. That was the fault of the "polar vortex" and not the hotel :) maybe bring a little cardigan and stuff just in case.
Thank you to everyone at the RUI PI, you made our honeymoon trip into a wonderful memory; we will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Wishes-from-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Rui Palace from Jan 16-19 and had an amazing time .

it is not fair to call this Rui 2 or 3 star, (as some people did it in their review), because it will create an image of Super 8 motel which is not true.

it is not a luxury resort, but in total we were happy of our choose, and it fairly entitle for at least 4 stars.

Honestly after reading lots of bad reviews I expected to have a bad time and I was ready for it . but it was beyond my expectation.

almost the entire flight ( around 200 people ) check in this hotel and the process was quick. Our room wasn’t ready because the check in time was 3 pm . We had our drink and walk around the resort , had a very good lunch buffet and the waiter was friendly. Around 1:30 , our room was ready (3rd floor), we requested for room at higher floor and they changed it to 7th floor. the room was ocean view with breath taking view. I think all of rooms are ocean view.

The entertainment crew are simply amazing , they tried hard and we had a great time with them especially my daughter.

All drinks are good and only lobby bar has a few top shell drinks but in total Bartenders were friendly and polite and serve very fast.

The buffet food was very good, even one night they served lobster for dinner. overall we had been happy with the breakfast , beach buffet and dinner. We booked two especially restaurant (Steak house & Japanese ), it was fine but you expect more from Palace. (not comparable with Rui Palace Las America (Cancun) or Rui Place Aruba, you can read my review for both).

We try the room service for a small snack around 11 30 pm , they brought within 15 min and the Sandwich and chicken Cesar was great .

Nightly show was entertaining .live band before show and disco after. I really liked most of the songs they played.

We booked a Jet ski for an hour (don't forget to bargain), it was fun and we saw lots of celebrities houses.

We also bought one day pass for Atlantic ($125 per adult ,$80.00 for kids). Atlantic is humongous resort and worth to see.

However, I am really happy to choose the Rui for our destination, because everything (food and drink) in Atlantic is crazy expensive.

We went back to Rui (10 min walk from water park ) for lunch and go back to Atlantic after.

The beach was super, powdery white sand and blue water.

We walked to the bridge and experienced a marvellous view.

A negative part to Rui is the age of the building, it is an old resort and it is essential to invest in renovation, redecoration, furniture upgrade.

overall, it is a great resort and highly recommend to everyone. we will go there if we decide to go back to Bahamas again. The weather was a little cold in January, it was windy and not everyone interested to jump in the pool or ocean. don't forget to vote to my review. (thanks.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank KimKim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay, but it wasnt without a few bumps!

-water was shut off a few times, I had to brush my teeth one morning with melted ice from ice bucket
-ice machines on every other floor
-you have to make a reservation in the lobby from 8-9am to try to get a reservation at a nicer restaurant instead of the buffet and end up in line for that entire hour and still might not even get a reservation, thats pretty weird
-rooms on the right side have awful views, we were originally given a room there and our balcony there overlooked a concrete floor with a hole, and the tv in that room was missing, but they moved us to a much nicer room with a pool and ocean view, so ask for that if you book!
-very small room service selection, selection was kinda weird

but the pros!
-staff was incredibly friendly ad upbeat, the waiters and front desk ladies were great, pool bartenders were fun
-buffet food was pretty good but after day 3 you want something different
-beach area was awesome, plenty of chairs for everyone
-while there werent many channels, the tvs did have a couple channels we like to watch at home that we dont typically get at other hotels which was nice
-easy to get to and from airport through majestic tours
-next to Atlantis, so you dont have to go far when you want to do some low key activities
-all inclusive factor means you save money on food and booze which allows you more spending money for activities

Even with it not being as great a deal as the all inclusives in Mexico we have been to, its still good enough that I'd return here while travelling on a budget!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a pool or ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank katt256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

4 of us girls went for the weekend, price was very good so we decided instead of Las Vegas to go to Bahamas & that was very good decision
we had 2 1 bedroom separated by living room but we didn't spent much time in rooms
weather was perfect, we went one evening to Atlantis resort, it's next building & after 6 pm it's free
food was good,large selection but sometimes tto salty
a la carte restaurant Sir Alexander so-so, Fusion -excellent highly recomending
beach-it's a public beach,lots of locals selling but simply no is enough for them. no bar on the beach
service-there was noone at the beach , in buffet you have to ask or wait long time
we didn't go to Nassau - no time but you can take taxi
rum cakes cheaper at the airport but cheapest in Nassau
overall perfect weekend, don't look at bad reviews but defintely not 5 star

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jolantar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

After all the bad reviews i have read before coming, we were kinda worried. We are at the hotel right now with 3 rooms and I must say, it is pretty awesome! We traveled with our 18 month old baby and he is having a blast. Food is wonderful and the staff are pretty awesome! The beach is so great and we just cannot say enough to express how we feel about our experience thus far. We highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
9  Thank Kabogadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
The Royal at Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas ...
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
5.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $366 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour All Inclusive renovated in 2017, Adults Only Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island opens all year round, located on the beautiful Cabbage Beach, next to Atlantis, the biggest casino in the Caribbean. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Lynden Pindling Airport (20 km) and Nassau (3.3 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 379 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the gym or on the beach volleyball court. 2 outdoor pools. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Japanese, Indian, Krystal Fusion restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 3 bars and our Capuchino Patisserie & Ice Cream Parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing