We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated old dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Currently at the hotel. Rooms and each floor stink from mildew. Probably because you cannot adjust the air conditioner in any of the rooms. The thermostats don't work. You either turn air on or off. When you keep air on the room becomes as cold as a meat locker. Then you open the sliding door and the room gets moist from the humidity. Condensation drips from the ceiling. Carpets reek. Filthy too. Specialty restaurants small and have to reserve at 8am. Pool not the cleanest. They give you one towel per person for beach or pool. Food okay for an all inclusive. Alcohol included. If you drink enough you'll probably like this dump. The building itself blocks all sun on beach and pool at 3pm. Internet connectivity stinks and they can't fix it. Computer won't connect to internet but cell phone can. Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank podman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 4,813 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to book a last minute getaway to Nassau. Once we booked we read the reviews for the Riu and were a little worried. Once we arrived our fears were immediately put to rest. Staff was friendly, room was great and food met our expectations. For the price we couldn't have asked for more. Some peoples expectations are a little unrealistic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Returned from Riu. Hotel is older but very clean and well laid out. I really enjoyed the old charm deco. Right on the beach and steps away from the Atlantis Resort. The staff is very friendly and always making sure everything is O.K with our stay at Riu.
Beach is beautiful, white sand but very windy, waves are crazy strong, we did not go into the ocean by the hotel. We walked further down right to the end, water is calmer and its very private there, Lot of very large expensive homes along the beach side.
Food was good, it reminded me of Cuban food. but tastier..LOL.
Lot of vendors on the beach, trying to sell you things, especially weed.
Our room was small but new furniture and very nicely decorated on the top floor, 15th floor.
overlooking the ocean and the city and the Atlantis Resort, what a magnificent view. Bathroom was also new.
Bed was so confortable and soft, large flat screen TV, alcohol dispencer, our fridge was always full of beverages/beer/water.
I must say customer service was awesome, right from reception, dining room, bar to maid service, just wonderful.
After 6pm. you can got to the Atlantis resort ( 5 min walk ) and use the Casino, any opend restauraunts and shop at very posh designer stores. Tour the magnificent aquariums.
During the day, you can buy pass and enjoy the day at the Atlatis resort, water slides, pools, etc.
This was short 4 day trip but very busy, will definately return for longer stay and explore more.
This is a must see Paradise.

Room Tip: Top Floors less A/C noice almost none. Room 1527 was bit small but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xxxsunnyd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were @ RIU from 10/3-10/6 to celebrate our 10 yr wedding anniversary. First time w/o our children & we enjoyed our stay very much! My husband & I couldn't complain about anything - upon arrival, we were greated by very friendly staff; had a nice oceanfront view room {granted no fan in the bathroom - but who cares; not our concern} and delicious food! It reminded us of being on a cruise with all the food that is served morning; noon & night. Housekeeping staff did a great job on our room; they were very nice & seemed to take their time cleaning. As an added touch which we weren't expecting was - on the day of our anniversary, I gave my hubby an anniversary card & left it on the dresser. When we stepped out to go to the pool - we came back to the room where there was a nice plate of fruit w/a sign saying "Happy Anniversary; compliments of RIU". While @ the buffets; I would ask the servers how long they had been working @ Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island; and each person responded with at least 2 yrs or longer. Which tells me that they are doing something right to keep staff around that long. We didn't see the need to make a dinner reservation at any of the restaurants as there was plenty to chose from @ the buffets. I would say that the entertainement @ night was a bit lacking; but otherwise what a nice place to stay! Loved the swim up bar @ the pool - bartenders were very nice & enjoyed many Mohitos! If you can get past the guys on the beach trying to offer to get you on a wave runner - the beach is fantastic. The temp of the water during the day was 85 degrees & very clean. Riu Palace didn't seem to be a hotel for children if helpful; which made it all that much better for us because it was a special getaway. If you want a place to just relax; RIU is it. If we visit again - we will stay @ this hotel again!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 807 - which had a lovely view overlooking pool/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mommadjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Very recently stayed at the Riu Paradise Island for a week. There were both Pros and Cons to the hotel (wouldn't really call it a resort).

Pros:
-Staff were mostly very friendly. There was one bartender at the sports bar that was not friendly, but he was the exception.
-Selection at the buffet during breakfast, lunch and dinner was decent.
-Food at the reservations only restaurants Crystal and Gourmet was pretty good.
-the beach was just down the steps from the hotel and was nice with white sand and clear waters
-Downtown Nassau was a $12 taxi ride away (for two ppl, they seem to adjust their prices by the number of ppl. For a large group, it was $4 pp). You can also take the water taxi for $4 pp.
-Rooms looked clean and modern.

Cons:
-There is only one small pool for the hotel that did not seem all that clean
-The beach is public so there are a lot of locals trying to sell you seadoo rides and foot massages!
-The steakhouse was a disappointment.
-At the specialty/reservations only restaurants, you could only order one item for each course unlike other similar restaurants at all inclusive restaurants where you could order whatever you like, as much as you like.
-You have to wake up at 7:45am to get reservations for the specialty restaurants and you can only reserve two days at a time. Therefore if people already reserved two days before you get there, you would possibly have to wait 2 days before there would be availability.
-It always felt damp and musty in the room, but I think that is standard for the Caribbean.
-There is essentially no food between the closing of the lunch buffet and dinner. Also after the dinner buffet closes at 10pm. What is available are leftover burgers, hot dogs in a fridge and with a microwave to heat it up. There's also nachos (not sure how long they have been in the warmer) and cheese sauce (which you also need to heat up). Room service options were not great...at all.
-There is nothing to do in the evening at the hotel, however Atlantis was a short walk away.
-I expected more fresh fruit and fruit juices but I was disappointed. There was only fresh juice during breakfast, and even then the juice was watered down and loaded with sugar. The juice for the mixed drinks tasted like the artificial juice from the plastic containers.
All in all in was a great trip for me because of the company and the weather was awesome. As for the hotel, it really is more of a 3 star kind of place but the staff were great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in suite on 9th floor. View excellent but suite was not worth the extra price paid. When you pay extra you expect some amenities not provided in standard rooms. Disappointing. Carpet always wet with a big rip down the middle of the room. Hotel has 4 restaurants with great food, if you can book a table. Only 2 restaurants open at a time with 2 specific seating times. Standing in line at 8am on vacation to book the restaurant is not my idea of vacation. Finding the restaurant is booked with 30 people max means no table only buffet. Service by all staff was good. Pool is nice but small. Advice is to NOT pay for anything but standard room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activemarriage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Decided on the Riu because of the name and I have seen beautiful Riu hotels in the past at other locations. Hotel is very run down and dated. Room had a musty smell and their idea of a King bed is pushing 2 full beds together (stated they ran out of King beds). Broken ice machine on our floor, went to another floor, broken ice machine, went to 2 other floors and out of ice. Watch out for the lizard living in the stairwell. Called room service to bring us some and was told to look on all floors. Said I was not going to do that, they said they are all out of ice. Ordered room service which consisted of cold nachos smothered in what looked like Cheese Whiz and a side of some sort of processed meat. Pool had a swim up bar that was all chipped and moldy and entertainment consisted of a guy and a computer playing Itunes. No wait staff on beach or pool area. Beach was dirty, with cans of beer and cigarette butts everywhere and the locals are allowed to sell you things and harass you all day. Paid to go to the beach in Atlantis instead. They ONLY good thing about the hotel was the buffets... Good thing because you could not get a reservation at any of the tiny 3 restaurants because they only took reservations between 8am- 9am... or is it 9-10 or 10-11... not sure as we got a different answer every time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrisGorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,659 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas ...
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
403 reviews
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.7 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $323 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing