We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Jackson, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from the Riu and I have to say that it was amazing. The food was great and the people there could not do enough for you. My son has a peanut allergy and the pastry chief came over to our table to explain what he could and couldn't eat. He even made him fresh doughnuts that were nut free. They really go up and beyond with service. The beach and water were tho die for. Over all it was a great vacation and would definitely stay at another Riu base on this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,738
    936
    545
    443
See reviews for
978
2,034
95
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumont, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just came back from vacation 7/26/13 from Riu in bahamas.
Great vacation,kudos to Lenny the bartender who was so personal and funny!!! Erwin the bartender was also great and personal and Mike who was at breakfast and lunch could not have been any nicer!!!! Service was second to none and the restaurants were great!! We went to the Gourmet and the Krystal and the service and the food were amazing.Do not believe the negative reviews of this place, It was one of the best vacations my wife and i have ever had!!! service here is amazing and we will be back!!!!
Gerry s.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here the first week of July as a single mom with my 8 yr old daughter. We really enjoyed this place!. The room was very clean and the staff was ALWAYS very polite. The food was excellent at the buffet restaurant and the resort had different themes for the food every day. The ocean is beautiful. I paid a room with partial ocean view and it was fabulous!...In order to eat at the other restaurants, you have to make reservations every day downstairs by 8 am, which was kind of uncomfortable, being on vacations and having to wake up by 7 to wait in line, but it's WORTH IT!!, we ate at the steak house two nights and the food was delicious!.

At night, there is entertainment at the bar, but for children, there is not really that much, but we didn't have a problem because we would walk everyday to Atlantis, even though we had to pay, but I believe you can take advantage of their aquarium and other things for free after 6 pm.

Please bring cash to tip the employees, they go the extra mile to make sure you get the service you really deserve, and last but not least, don't pay too much attention to the negative reviews, this place is AWESOME!!...Would I ever go back? of course!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Do not be deterred by negative reviews!!! Stay here for an amazing trip that will not break the bank. We're about to leave and can't say enough about our stay... Best time of our lives and both my boyfriend and myself are well travelled.
*Tips!!!*
-book a powerboat adventure.
-pay the extra for the ocean front view. it's all windows.. Wow!!
-get free room service late night. Beats the sports bar grub.
-check out the Atlantis aquarium for free after six pm
-tell the Jetski guys you already rented and they'll leave you alone
-don't even THINK about eating elsewhere... The same dinners at the Atlantis will cost you at leeeeast $100
-eat at the buffet. They usually serve similar food as the restaurants and it's instantaneous, dining at a restaurant takes 2 hours
Enjoy!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank BrittneeCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just came back from our trip at the Riu- It was wonderful!! The hotel is having some maintenacne repairs done , which to me is a good sign! As for the smells of the room, you are on the water and any one who has been to house on the water will tell you, you always get some what of a smell in your house/ room. Nothing to be concerned about! Views are beautiful, convience to Atlantis very nice. Staff is great and very accomidating and helpfull. Pool did have film on it by the end of the day because of all the sun tan lotion people put on and then jump in the pool, but with such a wonderful beach, why would you use a pool!!!Rooms are updated and bathrooms as well. Very clean hotel, towels always replaced daily. Cleaning service was done a little late for my tast, but they have so many rooms to clean I can understand...I was affraid of the negative reviews as well and just coming back I am glad we booked here. We had a great time at a great place. Also great tip use the boat shuttle into Nassua for some shopping only $4.00 a person nice experience and cheaper than a cab.

Room Tip: all room have ocean "view" but ocean front has a bigger balcony over looking the entire oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here as a couple June 13-17 2013. It was our first time in the Bahamas and we enjoyed ourselves very much! I agree that it is very different from other 'riu palace' resorts but still top quality- marble everywhere in the lobby- floors, trim etc. crystal chandeliers. This place definately has an upscale feel.

The rooms (furniture and decor) were the most modern of any resort we have ever stayed at and we have stayed at many. The view of the beach was breathtaking! Of course it will be a bit musty/ damp but that is the same as any other resort in the caribbean due to the heat and humidity. Anyone who complains about that obviously isn't well travelled in the caribbean.

The beach was amazing! The depth drops off quickly and water is a bit rougher so I would'nt recommend for young children.

The food was fantastic!! Check in and out was quick, staff were great.

Negatives:
-It is true about reserving a la carte restaurants first thing in the am. For this reason we were only able to try one restaurant (steakhouse).
-The vendors on the beach were very annoying. Every time we stepped on the beach we had 5 vendors trying to rent us jet skis. This was really annoying and ruined our relaxing time on the beach. Vendors will also try to rent to you beach umbrellas for $25 day (which they will take away early if it starts to rain even a little bit). There were no other shady spots on the sand. My husband and I learned quickly that in order to get a free shade umbrella and avoid all of the annoying vendors was to ask for an umbrella at the towel stand and ask for it to be set up for you by the pool area overlooking the beach. It was perfect and there we had a beautiful view, free shade, free wifi and no vendors!!!
-The entertainment was poor but every evening after 6pm we walked over to Atlantis and enjoyed the aquariums, shopping, casino and even bought tickets for $20 each to see the comedy show at Jokers Wild Comedy Club.
-Pool is smaller but never did we find it dirty.

Few helpful bits of information:
-Do not choose at top floor (15th)room as there is only one elevator and the wait times are longer. And if you enjoy sitting on the balcony and enjoying the view or reading, the top floor balcony is not open (cement wall) so we had to stand to see the view.
-Free wifi is available in the lobby but if you ask at the desk they will give you a code to access wifi which is also accessible from your room and the pool area too.
-The water ferry is a cheaper way to get to downtown Nassau at only $4 per person. You can access the ferry by walking through Atlantis (Marina area) instead of walking the long way around the island. Taxis are $12 each way.

Riu palace is definately your best option (all inclusive) on paradise island. The Atlantis food/ drinks are very expensive!

Room Tip: Avoid the 15th floor. There is only one elevator so the wait times are longer and the balcony is cem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JCC2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel lobby smells fry food and you and your clothes will have the same smell during all your stay.
The pool is extremely dirty. During my 4 days there I found a huge oil spot in the pool..
It is impossible to rest, the beach has a lot of people trying to sell you things all the time and the play loud music all day long.
The only thing good was the speciallity restaurants. The food was really great but to book it you have to wake up at 7 am and stay on a line for 1 hour hoping that when your turn come the restaurant isn't full yet

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabifb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. I have sent your comments to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: Casino Drive, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing