We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went on a family vacation here two years ago and loved it. The restaurants there were great at dinner time and breakfast (I'm still dreaming of the paella I had there) and the staff was so friendly. The beach was great, the location was phenomenal. You could walk to some great tourist attractions (I highly recommend walking down to the Cloisters - just stunning) and, of course, you can walk down to Atlantis just a hop, skip, jump away. The only downsides to our stay is that our beach view room was also above the large air conditioners for the hotel (very noisy, couldn't keep the door open to the balcony at all) and there was a very strong cleaning supply smell through the place. I didn't mind so much - because this place was super clean so at least we knew why!

Room Tip: Beach front sounds lovely, but if you're on the right side of the beach you will more than likel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    1,777
    964
    552
    452
See reviews for
1,006
2,073
97
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you're looking for a palacial 5 star Riu Palace, this resort is NOT for you. But if you're looking for an excellent smaller more laid back alternative then you've just found it!
I've just returned from this resort (04.18 - 04.25) The staff at this resort are top notch! Keep your suit and sunscreen close at hand since Check In is 3:00 pm.
Our room (1427) overlooked the pool and had an ocean view. It was spotless and the mini bar was well stocked and replenished daily. Cranking the air and keeping the patio door closed helped with the humidity in the room. Corene was our housekeeper for the week and she took good care of us! From our patio we watched the poolside staff scrub, vacuum, mop and arrange poolside loungers and cart in freshly folded pool towels at daybreak. The bartenders in the lobby are exceptional mixologists. The guys are kept hopping at the poolside bar but it's all done with a smile on their face. The Sports Bar is opened 24 hrs and supplies late night nibbles. We ate most of our meals at the buffet. The vegetables, fruits and salads were fresh as were the breads, rolls and pastries. For those not so adventurous, pasta, burgers, dogs, fries and pizza were available. We dined one night at the Japanese Restaurant, and it was okay, but we really enjoyed the sushi platter. So much so that the waiter brought us another one!
The beach is public and yes there are vendors. I personally don't mind vendors, they are people just trying to make a living. Watch for Dr. Long John on the beach. He's the one wearing white scrubs and dreads. For $35, he'll give you a foot massage that is out of this world! For $20 you can have unlimited tropical drinks from a hollowed out coconut further down the beach.
Take a stroll over to Atlantis (5 min.) for a change of pace. Or enjoy a glass of wine in the oversize wicker chairs out front at the end of the evening before turning in for the night.
I'm looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We came in to port on the Norwegian Jewel on April 18th and we had previously arranged transportation and all-inclusive day passes for the resort.

We all thought it was a great place. Very clean. I have to agree with the people here who thought the food was very good. Again, there were 38 of us and I didn't hear a single complaint. Food was excellent the day we were there. Very fast bar staff, too. Maybe we hit it just right, but we ended up amongst a really great group of folks who were staying there. Everyone was having a good time and the staff had some really hilarious activities for people to take part in by the pool bar.

Again, we didn't stay the night, but if you're coming into port and looking for something to do away from the other cattle being herded around on excursions, this is well worth it for the $75.00 charged for a day pass.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am still here as I am writing this sitting on my balcony looking at the ocean and pool. I am just finishing up 5 nights here with my wife . The ocean is amazing, the sun is relentless , and yes it is a nice r & r spot. There is no glitz here the pool is ok needs a little more tlc by the end of the day it is tired. The staff is always eager to help you, and they all work very hard. Beverages are plentiful all day and night, and there is never a problem getting what you asked for. Being from NY you can't help the fact you always want to tip, and yes they are appreciated. The food is always there but after 3 days its boring, they must jazz it up , its plenty but very predictable. The Atlantis is a 5 minute walk its a whole different world if that's what your looking for. The beach tower practically touches this place, so if you need a change of scenery you can go there for the day. This place needs an upgrade, the furniture is worn, the showers are not walk in (tub), but very clean. Housekeeping does a great job with what they have. In conclusion it's affordable , friendly, and a good place for the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Bahamas speaks for itself, its beautiful! Atlantis - same thing! AMAZING hotel which lots to see and do! Although we stayed at the Riu, we visited the Atlantis everyday!(5 min walk) Whether we visited the aquarium, the casino or the water park - it never seemed to get exhausted. We went to Aura nightclub in the Atlantis and it almost felt as if I was at a Vegas club.
The Riu hotel was very good. The beds were comfy, room service was available 24 hours of the day at no extra cost and the food was okay. Compare to other Riu hotels I have stayed at this one was not your typical Riu but it sufficed.
We decided to go downtown one night to see what the night life was like i Bahamas and although I may admit I was a little on edge, it was nice to walk around and see different things. I wouldnt recommend going downtown alone.
I'd like to give a shout out to our boy KK who worked at the Riu - absolutely incredible person!! We miss you! Kiwi was also quite the entertainer! lol
If you want to party-party maybe this is not the place for you, but definitely an enjoyable and relaxing vacation with lots to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaunkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at the RIU from Apr 16 - 22/13. We had a great time. We are a family of four -2 kids aged 14 and 17. I was impressed with this hotel from the start. I have never been to a hotel where 5 minutes after you get to your hotel room, they call to ask you how you like it. RIU was very accommodating. We purchased 2 rooms, but I really wanted the kids next door to us, although, when I booked, they couldn't guarantee it. However, the front desk was awesome and gave us this family suite on the 14th floor. It was 2 rooms connected to a family room. Just perfect for a family with teenagers. We could close the doors to the teenagers room if we wanted. We had 2 bathrooms, 3 balconies and 3 flatscreen tv's. Not to mention the great views. We were right beside the elevators, but didn't hear a thing!!! It was so quiet. I highly recommend this suite if you are travelling with teenagers - room numbers were 1406 and 1408. The cost was about $2212 per room for 6 nights, so the total was about $4425 (excluding airfare)

Although, I would only rate the hotel a 4 star, it was very clean and nice. However, the food was a five star. Don't listen to people who say the food was bad - they are lying. It was sooo good!!! And so many choices. We ate at Krystals and the Japanese restaurant the first few nights, but went back to the buffet for the rest of the vacation, because it had so many choices. Different themes everynight, so it was never dull. The drinks were amazing. If you sit at the bar in the lobby, they have a menu. I couldn't believe you could pick from about 50 different drinks including about 12 martinis - they were yummy!!!

Yes, the jet ski guys can be annoying, but after a while, they got to know us and we had a good laugh with them. They are just trying to make a living. Yes, umbrellas are $25.00 each (at the beach), but at least they have plenty of chairs (they never run out at the beach). We didn't mind because in Hawaii, it was an additional $25.00 for the chairs too, so this was a bargain! And the water is the clearest I have ever seen. Such a beautiful beach!

This island has no bugs!!! No mosquitoes, no spiders, no snakes...what more can you ask for?

We went to Atlantis a couple of nights. The aquariums are beautiful and absolutely free after 6:00. They charge before that to grab the cruise ship people. Make sure you go there. My teenagers loved it. To get there, leave the RIU via the front doors, turn right and cut thru the pink hotel (which is the beginning of Atlantis) and follow the signs to the Casino. The aquariums are shorlty after the casino. Also make sure you see the huge yachts outdoors and there is a little cute mall there (expensive). Atlantis is absolutely huge and expensive. One of the guests said there is a lot of walking to get to the pools and beaches there. The food is very expensive.

We booked a tour with Island World Adventures - book it yourself and you save $20.00 per person (times 4 people adds up). You just have to call them to reserve a spot and have your credit card ready. I will write a separate review about that trip - but it was fantastic.

If you like to hang out on the beach, take Bubba mugs which you can purchase at Canadian Tire if you live in Canada. There is not a bar on the beach and they use really small cups, so the Bubba's saved us a few trips. The pool bar is nice. By 11:00, there were still chairs available at the pool.

It is true about the wet carpets. But I learned how to control it. Keep the doors shut and crank the a/c to 19 degrees Celcius. They will stay dry then. It's because of the dampness from the ocean. We had a hard time drying our bathing suits. They didn't even dry well outside on the balcony. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iamcanadian566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a 4 night stay at the Riu. It was our first experience at an All Inclusive resort.
From the airport we took a shuttle that took about a 45 minutes. We arrived to a very nice open air lobby with a big bar off to the left with about a dozen small tables and chairs, Check in was a breeze and the staff was very welcoming. As soon as we a walked into our room (14th floor with Ocean view) we received a call from the front desk asking us if everything was ok. We didn't really have enough time to check everything but it was a nice to get the call.

Good things about the ROOM: Our room was clean with an updated bathroom. Fridge was stocked with some Miller lite, soda, and club soda and large water bottles. Mini bar was as advertised. A/C worked nicely. Room was cleaned nicely daily.
Not so good: There was a damp and musty smell in the hallway (not so bad in room). Some mold spores on the ceiling of the shower. The water temperature of the shower was terrible. Scolding hot then cold. Balcony was very small. Clock didn't work. There is 24 hour room service but the selection is very limited and not very good. Our bed was two twin beds pushed together with one headboard.

POOL: The pool is simple and relatively small. It does has a swim up bar and lounge chairs built in the pool. My wife and I (and the 8 others in our group) chose not to go in because there was a thick layer of sun tan lotion pooling in an area (this might not sound that bad but it looked disgusting). Due to the size the pool was very crowded and you would have to get up early to put your towel down on a lounge chair to secure a spot.

BEACH: The beach was where we spent most of our days. Thurs and Friday the beach was nice but Sat was packed with people. It was a combo of cruise ship passengers on one side and the other side had public beach access path and a ton of people were there. The Riu staff cleans the beach everyday but there was still garbage found all over the sand. As many mentioned the vendors were relentless. I don't mind if I am asked once, even twice to buy something or rent jet skis but it's all day. It's really annoying and not very relaxing.

OCEAN: The water is beautiful (caribbean light blue). While we were there, there was a very quick drop off so you couldn't touch the bottom 10ft in. (Not sure if this changes over time). The water temp was great. The water experience was somewhat ruined by the jet ski rentals that seems to have no boundaries. They were driving them really close to swimmers.

BARS: There were two main bars (Lobby and pool). The drinks were decent but you get them in these small 8oz plastic cups. There is no waitress service down on the beach so you have to walk all the way back to the pool bar to get a cocktail. It's almost gone by the time you get back. A lot of people had thermos or large insulated cups and would fill them up to avoid the multiple trips.

RESTAURANTS: Breakfast was very good. Custom omelettes, fruit, cereal, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruit juice....whatever you would want for breakfast, they have. Lunch has a lot less. Hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, chicken fingers were there each day. Then they have some sort of special for the day. Lunch is ok. We did not try the dinner buffet. We ate at two a la carte restaurants..Sir Alexander and Steakhouse. Both were just ok. Make sure you bring pants if you want to eat in the a la carte restaurants.

The hotel is ok but if you spend a day at the Atlantis like we did, you will not want to return to the Riu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts for your holidays and for taking the time to give us your constructive and valued feedback.

We were concerned to note that we failed to live up to your expectations. At our hotels we are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. I have sent your comments to the respective heads of departments involved and actions would be taken to address all your concerns.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: 6307 Casino Drive, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing