We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Riu twice within 11 months. Mostly because it is only a 2 1/2 hour flight from where we live. We have been to many all inclusive resorts over the past 30 years and the Riu by far has the best food and restaurants. You have 5 gourmet restaurants to choose from. I include the buffet in one of the 5 because it is the BEST gourmet buffet we have ever seen.The staff is not as friendly as other resorts we have been. Rooms are damp and musty because they have wall to wall carpeting but they all have balconeys and ocean view. Right next to the Atlantis. The beach is horrible because locals are waiting for you at the bottom of the stairs as you go down to the beach ready to pounce on you to try and get you to go on jet skis or buy cover ups and they wake you up if you are sleeping and you have to pay for the umbrellas and tip them to get a lounge. Stay up by he pool and you do not have to pay or tip for a lounge. Music is loud by the pool but I like it that way. Shows are horrible at night. The food is the best, location great, staff not friendly, beach horrible, nothing to do at night because shows are terrible, so we went to the Atlantis every night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loosey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    1,793
    977
    565
    466
See reviews for
1,023
2,098
100
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this hotel was very outdated, the room was not cleaned when we checked in at 1500, there was only a piece of tissue in the tissue box, a used coffee satchet was found in the coffee maker.......marks on the cups......
The hotel service was very poor....the bed mattress was too soft for my mum to sleep on, so I rang the front desk, whether we could changed our room, the hotel staff bluntly said all the bed mattresses were the same throughout the hotel, therefore I asked them to sent up 2 duvets for my mum to sleep on the floor. The first phone call was at 1600, the duvets finally arrived after 6 phone calls and personally spoken to the assisted manager at the front desk at 2100!! That's right it took 5 hours for the delivery of 2 extra duvets......
I don't think we would return to this hotel again.......

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Social and Community Relations Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

It’s a shame that you felt this way. It is important to us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. We will raise this issue with those responsible and figure out the problem so that it does not reoccur. We thank you very much for your helpful and reasonable criticism.

We hope you will choose to visit us again, and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of Guest Service that are typical at our resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paradise Island hotels

Austell, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I was at RIU Paradise Island from 3/1/13-3/4/13 the staff was very nice and accommodating! They made the experience great. There great attitudes and smiles made my day. The hotel was OK....my only complaints was the dampness of the room and the patio furniture. That's not a big deal, but I enjoy sitting outside listening to the waves crash. The weather was not the best so didn't get a chance to hang out at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTeefha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, IN
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The RIU is a good hotel with pleasant and helpful staff (although tips were appreciated no one ever made you feel they were expected). There are 3 main bar areas and one for entertainment in the evening. The drinks were always good. We only ate at the steakhouse restaurant and the buffet and the food is average. If you want reservations for the restaurants do it early, they book up fast. It is an easy walk to Atlantis and if you want to see the lobby and aquarium go later in the evening and no one is checking for room keys. Atlantis is pricey for shopping, go to Nassau for that. On Lakeview Dr. between Casino Dr & Paradise Isle Dr. there is a deck where you can feed turtles and ducks. Also if you go at spring break, be prepared for lots of partying kids.

Room Tip: The 15th floor has only one elevator that serves it and the ice machines are on the floor below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

just came back from paradise island & had to let people know what we expereinced march 10 2013 arrived @1100 pm windy & cool out got into the room @ midnight had a couple of drinks at the only bar open the sports bar. the room was very loud & 5 deep @ the bar . went to bed thinking new day next morn . breakfast was good service staff were very polite & competant. waves were too high & no one was allowed on the beach hence the pool area was extremely busy no chairs to be had anywhere. pool area was mainly filled with 18- 25 year olds drinking heavily&cursing a lot . this was mainly students from georgia & texas so i came to find out also found out that the drinking age in bahamas is 18 i know what i was like @ 18 alot the same without all inclusive alcohol. lunch & dinner quite good same scenario during late evening. could not get good service at the bar due to teens hanging out & not moving i tipped for every drink we got but it did not seem to make a difference.girl friend had a shower in the morning & water kept going from hot to freezing be advised to only have baths. same conditions in morn everyonecomes down early & puts towels on chairs & then goes to breakfast no chairs left also if you want to reserve an a la cart be advised that booth opens @ 800am no seats after 815 although you could book for the next night .same conditions as previous day at pool bar girls were passing out drunk in the pool &having to be carried up to thier room . we decided to go for an evening catamaran which was great fun . got back to hotel & bar situation wasn't great again . drunk teenagers everywhere .!!! a funny thing happened when a bus bringing kids back from the booze cruise. one young kid got out wearing dark sunglasses &was feeling his way down the side of the bus . my girlfriend exclaimed "oh my god he's blind" istarted to howl &said blind drunk maybe .i helped him up to his room& upon returning my girlfriend told me that the next girl that exited started puking everywhere .time to go . all that evening employees with mops &buckets seemed to be going in all directions . this wasn't the romantic getaway i thought it was going to be .i thought i could cheer my girlfriend up &checked out some ring prices . 1 carat g
diamond 14,ooo on sale for $7000 no thanx can buy it much cheaper at home.anywaytime to go soon looking forward to going home . ihave been to 14 islands ,alway @ a 4 star hotel they were all better than this supposed 5 star between torn carpet, dirty bathroom & severe lack of adherance to the rules ie. footwear &coverups in lobby . the young females seemed to be having a "who can dress the slutiest contest " iam a normal guy but i had to spend all evening trying to sooth my girlfriend i must say that hotel staff were very good but hotel manager did nothing to quell guests concerns & complaints

Room Tip: riu's usually have a very good reputation but nassau is the runt of the litter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kennyb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

First time at an all inclusive - overall a great experience. The hotel was clean, well-appointed, the food was good - lots of variety - and the staff were friendly and helpful. One small thing, if you are a wine drinker, they do not provide wine in the room - you can get it at the lobby and pool bars, but not in the room, so I had to buy some. Bar Manager stuck 'by the policy' rather than be concerned about customer satisfaction - it would have cost $18 to address the issue!. It would make sense if they put a few 187 ml bottles in the mini-fridge, sometimes you just don't want to go down to the bar for a drink. Also, liquor choices in the room are standard - brandy, gin, white rum and vodka - again, you can get dark rum, bourbon etc at all the bars, but can't switch out what you have in your room. Had to occasionally remind housekeeping staff to include a bath tub mat with the linens, but all in all, minor issues which did not greatly detract from the overall experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the Riu Paradise Island in the Bahamas twice in 2012! I absolutely loved this hotel and all it had to offer.

The rooms are VERY clean and are exactly what you see in the hotel photos. They are nicely furnished, again - very clean!, and have fully-stocked mini bars in the rooms, large bathrooms, and comfy beds.

The food at the Riu Paradise Island was fantastic. Best resort food I have had, to date. Their features changed daily, and we thought the variety and quantity of food was fantastic. We had dinner at an a-la-carte restaurant once when I was there (the steakhouse) and the food was great. To be honest, though, we hated getting up early to make the reservations, and we were so impressed with the buffet that we just kept going back!

The pool is small but nice, and the swim up bar is great. Try a miami vice while you're there, and you won't be disappointed!

The beach is convenient to access. It was cold when I went in December (due to wind) and so we spent more time in the pool which was the perfect temperature!

The activities and entertainment are what you would expect - but fun nonetheless! We did the Booze Cruise excursion which we really enjoyed (bought it off someone on the beach, though you could also get it from the activities rep in the lobby).

We discovered the spa on the 2nd trip. It was a little run down, but the hot tub was great and free to use for hotel guests.

I would definitely recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#6 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,582 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
4.9 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: 6307 Casino Drive | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing