We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2010

After reading reviews, we decided to book with Atlantis Royal Towers, knowing that we needed to bring our checkbook! The price isn't even what has me not wanting to go back, but it's the cleanliness of our hotel room and bathroom. Absolutely awful! Mold in the shower, hair all over the place, in the shower on the bathroom floor, and in the sink. It was if they never vacuum or wipe down the place. The bed had glitter all over it as well as hair. The guest before us must have decided the floor in the room is the perfect place to spit your gum because we had sticky gum on the floor, just not right! I contacted the front desk and they said they'd send someone up. Nobody ever came. We stayed outside on the beach as much as possible and stayed out of the disgusting room, but people have to shower and sleep sometime. It really disturbed me, but the front desk seemed not to care. Thinking things can't get any worse, our second day there, the water was shut off and then when it was finally turned back on, the water was completely brown and not just for a few minutes, for hours. I called the front desk and they said to leave our faucet running for a while. Nice. Again thinking things couldn't get much worse, the power turned off, while I was in the shower, and it stayed off for well over 30 minutes. It went off again, but luckily I was out of the shower by that time. And to just top off everything that had gone wrong, the air conditioning unit in our room stopped working. Again, nobody came to fix it, despite the call to the front desk. So, my suggestion is to stay at one of the newer towers, steer clear of this dump if you want to experience the Atlantis.
I do have good things to say about the place. The pools were a lot of fun and the beaches were really nice. They have people there at their pools taking photographs and also have people taking photos on the beach at sunset, I highly recommend having them take your photos and then buy a cd with all the photos at the end of your trip.
The restaurants that you must eat at are Atlas Bar and Grill and Chop Stix (if you don't mind paying a fortune). Both have really great food and very friendly staff! If you want something a bit cheaper, try the Marina Pizzeria, really great pizza! Restaurants to steer clear of are Bimini Road and Murray's Deli, just not worth the money! The food isn't very good at all.
The Dolphin Cay is pretty cool, not worth the money though. It was a whole lot of sitting around doing nothing. We were pushed by a dolphin, which was amazing, but lasted all of a few seconds. You get to hug and kiss a dolphin, which was pretty cool.
We did something call the total package (you book it at the hotel, but it not affiliated with Atlantis). I highly recommend doing this!! It was a half day excursion where we went snorkeling, parasailing, jet skiing, rode a banana boat and got to hang out on a private beach away from Nassau. It was a lot of fun and was about $150/person. Go to the Tours and Excursions Center to book this!
We decided to get a massage at the Mandara Spa, we did a couple's stone massage. It was alright, but not worth the $500! Overall, I was disappointed with the hotel, but I am happy to have had the experience.
Now we know what to do when we come back...such as not stay at the Royal Towers. We did have a wonderful time despite everything that went wrong. We got to snorkel in beautiful water. The fish are already swimming around you before you even get waist deep in the water! That part was amazing and I am happy to have that experience. And we got to eat some really great food! What else do you expect on vacation?? Perhaps a clean hotel room....

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GigerWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,028 - 5,034 of 6,498 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

The resort is amazing and the pools/water rides are awesome. There is truly something for everyone. But beneath the surface it is not worth the cost/price. The concierge services are a joke. We knew the restaurants from the internet sites better than they did. They push you to go to their buffet dinners where they charge 12 yr olds and up the adult price from 46-67 dollars, drinks not included. We did eat at Seafire Steakhouse and Cafe Martinique which were both fantastic, both the food and service. You can plan on dinners at these restaurants in the $500 dollar range for a family of 5.
Another hidden secret is the daily excursions they sell to people from the cruise ships every day. It is so busy from 11am-4:30pm from these cruise ship people that you can have a line for the leap of faith, abyss and other rides up to 60-90 minutes. Also, if you don't get chairs before noon you are out of luck.
They also could care less about making things right. A water leak occurred in our room on day 3, soaking the carpets and requiring us to relocate. It took 4 hours to get a plumber to our room to diagnose the problem, and another 4 hours to get a new room . Our new room faced the harbor even though we paid for a water view. After spending over an hour on the telephone with 3 different managers I was told tough luck, you are lucky to have a room. I thought I was on candid camera or some other reality show, but unfortunately it was reality. They don't give a hoot about you.
Bottom line, I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone. If you really want to experience Atlantis, go on a cruise that stops in Nassau, and do a daily excursion.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElGuapo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Room was great! Clean! Felt a lot like caesars in las vegas.

The lazy river was is the best I have ever seen with the rapids, and different parts make it interesting. The slide through the shark tank is cool to see! No matter your age be sure to experience ALL of the waterpark, fish tanks, just drink it all in.
It's nice that the water park blends into the landscaping so you may not even realize there is a ride there.

Plan at least 3 full days to really get to know the resort and find everything. Very large property.

One of the best most memorable beaches we have been to. There is a section near "The Cove" but not conisidered the cove. It has chairs, a bar, music, white sand, clear water calmed by the breaker, and NO VENDORS walking the beach for this section. We didnt discover this spot until the last day :(.

Food and drinks are pricey, but it's an island!
Easily spend $200/day in food/drink for 2 people.
Ex. a bagel, OJ, bannana = $17
2x omlete, OJ + Coffee = $60
Mixed drinks were $10-12 each
This is a place you only do a couple times, or for a memorable celebration.
If you want to go all out on dinner Nobu is on site, just like in vegas.

What I recomend is taking a cab across the bridge and buying your own alcohol to bring back, maybe a subway sandwich for the fridge at lunch. Fruit juice is expensive, booze is very very cheap you wont believe it!
We did go into town for the Fish Fry, good spot, great experience.

I won $500 at the casino playing craps.
Celebrities do vacation here, we saw a couple.
Uploading pics of our favorite day spot on the beach.

Will definately return, and recomend!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachBuzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I am obsessed with Atlantis. It is the most beautiful, fun, and relaxing place in the world from amazing pools, restaurants, sea life, ocean views, water slides, gift shops, and even a little marina shopping area. I could live there!

Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
Thank Dolphin237Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We just came back from a four-night stay at Atlantis, and had a really pleasant experience. The staff was efficient, friendly, and made things hassle free: the room we were originally given was not ready when we got to it, so the bellhop quickly arranged for us to move to another room, appropriately coordinating the crib and refrigerator we needed as well. The resort was clean and not overrun: could have been when we went (before the height of spring break), but we never had to struggle for a fresh place to park at the beaches or pools. I am a clean freak, and even I thought our room in Royal Towers West was immaculate. It was extremely spacious and comfortable, too. All of this made it easy, fun, and relaxing to vacation with our 10-month-old baby.

A few miscellaneous thoughts on food...we did not sign up for a meal plan. Instead, we sprung for the $15/day refrigerator and stocked it with drinks/snacks/light breakfast items we picked up at a grocery store on our way from the airport to Atlantis. For an extra $10, our taxi driver stopped to let us shop at Super Value Foods, which was completely adequate, but later we passed a City Market which looked a bit more polished.

Of course, drinks/snacks didn't fortify us the whole time, so we would typically buy lunch at an outdoor, takeaway restaurant at the resort. For dinner, we ventured outside of Atlantis. We really wanted a chance to experience local Bahamian life, so we had just as much fun off the resort as we did on.

We went to the Fish Fry for dinner 3 nights out of 4. First, we tried Twin Brothers, which was good, but the service was verrrrry slow and mixed up. Then, we tried Oh Andros, and Oh My...we LOVED it so much we went back twice. Everything we had there was superb, and cheap. Oh Andros is a MUST if you want delicious Bahamian food in an authentic setting. The other night we went to the famous Poop Deck, which was good as well, but catered more to a touristy crowd so it was more pricey. From Atlantis, the three of us got to The Poop Deck or to the Fish Fry in about 15 minutes for $11-$15.

All in all, we had a fabulous (too short!) vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noblebaigum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Just returned from 5 nights in Royal Towers. We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful contrary to reviews posted on TA. I think they are really making an effort to turn around their "surly staff" reputation and the effort shows.

Our son celebrated his 10th birthday and Spring Break with this vacation and he had a ball. For a 10 year old, what's not to love about water slides and lazy rivers and giant aquariums, shark tanks and dolphin encounters, amusement park food everywhere you turn?

My husband and I were disappointed by the room, the crowds, the food and the prices.

Overall, it is what it is: a GIANT resort with tons and tons of expensive, kid-related stuff to do. Your kids will have an absolute ball. You and your wallet will be tired.

As a side note: the weather was COLD and WINDY! Don't think we would chance the Bahamas again for Spring Break.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is truly a dream vacation spot. Then again, it should be for what it costs. I reccommend the Royal Towers rooms because of close proximity to pools, waterslides, restaurants and the casino. The less expensive rooms are former other hotels that Atlantis has bought and converted. I also reccomend the Gourmet Dining Plan. It provides breakfast and supper for 115 dollars a day per person. If you decline the dining plan it cannot be purchased after you arrive. We ate at The Bahamian Steakhouse the first night with tea or soft drinks and no cocktails. The food was superb but the bill was around 260/00 with gratuity added. Sure glad I purchased the dining plan. The staff was exceptional, the pools and waterslides beautiful, beach spectacular with an aquarium incorportated into the hotel. The second night was Fathoms seafood. The walls were glass with fish swimming all around you. The casino was wonderful. Bars great, comedians on hand, theater, available golf, snorkling, jet skis, para sailing, you name it. The beach was white sand with aqua blue water you could see the bottom through. This is for the ultra rich and again nothing is cheap here but for a once in a lifetime trip to the Carribean, it is the place to go. No need to rent a car, everything you need or want is there. Save you money and splurge. enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIREBALL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
1 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#3 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,690 reviews
1 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,900 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 36 in Nassau
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograp...
#10 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection

Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island (Formerly Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $374 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is the icon of Atlantis featuring the awe-inspiring mythology of the Lost City of Atlantis risen from the sea. From the artwork to the experiences, a stay at The Royal is larger than life, with intimate proximity to the world’s largest open air marine habitat situated at its center and the famed Atlantis casino by its side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing