We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip but very pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
atavistic8
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip but very pricey”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to Atlantis on December 6-9, 2012. Since we purchased our trip via Amex travel, my fiance and I used Majestic Tours for our transportation from the airport. I really wish we would have just caught a cab. We met other friends down there and they paid less for a cab then we did for our tour tickets between the two of us. We had originally booked a water view room. When we arrived, I requested an upgrade. Surprisingly, we were given the upgrade to a complimentary corner Regal Suite. This room was amazing!! We have a large living room, large bedroom, his/her closets, large bathroom with huge tub and separate shower. Of course, I loved the tv in the bathroom mirror. We also had 2 bathrooms in the suite. Since it was a corner room, we had 2 balconies facing the water and the dolphin cove. It was really nice!!

Food was good on the property. But, everything is so expensive. I got a liter of water and that was $10.00 after gratuity was automatically added. We also went to the Steakhouse on the property. I found it good. Prices like Ruth's Chris but not as much food. One day we went off the property to the "Fish Fry" to eat. This is a place most locals tell you to go. I think the cab drivers get a kickback for taking tourists there. It is authentic Bahamian food. I found the food tasty. The cab ride was 15.00 for 2 people and each additional person adds $3.00 to the cost. So depending on what you order, you may make off better eating on the resort verses the price for the cab ride and meal.

We enjoyed the water slides and lazy river. There are plenty of inner tubes around the resort and plenty of chairs to layout in. I think the next time I visit I will stay at the Cove. Although it's further from the Royal Towers(which is centralized to everything), it offers a more exclusive experience.

Overall Atlantis is well kept up. They run like a well-oiled machine. Everyone who works there was friendly and helpful.

Great trip.

Room Tip: Regal Suite had plenty of space and it was good to entertain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atavistic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,441
    1,857
    916
    532
    476
See reviews for
3,219
1,437
68
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arlington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Did a quick weekend here with my brother and his wife, will hit the high points:

1) Huge resort with absolutely everything. Like a cruise ship. We drifted along the lazy river for 2 hours drinking Sands beer (not bad, Bahamian lager) and puffing on cigars (the good ones) that we procured from a guy on the beach for $30 each.
2) Ants in the room
3) Hottubs were ALL out of service
4) Food was average but pricey even off the resort.
5) Local clubs were typical vacation style with a mix of tourists and locals
6) Water is gorgeous and weather was awesome
7) Comedy club was good. The Dec 10 headliner was hilarious the other guy was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've been to Atlantis more than ten times in past ten years. Although it is starting to show some wear and tear we always have a great time. The beach by the Cove is excellent and not crowded and you're not hassled by people trying to sell things to you. It is a very large property ands offers many pools water rides and restaurants. Depending on when you visit it can be very crowded or very quiet. Our last visit was in September and no crowds at all. Food cost can get pretty expensive especially if traveling with large family. Worth visiting a least once for the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

we went off season (december)with our 8 y/o son.the waterpark was fun but the hotel is for couples or the rich. paid $2700 for 4 nights with air and had to leave early the 5th day to catch our flight so it was $675 a day. what do you get for that? a mediocre room at coral tower(we had to request a move, the first night they stuck us the service entry with lots of lights, hardly a view and garbage trucks etc. beeping and banging, at first they wanted addl.$$). staff were mostly helpful and friendly but the food prices are very high and you have to take a cab or ferry to escape "paradise island'. they do not allow buses , these trips cut into your ride time since the park was open 10am to 5 pm and close if theres lightning. better off stayng elsewhere and going to the waterpark on a good weather day(about $100 p/p) i was told. you can do all the rides and still enjoy and support the local economy instead of losing at the casino and paying $30 p/p for breakfast !

Room Tip: looking at examples ofn helpful room tips. how would i know if higher rooms have less a/c noise? our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a fabulous vacation at Atlantis. My husband and I traveled with a group of friends. The hotel is great and has everything you need. Food and drinks are expensive but tasted great. The pool and slides are awesome. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very large hotel and often very busy - so not for someone looking for quiet time or intimate dinners.

The rooms - we stayed at royal tower thinking it was the most convenient, which it was. But while the lobby and public areas seem well maintained, the rooms are tired and musty smelling. The age of the room was evident from the old and noisy air conditioner to the older style furnishings/decor. The AC only runs when you are there so you are always returning to a warm and musty smelling room. The beds are not up to the comfort standards for hotels of this price range. Pillows and towels were thin and horrible. The rooms are more like a lower older motor inn than a hotel priced like this. I would consider the cove next time, or perhaps staying elsewhere and using the waterpark.

The dining is expensive - but there are some good food options. While we are generally not fond of buffets, the Mosaic in the Cove was great. It offered quality food, lots of choices and a reasonable price based on that. It was cheap but it was certainly reasonable for the amount of good meat/seafood/etc that was offered. We also liked Cafe Martinique - the food and service were both great. Mesa grill while good was just too heavy of food for a beach resort. The worst service was from the marina starbucks which couldn't seem to get anyone's order correct or food heated for breakfast. They were a service mess. Bottom line, food is about 25% more than you would pay for the same food in a major city.

The waterpark was great fun for all ages. It was clean and intersting. Outdoor staff from pools, to bartenders and lifeguards were all friendly and helfpul. When a water ride broke down, they were quick to fix it and get everything running. It's clear this is where the focus lies - and cruise ships do bring hundreds of people per day to use the waterpark. (one staff member told us disney cruises alone brougth approx 500 people per day). But even with that, they can handle the crowds between many pools and various rides. It was never a long wait for a waterslide.

Overall - it's expensive, but the hotel needs a room refurbishment before we would consider returning.

Room Tip: waterview is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Dear all - please listen carefully: My wife was in Atlantis Royal towers 10 years ago and the only one thing she was remembering is "Excellent everything". OK - she convinced me to go over there together this time. Bathroom was not very clean, shower pressure was low and drain system needed to be snaked (after 5 min you stay in 2 feet deep water in the bathtub). TV is so old - did not even have an HDMI input (we like to watch our movies using iPhone via HDMI). And everything feels so old and so used... Bottom line - it does not cost $400 a day. Food is super high expensive and again - it does not feel right for the price...Not to mention that you have to pay for the food extra ...

And the last and most important thing I'd like you to tell:
We were walking through the beach and got into very nice area near Atlantis Cove building with nice pools and sunbeds and palms ... Once we were heading back, "gentlemen" in the uniform approached us and asked for our guest passes, we showed him guest pass from the Royal Towers, but he immediately changed his face and told us that this place for "Atlantis Cove" guests only and we do not belong here, and asked us to leave the area not in very polite manner. Even more, few seconds later, he yell at our backs that we must turn left into the beach now and not continue in the direction we were going to leave.

I am not the writer and never wrote a thing that long before, but I hope that I delivered the matter to you. There are many other nice places in the world. :))

Room Tip: Do not get confused and pay extra $50/night for the "ocean view". "Terrace View"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nbogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
1.0 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograp...
#10 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,574 reviews
5.6 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection

Property: Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Address: 1 Casino Drive, New Providence Island (Formerly Atlantis Royal Towers, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 1201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection is the most reflective of mythical Atlantis, featuring grand architecture, artwork and design. Standard rooms at Paradise Island hotel have one king or two queen beds, a sitting area, and French balconies, while suites have full balconies. All rooms and suites offer terrace, harbour or water views. These towers are closest to Mandara Spa, the Fitness Center, Aquaventure, Atlantis Kids Adventures, The Dig, Casino, two main pools, and several gourmet dining options. It's easy to enjoy the pristine white beaches of Paradise Island and gorgeous lagoons from our resort hotel in the Bahamas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Royal Towers Hotel Paradise Island
Atlantis Royal Hotel
Atlantis Royal Paradise Island
Atlantis Paradise Island Royal Towers
Royal Towers Atlantis
Royal Towers Of Atlantis
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing