We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GREAT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantis - Harborside Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The bad reviews on here of it being "too loud, too crowded, too expensive..." well DUH! Atlantis is NOT the place to go if you want that "Corona commercial" relaxation. It IS the place to go if you want to have fun, party, and let loose in the Caribbean!

Of course it's very pretty, but if you want the picturesque resort, go somewhere else. Or even stay at the Cove.

Yes it is very expensive.... Expect that going in to it! Don't know what else to say about that except... don't go if you can't afford it! Service was always great for me -- even was able to order room service at 4 am and have it delivered to me, poolside! Awesome.

HAVE FUN!!!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Coral Tower and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kd353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    512
    177
    77
    47
See reviews for
847
247
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Though most Starwood timeshare condos are nice, well appointed and clean, Harborside at Atlantis is all of that combined with luxury and great service! As a Platinum Starwood Guest and frequent traveler, this is the spot for getting the best of the Bahamas, the Atlantis resort plus a place to make a few meals in a gourmet kitchen, drink your OWN beer out of your OWN refrigerator and most importantly have to deal with elevators, drunk casino guests have MUCH MORE privacy! Though I'm not a huge fan of Timeshare, this is a property that I would actually consider. If you are a "spoiled brat" traveler like me, then don't expect the "St Regis" or "Ritz Carlton", sorry for mentioning the latter Fritz, but it is a great, comfy and luxurious alternative for vacationing in the Bahamas and more importantly the Atlantis Resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fundking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Harborside timeshare condos were built in two phases with phase II being newer and thus in better condition. we were initially in building four and the unit was excellent but it had no view. we asked for another unit with a view and eventually were offered building one. the balcony view was over the Atlantis marina with views of Atlantis. the entry door was next to the noisy Atlantis private road. the room was in a less than average maintained condition - severely cracked and damaged counters in the kitchen, old looking and worn tiles in the bathroom and several small but irritating problems. We did opt for this room because of the view. Management went above and beyond in fixing and trying to fix as many of the problems as they could (tv not working/ac not cooling enough/broken coffe pot/ dirty carpets). i gave a very good because of the view, the pool and the effort of Harborside management. our two bedroom lockoff was ok for the three couples. of course, the Atlantis water park was great and the Ocean Club golf course was exceptional. most restaurants are expensive which is the norm for a resort such as this.

Room Tip: building seven has the best view but the rooms are part of the older phase I
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW4TRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Food very expensive due to cost of shipping it here..most people friendly and cordial..GREAT water slides..lazy river ride...great running weather most days..safe...timeshare best 4 families due to laundry in room and kitchen..savings=a ton on food!! We would come back and do it again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First, let me start by saying this was our family’s first trip to the Bahamas and the Atlantis Resort. Everyone I talked to before we went had the same statement .. “That place is supposed to be fantastic!!!”, so our expectations were high.

We arrived late on a Sunday evening (due to flight delays) and were given a first floor room. We are Starwood Vacation Owners who used points to book the room, and upon booking we clearly indicated whatever room we get, please don’t make it a first floor room!! When we asked if there were any other options, the front desk, quite rudely I must say, informed us that everyone checked in on Friday and Saturday and that’s all that was available. It was 10 degrees in Chicago when we left and 80 down here, so I moved on and chalked it up to bad luck determined to enjoy our vacation.

Upon entering the room, we knew why this room was the last one available. The floor was filthy, there was a slight mildewey smell, and there were obvious signs of water damage to the door frames around the bathrooms. We immediately called the front desk and complained. Again, we got the rude “Everyone checked in on Friday” spiel When we pressed further, the front desk said there were small 1-bedrooms available on higher floors, but as we had booked a two-bedroom lockoff (there were six of us travelling) that obviously would not work. So, again, we sucked it up and soldiered on.

If you read other reviews, they already talk about the shuttle to the grocery store and the inter-resort shuttle. We didn’t use the grocery shuttle, but can’t say enough good things about the inter-resort shuttle. We never waited more than 5 or 10 minutes for a shuttle and all the drivers were friendly, courteous and made us feel welcome. Special props go out to Christopher who was a great entertainment and was great with the kids.

Also, I won’t go into how expensive everything is on the island since that’s covered pretty sufficiently in other reviews. Suffice it to say, it’s expensive. $90 for dinner for 4 (two kids) at Johnny Rockets!!! Burgers and shakes!! Wow!!!

Let’s move on to the concierge at Harborside. Very friendly and welcoming ladies that are completely useless. Asked if they could recommend a restaurant for 2 adults and 3 young kids (under 6). They called a couple restaurants on property – nothing available. Not a problem since reservations are recommended in advance. However, when asked if they had any other recommendations, they just stared at us and said sorry. Turns out there’s a ferry to downtown Nassau where there are plenty of decent places to eat (at a reduced rate from the island). Again, it’s my responsibility to plan better, but they could have mentioned that to us!! Oh and they’re great at ensuring you sign up for a timeshare presentation for $100. No thanks.

Overall, the Atlantis resort is a beautiful place. Unfortunately, the kids pools were closed for maintenance when we were there, so we can’t comment on those (unfortunate, but you have to fix stuff, so no biggie). There were several pools and plenty of beachfront. My kids loved “The Current” lazy river ride. The one big caution is the cruise ships. The day we left, there were 5 in port and the Atlantis sells day passes to the park to cruisers. That means it can get verrry crowded, as we witnessed when leaving!! All the lounge chairs on the beach were gone by 10:00 AM. The staff on the resort itself were always very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is the overall condition of the resort. Apparently, the resort went into bankruptcy recently and it shows. While nowhere near a dump, it’s clear that they’ve skimped a bit on cleaning and upkeep. Many of the lounge chairs and umbrellas were spattered with bird poop and the overall property had a slight disrepair to everything. Now, this place is huge, so I can’t imagine the upkeep required, but for the price point they’re asking, it could be better.

We'll be back to Atlantis, but probably not Harborside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheMightyChewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Resort hotel that is the sister property to the Atlantis. You can have all of the amenities of The Atlantis by staying at this location without the individual cost. Our room was a one bedroom with a queen bed(a sleeper sofa in the living area also), a full kitchen, a bathroom, and laundry area. We also had a great view from the balcony(our room faced the Atlantis and was on the water). We were also within walking distance of the water taxi that will take you to the other side of the island by the downtown area and Straw Market. If you decide to venture out and by food to cook in your room, the best place to buy is the is right by the straw market(not where the hotel takes you). We paid the price for a person per night at the Atlantis(yes, they charge per person, not per room), had much more room to move around, food at our leisure, and got to use the beaches at the Atlantis, the aquarium(a must see), gamble, go to their clubs, touch the stingrays and baby sharks, all without the cost. Hotels in the area are surrounded by places to eat but nothing beats the local food. Word of advice, everything is cheaper on the other side of the bridge. If you take a taxi, be prepared to pay them one dollar to go to Paradise Island in addition to you taxi cost. Bahamas has some of the friendliest people that you will ever meet.

Room Tip: This a resort hotel, so you can always ask for a water view and they will try to put you in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ccwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Nebraska
Level Contributor
330 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall this resort is my choice 3 years in a row now

The rooms are very much like every other starwood property and the loc a tion is just a 7 minute more walk to the beaches

You are assigned a card with charge priveledges to all of Atlantis so all is good for food and shopping

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas8098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Coral Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis - Harborside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis - Harborside Resort

Property: Atlantis - Harborside Resort
Address: 1 Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Casino Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis - Harborside Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the natural wonders of warm Caribbean breezes, blue crystalline waters and sparkling white-sand beaches, Harborside Resort offers Atlantis guests a vacation filled with beauty, relaxation and excitement. Situated just across the marina from Atlantis, you have access to a wealth of private amenities combined with the home-away-from-home extras that only a spacious, private villa can offer. The Harborside Resort is just steps from a harbor front restaurant and pool area, a children's pool with fountains, a fitness facility and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Atlantis - Harborside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis - Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Paradise Island
Harborside Hotel Paradise Island
Harborside Resort Atlantis
Harborside Resort At Atlantis
Atlantis - Harborside Resort Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing