We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big food. Come hungry or get half portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Big food. Come hungry or get half portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The bbq is decent. Not amazing. The service is okay. The portions are huge. Get half or share with a friend. My youngest son and I shared the fried chicken. Good but, lots of breading. Mac n cheese, delish. Gravy n potatoes, good. Pulled pork, spicy, savory. I give the place a 5 out of 10. We'll probably go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanmanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    280
    224
    97
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It was just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Let's start by saying, We only like white meat, so when our chicken dish came out it was mostly dark meat...very disappointed and they wouldn't exchange it for mostly white meat, next time put the wording on the menu so that we know...We also ordered ribs which were very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricka277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Virgil's for lunch (no reservation needed), and were seated near the window overlooking the stingray exhibit. We thoroughly enjoyed watching the children swimming with the stingrays. We ordered onion rings as an appetizer. They were SO good. For our entrees, we had the 1/2 rack of ribs and the pulled chicken sandwich. Both were delicious and came with a very unique coleslaw. The portions were large, and we were able to bring half back to our room for leftovers!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTeachersX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service... good food.. big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a few good dinners here. The service was good, staff very friendly, especially at the bar area. Waiters were dancing, singing.. food was very good and the portions are large.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Enought Food for an army”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The pulled pork nachos was more than enough for 4 adults, and we were hungry. Don't need any sides, but if you get them they too are pretty large. If you can take it to the condo it is ok, but if you leave it there is a lot of waste. Very good service. It is a must try, but call first to see when it is open. We walked over a mile the first time to find it closed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryS769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing