We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”
Review of Virgil's Real BBQ

Virgil's Real BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stopped at Virgil's for a late lunch and were so pleased with food and service that we returned on a different night for dinner. While our server was adequate, the family style serving of food was proportionally good. There were 6 of us, we ordered 3 entrees and 3 sides, plus the innovative volcano desert. Lunch prices were terrific, dinner entrees are comparable with Atlantis prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    298
    233
    98
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family fun!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great place for a Family dinner,Just as good as the first location in New York! Very large plates of tasty food,

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Interesting yet flawed dining experience!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

After a slightly hectic reception, we were eventually taken to a table that was the right size for our (admittedly quite large) party.

The menu was vague, and we were unsure of quantities, so we aired on the side of caution and thought it was better of slightly over order.

The portions were huge and unfortunately we had to leave a lot.

The food itself was typical American BBQ. It was of fairly good quality, and offers a real deep south experience.

The waiters seemed rushed, and drink and food wait times were long.

Overall: Good food, but front of house staff could do better,

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ priced Iike a fine dine!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have been to Virgil's in NYC several times, and were happy to acquire a reservation at this one after being told that they were all full the previous trip. The ambiance is like a loud, American style pub/saloon despite the fine dining prices. There is a separate bustling bar scene, with very lard club style music playing when you walk in. My family and I had a nice booth in a family section of the restaurant, and couldn't believe the menu. The BBQ chicken was $56! The waiter explained that the portions were family style like Carmines and that each entree feeds 3-4 people. This turned out to be true, portions were huge. We had a family Caesar salad, BBQ chicken and a ribs platter And it was a lot of food. They did have a very reasonable children's menu ($8 items) and out children ordered from that. It was a very expensive meal, but the food was very good, the collard greens side dish was a fan favorite. The Banana pudding desert was also excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYcitygirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Family style only, food good but expensive”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Was surprised to see only family style here, made it tough for 4 people to agree on one entree. Food was good, expensive as usual at Atlantis, service was pretty lame.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgil's Real BBQ also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Virgil's Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing