We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean self catering”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Harbour Club & Marina
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, clean self catering”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Agree with much of the other reviews.
1. When arriving, tell the cabby you are going to "Columbus Tavern". No one has heard of the hotel.
2. Its a time share set-up. Our room was large and well equipped. Decor was dated but acceptable.
3. When making a reservation, make sure you ask about extra costs. We were stung by a cleaning charge, a night energy surcharge and taxes. The base room rate was cheap so the extras were not a huge issue, but it would have been good to know about these up front. Extras were $10 a night for cleaning, same for energy plus 14% tax on the room rate.
4. Location is at the far end of the island. This was good for us as it meant it was quiet. 5 mins walk to cabbage beach and 15/20 mins to the village.
5. We borrowed bikes to get around (free). There are limited number and they are interesting design, but worth doing to help get about.
6. The grocery store on paradise island is *really* expensive. Bahamas are expensive, but this shop is a total rip off. Staff are grim as well - go into Nassau.
7. Other reviews mentioned a water shuttle from the harbour to Nassau. This was not available when we were there (being repaired?), but there was a van available.
8. Slightly disappointed that we did not have an ocean view. We were looking into the tavern! However, noise from the tavern did not go on too late and in general it was quiet.
9. Pool area very pleasant.
10. Food at the tavern was good, and would recommend going during happy hour (5-7pm).

Overall, would recommend if you don't like going to the mega resorts. Its not luxury but offers good value for money. We'd go again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arranblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    35
    16
    11
See reviews for
45
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Overall a good place to use as a base to stay whilst on the island. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with requests and the rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms and decor of the rooms are dated in design, but are functional and good value for the price. The hotel is located on the Eastern edge of the island, next to the entrance to the golf course. Columbus Tavern is fine for food (typically expensive though on the island - look to spend c$60+ pp on dinner) and quiet drinks for those feeling lazy. The hotel is roughly 15 minutes walk down to the shops and main Atlantis marina where there is a little more choice for food ($9 in taxi). A short 5 minute walk down the island from the hotel is a restaurant 'Dune' which is located in the One and Only Club. This is worth a visit for a nice meal (best for views at lunchtime as overlooks the beach). The restaurant is smart, but given its one of the best on the island, is not priced at too much of a premium compared to some of the other places in and around the Altantis resort which serve distinctly average food at above average prices. There is a new condominium development being completed behind the hotel, but all the major construction work has been completed, so there is no/minimal disruption to guests. Also best to head to the convenience store on arrival to get some breakfast food and juices for your balcony as there are limited places to eat breakfast near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We just spent a week with friends in a 2 BR, 2 Bath condo. Check online photos. It is just as the photos show...no surprises. Rooms were cleaned daily, spacious, and bedrooms were separated for privacy. Staff was very accommodating. The highlight was happy hour at Columbus Tavern, 40 steps from our condo. MiLadys makes the best tropical drinks and complimentary conch fritters were a treat. Food there was also very good. Taxis were readily available thru front desk. Beautifully maintained grounds.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisgo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Paradise Island Harbor Club is a timeshare resort, located in an out of the way location, at the complete end of Paradise Island. The island is small, up-scale and relatively safe. It is a densely developed area of small resorts and private villas but is dominated by the Atlantis Resort Complex.
Most of the units at Paradise Island Harbor Club have a view of the Marina. Unfortunately, some of the views look into the dining room of the, on site restaurant, Columbus Tavern. The rooms are relatively clean, rather spacious, but the decor is dated and uninspired. Don't expect luxury or amenities beyond the cost of the bare bones time share price. It is basic comfort, a good place to relax with friends and family and use as a base for the self -catered lifestyle that is offered.
If you don't mind walking, it is a 10 minute walk to breathtaking Cabbage Beach (past the smelly water treatment plant) and a 20 minute walk to the Atlantis Resort, Marina Village and a limited number of local shops. A car can be helpful, but not essential, considering the challenge of driving on the left side of the road. Drivers are fairly courteous and the roads are fairly well maintained. Parking downtown on Bay Street can be a challenge, so it is worth it to pay to park in lot. Cabs are expensive, but once you get off Paradise Island there is inexpensive public transportation and a greater variety of dining options.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city, nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

decent place - relatively clean place, and good if you like walking. we eschewed the $9 cab everywhere on the island and just walked the 20 min walk to atlantis, etc. 10 min walk to the beach. good place to stay if you're looking to not hang out at the hotel much, just use it as a base and go stay at the beach or do activities.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vav925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Paradise Island is absolutely gorgeous. Don't stay on the mainland! It's a different world out on Paradise Island. The landscaping is beautiful and well maintained, flowers are everywhere, you can walk or bicycle on the sidewalks day or night without a thought for your safety, everything you need is right down the road from the hotel... restaurants (we loved the Green Parrot on the harbor, an outdoor burger bar), shops (the Paradise Splash has great souvenirs), a bank, a small grocery store (very expensive), an ice cream shop... We went exploring on the bicycles (furnished by the hotel) and discovered Cabbage Beach only about 5 minutes away. Wow, a perfect, pristine, uncrowded beach like you've never seen. We found the Village Marina near Atlantis, a wonderful place to hang out at night... with shops, pizza, music, yachts... See the aquarium at Atlantis (go thru the casino and walk in free after 8pm), go on the Flying Cloud sunset cruise (includes supper and transportation), and don't forget to snorkel (Stuart Cove's). It was the best vacation I've ever been on. Yvette and Michelle at the front desk were so helpful. There is a huge condo project going up directly in front of the hotel, so our place was kinda tucked away behind it. But we loved coming home to a quiet place with a wonderful view of the marina. The rooms are immaculate and very large. I loved the tile floors. The balcony/patio is huge. We traveled all over Paradise Island (on the bikes! ) and all the hotels are lovely, but we were so glad we picked this one. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzie3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Twp. Pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The hotel is small with comfertable accommodations. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. The units are dated, build in the 80's, but as clean as you would expect for an older timeshare property. Our unit had all the kitchen wear you need to make your own meals, if you wish. This little place sits on the water, marina side, with a view of New Providence Island across the water. The staff are friendly and relaxed. They do what they can to accommodate you.
Our reason for choosing Paradise Harbour Club was a quick inexpensive beach holiday to break up the long end to winter. The PHC did just that. Paradise Island is a beautiful little island once you get away from Atlantis. The roads are quiet, flowers are everywhere and it's very safe. We walked without a care day or night. The beach is wonderful. Very long, clear blue water, we snorkeled off the beach and could see 70-80 feet under water. There aren't many fish in the area due to the nice sandy ocean floor but it was still nice to look around under water. This end of the beach is so quiet and nice. The other end is Atlantis and very much the opposite. We did walk down to Atlantis and it has it's appeal. That just wasn't what we were looking for this time of year.
PHC is older and there is a huge condo going up behind it. Right behind it, like 8 feet away.
If you just want a no thrills inexpensive trip to a beautiful island and beach and nice little hotel to chill at with or without the family, PHC might due.
One very good thing was the snorkel trip the hotel offers twice a week. We had a good group and the Capt. decided to take us over to Rose Island. It was fantastic, great little private island. We were there for 3 hours and wanted to stay longer. Ask about the trip and be sure to ask if you can be taken to Rose Island. One of the best day trips we have ever taken.
We had an issue with the front desk having us change rooms the last night due to them being over booked and a timeshare owner coming into the unit we were in. It was a drag but we got a late check out in return and all was good.
We travel often and enjoyed our stay. We wouldn't likey return to PHC or Nassau. It was a nice one time visit for us and would recommend it to others if we knew their expectations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BooDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Bay View Suites Paradise Island
Bay View Suites Paradise Island
#14 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
#9 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Harbour Club & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Harbour Club & Marina

Property: Paradise Harbour Club & Marina
Address: Paradise Island Dr, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Harbour Club & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its beautiful beaches and ideal location, Paradise Island was developed to include elegant hotels and fabulous resorts, making it a top resort destination throughout the world. This tropical island getaway has some of the most beautiful beaches in the Bahamas and is a perfect location for enjoying year-round outdoor recreation. A playground for vacationers from around the world, the island is famous for its easy going style and variety of amenities. The Paradise Harbour Club and Marina is a collection of king-size hotel rooms, full-size junior suites, and one-and two-bedroom apartments. It is a great choice for those who want the freedom of a private residence with the facilities of a large resort. With a marina, beaches and an enviable location, our Paradise Island resorts offer everything from watersports and relaxing on the beach to entertainment and gaming at the famous Atlantis Resort and Casino adjacent to our resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Paradise Harbour Club & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Harbour Club And Marina Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Harbour Club & Marina Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing