We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Place, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We spent our spring break at Sunrise Beach Villas. We chose this place because we wanted to be on Paradise Island on the beach and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Nassau or the more crowded Cable Beach. We also prefer smaller, less hotel-y places like Atlantis or Comfort Suites. We had a one-bedroom 2-story villa overlooking the pool. Our unit (as do all) had a full kitchen, which we loved because it meant not having to eat out for every meal. Overall, our experience at Sunrise was great. Highlights included: walking out our door to the pool; short walk to beautiful Cabbage Beach; walking to nearby restaurants for dinner (especially Columbus Tavern); walking to the Cloisters (we love to walk and like that so much was accessible by foot); friendly service from staff; daily maid service; and well-equipped kitchen. Low-lights: Place shows some wear and tear though nothing that turned us off; while it's nice to have a bar/restaurant on-site, the food was mediocre at best and the service at the restaurant was severely lacking (long wait for food and drink and mistaken orders); loud music plays at the bar 3 nights/week making it difficult to sleep until close to mid-night. None of the negatives were enough to cause major problems for us. Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    102
    43
    18
    18
See reviews for
183
128
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Family of 3 went on Spring Beak Vacation
THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW:
--Expect to pay about $35 each way to get to and from the airport
--STOP and get groceries on your way to the hotel--groceries anywhere else are expensive! Take the extra 15 minutes and save a TON of money later.
--Buy your own alcohol and beverages rather than buy from bar--remember, there is a 15% gratuity on everything you purchase. Think of it like a tax, or having Obama as president.
--Get to the airport at LEAST 3 hours prior to your departure--It takes AT LEAST an hour to get through customs and I watched many people miss their flight.

Pros:
--Beach was great
--Pools are well taken care of, property is beautiful
--Violas has some good food
--Management is friendly and nice
--Within Walking distance of everything
--Place is relaxing, pools were not crowded, beach not crowded either

Cons:
--Room was out-dated
--Found a cockroach about 3 inches long in the toothbrush holder--my wife nearly passed out. We had to boil our toothbrushes to get through the week. We told the maid and she seemed to think it was not a big deal. Was unsettling to sleep or walk around the rest of the trip due to the thought of finding another insect.
--Added gratuity to my bill at the end of the trip for housekeeping. Did not expect this and they do not tell you about it.
--Icemaker in freezer did not work. Asked maintainence about it and they said that it wasn't hooked up for some reason. They then told me just get ice from the bar. Not a big deal, but we made or our drinks so I had to make many trip to the bar.

Overall, it was a nice place but some improvement is needed to the room we stayed in, Room 206. Maybe some of the other rooms are nicer,but this one just didnt meet my expectations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coachmitch2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is our first time in the Bahamas and we are so glad we stayed here. The four of us rented an one bedroom unit. If you seek to be in the comfort and coziness of a home during a vacation, this is an amazing place to stay.
Location: All the villas are less than 1 minute away from a beautiful beach and the ocean. The best part is, the beach isn't crowded like Atlantis a few minutes down.
Hospitality: I cannot begin to describe how helpful and nice the staff were. We arrived on a Saturday and was greeted by name. I needed to order a cake for Mom's birthday and Alexis called many places for me and even offered to pickup the cake, unfortunately they weren't open on weekends. We had some problem using the AC and lights, the maintenance staff were there and fixed them within a few minutes. The rest of the staff were also so friendly, funny, patient and hospitable.
Accommodations: We cooked most of the time, the kitchen was complete with utensils, detergents, pots, bowls and anything we would ever need. This saved us so much money and time to enjoy other things on the island.
Food: There is a nice bar and grille called Viola next to the Villas, the food were great. We had $25 dollar certificate each to eat there, it was the best Chicken quesadilla, fish and chips, and hamburger I ever had.
Stuff-to-do: There isn't too much to do on site, there is an organic pool which is really nice because there aren't that many people around or in it. For more grandeur entertainment, Atlantis Beach Tower is about 3-4 minutes down the road (walking). There are also day passes at all inclusive resorts. We also walked over the bridge to the main island and took the buses there to downtown for shopping.
After this experience, I became a huge fan of Bahamas and villas over the gigantic resort hotels. I felt like I was at home and didn't feel the stress of traveling at all. More over, the staff of Sunrise beach villas fully convinced me of the friendliness and all the great qualities of the locals. Thank you so much for this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamybubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

I spoke with numerous timeshare holders and all said the same. Units out dated, performance is none, cleaning a lic and a promise. If you are paying top dollars for your stay the only problems are no back up genaarator for pwer outages, times you must move from unit to unit if problems occur,

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYSUNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holderness, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Well, what can we say? We truly enjoyed our first first to the Bahamas and were fortunate enough to stay at Sunrise Beach Villas. We had read the reviews and it sounded great. It was better than we expected. Thanks to Jackson managing the villas and Alexa working in the office. They were a wealth of information and helped us with our planning. The beach was very nice as was the water/beach. We are walkers and enjoyed walking over the bridge into town, enjoying the "fish fry", taking the ferry, and meeting the exceptionally friendly people. We took the local buses all over the island as it was affordable at $1.50. Food, taxis, and others are very expensive. We took the advice to buy food on the way in and that saved us a lot of money and decision making. The snorkeling with the sharks was fun also. The only downside was having to admit the tourists weren't as friendly as the people. They love to say hi, have a cordial conversation, voluntarily ask if you need assistance, and enjoy their life in paradise. There are hustlers on the beach to sell their wears and get you to ride jet skis ect. but they aren't aggressive. A great choice for couples or children. Thanks for the memories and smiles. Jim and Robin

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hogie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We selected Sunrise based on positive reviews here. As others have stated, the location is terrific, right on Cabbage beach and a 5 minute walk away from everything Atlantis has to offer. Location isn't everything though and, there is room for improvement at Sunrise. We travel frequently and always stay in timeshare, self-catering accommodation so we feel we have a good point of comparison for this review. This was our experience:

Positives:
Location - Fantastic. Dining, entertainment, shopping, casino all within 5 minutes walking distance. Beachfront. Beach accessible by a wooden staircase, beach bar on site. 2 bedroom villa was quite spacious and quiet.

Pools - property has 2 freshwater pools. The one closest to the beach is gated and only supposed to be used by certain condos (this wasn't obvious at the Sunrise website). Beach towels supplied. Plenty of loungers. More about the pools later.

Atmosphere - Excellent. This is a quiet property with a laid back atmosphere. Good for couples and low key families looking for some peace and quiet.

People - Staff here are friendly and also laid back. We met some of Sunrise's permanent residents who were very friendly and welcoming.

Areas for Improvement:

Maintenance and Cleanliness: Lots of areas needing attention. Examples: patio stones by shower at beach stairway entrance were completely disintegrated and tough on the feet, same area littered with pine needles, hoses left out all the time. As a result, most guests seemed to bypass the shower after visiting the beach and used the pool for washing off all the sand. Pool rec'd a very light skimming in the morning but was not cleaned during our stay...lots of sand in both pools. Weather was hot and pool water was murky. Garbage and cigarette butts littering pool area. There was a weekend wedding during our stay and the guests left plastic cups, straws and other litter in concrete planters and under deck chairs. This wasn't cleaned up until the following Thursday and the cigarette butts on the pool deck were still there when we left. Only front poolside tables had umbrellas for shade. Hammocks needed replacing, one was just a mess of dangling strings. Landscaping work needed, grass and hedges quite overgrown. Villa balconies dirty, not cleaned during stay. Inside units mini ants in kitchen and bathroom sinks. We did speak with other guests who had the same problem and they got a repellent from the front desk but we didn't want to use chemicals. We met some repeat guests who mentioned that maintenance had slipped - said balconies, patios and patio furniture used to be swept daily and bugs were never a problem.

Food - Yes there is an onsite restaurant/bar along with a beach bar however the food is not a strength - just a very limited menu of your typical heat and serve frozen bar food - burgers, fries, chicken wings and fingers, hot dogs, mini pizzas. After one meal here we dined elsewhere or self-catered. Cocktails are good, bartender is friendly and Viola's atmosphere is fun, laid back.

Beachfront - neighbouring hotels have staked out their beach with buoys and since Sunrise does not do this, jet ski peddlers and boat ride excursions use the Sunrise Beach area as their pick up and drop off zone. Not only is this noisy and smelly, its also dangerous as the jet skis in particular get awfully close to folks in the water. Sunrise beach was littered. Anyone on beach can access the Sunrise staircase that leads to the pool and villa area.

Overall we had a nice vacation and appreciated the laid back atmosphere. When it comes to cleanliness and maintenance though, we'd have to say Sunrise was too laid back for us. If they can address this, this would be a top notch spot worth a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropicalTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBVSunLover, Owner's Representative at Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
We are so thankful for your very helpful review. The detail provided will help us to address each issue that caused discomfort during your stay at Sunrise Beach. The lack of cleanup from a wedding in a timely manner is particularly unacceptable.

Good news is on the horizon pertaining to the beach; we will soon have a roped off area as the other properties do. Certain government limitations prevent us from doing it at this time. We anticipate and anxiously await the rubber stamp to hit the paper any day and are ready to begin installation.

We are pleased to hear you had a nice vacation. We will definitely work on the issues you outlined and look forward to having you as a guest in the future as much as we enjoyed having you this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottrop, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed at the Sunrise Beach Villas during Thanksgiving week in November 2009. Beach is great and the villas are situated in a pretty nice compex. At a price of 450 USD per night however, you would certainly expect a much better job in cleanliness and painting/ maintenance jobs. Again, for half the price this would be the perfect location but at the price they charged us it was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattfromStJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBVSunLover, Owner's Representative at Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2010
Dear Matt,

We are always pleased to hear what our guests have to say, as we wish to provide the best vacation possible. We are disappointed to hear that there were cleanliness and maintenance issues during your stay in November. Any time our staff does not meet the cleanliness expectation of a guest, it is a concern to us. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience this caused and be assured that this has been addressed with our staff.

We take pride in the affordability of our villas and are perplexed to hear that you felt you did not receive value for the villa you rented. The ability to prepare your own meals remains one of the most praised ways to save money by many of our guests. We run many specials on our website during the year and invite everyone to keep an eye out for a bargain.

Thank you for your review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
5.4 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas

Property: Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas
Address: Casino Dr, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet beach front hotel and villas to suit all budgets. One bedroom hotel units with efficiency kitchens and private bedroom, up to 5 bedroom 4,000 sq. ft. luxury villas. Viola's Bar and Cafe is within steps of both pools, with Archie's On The Beach to serve refreshments beachside. A 5 minute walk to the Atlantis Casino complex, world class and Bahamian style shopping, and multitudes of restaurants. Historic downtown Nassau 1.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Clubs And Villas Hotel Paradise Island
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Resort
Sunrise Beach Clubs And Villas Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing