We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantis on a budget....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband & myself celebrated his birthday in the Bahamas this year. 3 nights, 4 days. After much research & TA reading, we decided that the Comfort Suites was the way to go. They have reasonable room rates, and include breakfast. Yes, not the fanciest breakfast, but we are not picky people, so we were happy with what they offered.

Hotel: Clean, friendly & helpful staff, and most importantly, it is literally across the street from Atlantis. We were shocked @ how close we were!I figured out why people write about hidden charges. If you book your hotel room through a 3rd party, you see a huge difference in price as opposed to the price the Comfort Suites offers online on their direct website. If you book with them directly, the price you are given, includes ALL of the taxes & surcharges already. The other websites do not include this. So when I checked in & out, there were no surprises fees!!

Food & drinks: Aside from breakfast, we never ate @ the hotel. We ate @ Anthony's one night, food was good, portions were large. Spent about $100, and that included one appetizer, two entrees, two drinks. We ate @ the Bahamian Club, and the food was delicious. Bill came out to about $200, and that included two drinks, two entrees & they sang my husband happy birthday which was the best part for us.

Transportation: We used Cheryl Ferguson, many TA reviews mentioned her. The transfers were on time, with someone waiting for us @ the airport, mind you, our flight landed 1/2 early. Cars were clean, and drivers were friendly. $40 to hotel (that included a stop to the super market), and $35 back to airport.

And now.... Atlantis:

Atlantis is probably one of the best times we have ever had as adults. It isn't just for children, even though it is geared towards family. We had the most amazing time! There is something for everyone, and the facilities are wonderful. I read so many reviews where people say everything is so expensive, so I went in thinking the worse. However, if you live in a big city, that is what you pay @ Atlantis. We are New Yorkers, we live in NYC, and we paid NYC prices @ Atlantis, so honestly, we were ok with the prices. We ordered lunch everyday @ the resort, with a few cocktails, and averaged about $75 a day, which for us really wasn't that bad. I will say this, I can see why most people think it's expensive especially if you are traveling with a large group. Things add up quickly. The resort is cash free, so you either charge things to the room or pay with a credit card. The walk to get your bracelet for the day is a bit tedious, but then again, it's a small price to pay & you get some exercise. The resort itself is enormous, but what my husband and I did was rent a small locker for the day ($9), do the popular water slides in the morning (9am), and then hung out at one of the pools. The beach was beautiful & you can see 5 feet down, and still see your toes!!

Tips:
Bring a collapsible cooler ON WHEELS from home. There is a lot of walking involved, and to lug around a heavy cooler is exhausting. Buy munchies @ the market or bring them from home. We went to market on the way to the hotel, purchased a bottle of Vodka for $19, and some Coronas 3 for $6.99 (now that's expensive), cranberry juice ($5), bottled water & chips. I will say that had we not done this, we probably would of spent a lot more @ Atlantis, so I'm glad we did that.

All in all, you can most definitely have an amazing vacation here that will not break the bank. It has been one of the best trips we have ever been on & will undoubtedly return!! The Comfort Suites & Atlantis gets an "A" in our book :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MatyC517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. I have shared them with our employees. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Shan Sands
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 2,643 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited Comfort Suites from 7/4-7/11 from Boston. We were traveling with 6 people 3 adults, 3 children 4,9,11.The hotel is next to Beach/Coral towers but much cheaper. We chose the comfort suites because it included Access to Atlantis, free breakfast and free Wi-Fi. The hotel was clean staff was friendly and would stay there again.
Here are some tips if your planning to go:
Bring some cash for taxi's & Nassau, but most places only take credit card or charge to your room in Atlantis
Buy water at the village grocer across street. Water is 3.50 a bottle in the waterpark, it was $20 for 24 bottles at store
Be prepared to walk, if your children still use a stroller but not all the time Bring it! (they will be tired at end of day) I know your thinking it's a water park how big can it be it's a 20-25 min walk to get from the crazy river to lazy river. There is quite a walk to Royal towers to get your wrist band each morning for Aquaventure (your whole party needs to be there, so unfortunately Mom or dad cant walk over ahead of time to get the wristbands.)
Food is expensive $10-15 for a burger (although my husband & I shared one with fries and it was enough) All food is expensive on Paradise Island another example in Marina Village 1 scoop of Ben & Jerry's is $8.50 US
Bring snacks in your luggage (I used a Rubbermaid container so it didn't get crushed)
Book a taxi ahead of time, our flight had 2 delays from Boston it was nice to walk out to ground transportation to hotel for 6 people (3 adults/3children) it was $45 without tip we used Cheryl's taxi.
We found some pools at Atlantis to be very busy at certain times of day (It's an excursion for Cruise ships) and other pools almost empty.
Comfort Suites is across the street from Dunkin donuts (village plaza) & starbucks at Marina village. So it's handy when use just want to walk around at night. We also used the Comfort Suites pool at night (the water park itself closes at 7p).
We felt it was a very relaxing vacation. We would go to water park all day then come back to hotel a night.

Room Tip: Some rooms are close to Atlantis walkway (read busy but convenient)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank beachbumfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

We are happy that your enjoyed your Vacation in Paradise. We will continue to work at ensuring our guests' stay at Comfort Suites Paradise Island is comfortable and memorable.

Warm Regards,

Shan Sands
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked two rooms for a group of five! Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable! This hotel is great value because the room includes passes to the Atlantis! Now I understand why people on a cruise book a room here rather than paying the daily admission.

The breakfast was OK... Nothing fancy but the price was right. Free Internet access was a plus! The only poor experience we had was the wait for food when eating dinner.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the upper floor... The main hallway was very active and could hear people walking above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lohanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the fact that you took the time out to share your stay. We look forward to having you visit Comfort Suites Paradise Island again.

Warm Regards,

Shan Sands
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We, like many booked our trip based on previous reviews which were, in general, positive. We were there ( 2 adults and 2 teenagers ) from July 6th to the 12th. Most people come here because it includes a full breakfast every morning. Everyone's tastes are different, so I want to basically detail what they offer for breakfast. Breakfast that is offered every day is exactly the same. You have a choice of scrambled eggs, sausages, some kind of grits on a few days that we didn't go near, bread, small danish, pieces of supermarket french toast squares, juices, coffee (cold on 4 of the 7 days), apples, bananas on 3 of the days, and a choice of frosted flakes, corn flakes and one other. If you like bacon, they offered it on 1 of the seven days, and it was fatty and hard to chew. Hash browns were not offered at all. Pancakes were not offered. Waffles, like they give you in Marriott's, where you make your own, were not offered. By the 3rd day, the kids would only eat at the Dunkin Donuts next door. So, if you have kind of low standards, then this is the place for you. The front desk people seem friendly until you actually ask for something, and then they give you a hard time. On the night before we were scheduled to leave, the hotel fire alarm was falsely going off from 1:30 am until 2:50 am, and it was impossible to sleep. So when we checked out Saturday we really needed that extra hour sleep. Checkout time is only 11 am. So we asked for an extra hour and they said NO. "Sorry, we are 100% booked, and you must leave at 11". I mean seriously, even if they ARE booked, check in time is 3pm, and many people come well after that since flights are coming in from all over the world. It meant absolutely nothing for them to show a little professional courtesy, so this showed me right there, that they could care less about there guests, and it was all about "give me your money and get out".

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank silverguy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, General Manager at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Comfort Suites Paradise Island.
We are sorry for what we offer at breakfast. They are our company standard breakfast items that are offered daily. I also apologize for the Front Desk staff not willing to help with a problem. Your late check-out request should have been honored, if only for an additional hour due to the fact that we were running full and need to get all rooms ready for 3pm, especially after the false alarm the night before. We do pride ourselves on satisfying our guest needs. We will share your comments with them so as to avoid another valued guest of our from experiencing the same thing.
We trust that you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guests in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Booked a one night stay at the Comfort Suites to gain access for the day to Atlantis and their water park Aquaventure. Was on a cruise to Nassau - took taxi to Comfort Suites, checked in and out at the front desk and off to the Atlantis which is just across the street. Hotel front desk staff were very friendly and provided great instructions for where we should go in the Atlantis for our entry wrist bands. Overnight room price was half the cost of obtaining a one day pass directly from Atlantis (Atlantis one day pass was $149/person)

Comfort Suite lobby was very nice and common areas and hallways appeared clean and well kept. I would visit again, this time, for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank patmatleo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We aprreciate the fact that you took the time out to share your stay. We look forward to having you visit Comfort Suites Paradise Island again.

Warm Regards,

Shan Sands
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked this property on the basis of positive reviews we read on trip advisor. Unfortunately our experience was most definitely not the same as those that have written positive reviews. We travelled from Australia, very excited about our vacation in the Bahamas. We paid what we believe was a considerable amount and expected a standard of accommodation and service that was in line with this price. Unfortunately Comfort Suites did not deliver this. We we're put in a dark room looking out onto the driveway on the ground floor. The rooms and property in general are very tired and desperately need updating. I would say this property is 3 star at the very most. Upon arriving disappointed to our room, we called the front desk and asked to be relocated to another room and were told we needed to come down to the front desk to ask for this. We were also advised that if we wanted two beds it would be an additional $25 per day. There were also a number of 'additional' charges which 'may' be applied including $5 daily cleaning fee and $15.95 energy fee. This should all be articulated when booking.

The service we received was terrible, and were not told about a $400 holding deposit that was placed on our credit card. This took a number of days to be reimbursed after we checked out... Which limited financial access for our onward travel commitments. This holding deposit should have been articulated to us from the beginning also. Two of the front desk staff offered plenty of attitude and little helpfulness.

The vending machines ran out of bottled water and no assistance was offered by the staff whatsoever. Even a simple recommendation on where we could buy water wouldn't have gone astray.

The included breakfast was average. Healthy food options surrounding the property are VERY limited, unless you're willing to pay a lot of money. If you're looking for reasonably priced food, you'll be limited to Quizznos, Starbucks, Johnny Rockets or pizza. Everything else is extremely overpriced and you'll need to book as the restaurants get crowded.

Unfortunately our stay at Comfort Suites tainted our Bahamas experience. We will not be returning again.



Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Breezy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, General Manager at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Comfort Suites Paradise Island.
We do apologize for all that you have experienced with us as it relates to the cost of your stay with us. We try to convey these costs at the time of booking so as to ensure that our guests are quite aware of them. The banks do put a hold on your credit card for a period of time depending on whether it's a debit or credit card. We have asked the beverage company to place more water in the vending machines for our guests.
once again we do apologize for not meeting your expectations but do sincerely hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Let me start by saying that Paradise Island is one of the most expensive places for EVERYTHING. That being said, Comfort Suites offers a great value for the location, amenities, etc. The breakfast is free and I would say average, but hey it's free... The staff was super friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Businesstraveler3169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the fact that you took the time out to share your stay. We look forward to having you visit Comfort Suites Paradise Island again.

Warm Regards,

Shan sands
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.4 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
1.7 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
5.2 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Paradise Island

Address: Paradise Island Dr, SS 6202, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $184 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Suites Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Bahamas
Paradise Island Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Atlantis
Comfort Suites Nassau
Comfort Suites Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing