We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot beat location and ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
BIRMINGHAM, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cannot beat location and ammenities”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here March 17 -22nd with our 2 sons (5 and 7). We were very happy here. My kids loved it and it was a short walk to Atlantis. The free breakfast was nice since everything in the Bahamas is really expensive but that is common in the Caribbean. Everyone was very nice at this hotel and our room was always clean. Perfect for families wanting to save money and still enjoy Atlantis. We would definitely stay here again (my kids are already trying to get us to commit to next spring break).

Room Tip: We had room 488 and did not hear a lot of traffic since it was up and away from the route to Atlanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDAVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to write about your stay. We look forward to having you and your children visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    1,137
    366
    121
    83
See reviews for
1,227
633
49
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The reviews here were so helpful to us, that I thought I needed to add one. We stayed March 24-29. We had booked through Costco Travel, which was a fantastic deal, as included in their package was First Class domestic flights and all tips, taxes, and fees were covered. We were transported to and from the airport via Majestic. Upon arrival, there was no line and we were in our room in less than five minutes. Having read reviews here we knew to call in advance to request a renovated room and a microwave. We ended up having to ask for the microwave again upon check-in, but not a big deal, as they delivered it to our room right away. We stayed in Room 360, which was just upstairs from the front desk. It had a beautiful view, and was quiet and clean. The hideaway bed was nice as our two teenagers did not have to share a bed. We did the safe each night (big enough to fit iPads, smart phones, etc.) and were not charged for it.

There are times in which the water gets hot and cold. We found this to be a very minor inconvenience. It seemed to happen around 5-6 PM, which we guessed was when most of the guests were using showers, after being at Atlantis all day. Breakfast was not spectacular but decent enough. We didn't realize that there were two locations for breakfast and did not eat by the pool until our very last day. This we regretted, as it was much more spacious.

Getting the Atlantis wristband was never an issue, as we never waited in line longer than 5 minutes. The chairs at Atlantis go quick, so it's a good idea to get up early, eat breakfast, get your wristbands, pick up towels, and lay claim to chairs. We brought a suitcase full of snack as things are expensive. On our first night we went across the street to the convenience store and picked up a case of water for $20. A six pack of soda was $6; our kids liked the "real" Coke Classic sold in the Bahamas. On a related note, the liquor store does not have great hours, but I found the prices to be fairly reasonable. Anyway, we brought a foldable cooler in our suitcase and carried that to Atlantis each day. Also, on the first day we each bought fountain drinks, which are refillable, and then brought the cup back to the room, cleaned it, and reused it each day (yes a little cheap, but it beat paying their astronomical drink prices each day).

We were obviously on a budget, so I can recommend a couple places which gave a lot of food for a good price. We ordered pizza at Anthonys three times. A large cheese is $19 and the drinks at the bar are not unreasonable either, as they are quite generous on the liquor in the mixed drinks. Also, the Green Parrot was a lot of fun, in a great location, and whole lot of food (try the Conch 'Po Boy). Across the bridge, check out the Poop Deck, which has free appetizers and drink specials during Happy Hour. It is a pretty unique place, but meal prices were a bit steep.

Overall it was a fantastic week. We actually wondered what amenities were available in the lower end Atlantis rooms that were not in the Comfort Suites. A few things that we would have liked to do if we had more time: (1) Take advantage of more of the things at Atlantis, besides the water park. We ended up not having time to enjoy the casino, movies are shown nightly, which is is included with your wristband. Makes sure you get the daily schedule when you pick up your wristband. (2) Go on a snorkeling trip. This is a must do in the Caribbean, but we just ran out of time. We did do Blue Lagoon dolphin swim and sea lion interaction, which was cheaper than Atlantis. (3) Explore more of Nassau. We walked across the bridge one afternoon and then ended up walking all the way down to the cruise ship area, and then walked back. We should have taken the water taxi ($4 one way) as we ended up doing five miles round trip! Highlight of the walk though was some beautiful pics from the top of the bridge.

If you are looking to do Atlantis on a budget, this is the place to stay. As we have traveled all over the world, we can tell you that this was a great bargain.

Room Tip: Call in advance and ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank novahawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortsuitespi, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Paradise Island, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in in Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is a great value if you want to go to Atlantis. Atlantis has a lot to do for all ages. The waterpark is great, the kids club according to my 10 and 12 year olds was fantastic. We even got an impromptu behind the scenes tour by the girl who was feeding the exhibits. However, the BAD part of the hotel is that the rooms are noisy, no matter where you are. The breakfast food is the average hotel food and I would skip the lunch place Carusoes. We ate there once and it wasn't worth going back. The water pressure and temperature control in the bathroom is set to variable so hot/cold is the norm. We also were moved after our first night as our first room was in the older section of the hotel and there was a strong "cleaner" smell in the hall. The put us in the new section right of the lobby. The beds were newer, didn't feel the springs like the first room, and painted in a bright white which made it look nicer. I did have to tell the front desk to stop slamming the door to the employee area at least 3 times each night as we could hear it slam in our room and it would slam all through the night, yes, even at 3 am. The GOOD side is that the room was clean, we felt 100% safe and the beds were comfortable. We met some friends here who were staying at the Atlantis property and they spent 3 times as much and were not that impressed with Atlantis either. The only thing you get with Atlantis is the ocean views, which you definitely don't get at Comfort Suites. Food on the island is expensive no matter where you go. Anthony's was good for dinner, but I would pass on the chopped salad. There is also a great little sandwich shop downtown called Gregories by the straw market that had freshly made sandwiches and pastries that my family of 4 ate at for $20. We may come back here but may also look around, but I am doubtful I will find a better deal. By the way the walk is only 5 minutes at the most.

Room Tip: Ask for the new side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at Comfort suites for 7 nights, March 6-12. After a nice drive from the airport we just wanted to get our room and then get out to explore. Our room wasn't ready so the staff gave us a room to change in and stored our luggage. We had lunch at Anthony's across the street and then check out the pool at the hotel. It's not Atlantis by any means but it's a fine area to lounge and have a drink. The pool bartender is extremely friendly. Ask for a Goombay Smash. My wife loved it.

Now for pros and cons:

Pros

-When we got our room on the 3rd floor we found it to be spacious any very clean. The furniture looks a bit dated but in good condition. The bed was comfortable but the pull out couch wasn't great to sleep on, but the kids didn't seem to mind.

- fridge in the room is great for storing our snacks and drinks. Atlantis allows you to bring in food/drinks so we bought some at the store and carried them in each time to the water park to save a little.

- free wifi at the hotel was a bit slow but usually worked no problem. Better than most hotels I have stayed at on business in the US. We used a app called Tango and were able to call home for free using the hotels wifi

-Marina Village and Atlantis are a very short walk away and we visited it pretty much daily to hit the water park, aquarium or to just stroll before or after dinner. We discovered something new every day. The value of having access Atlantis' water park cannot be stressed enough if you have kids, or love water slides.

- staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on restaurants etc.

- the free breakfast is a great savings, even if I threatened to strangle anyone offering me sausages for breakfast after we left (see Cons).

- location is great, as mentioned Atlantis across the street, walking distance to water taxis to Nassau, tour boats etc. Across the street from non Atlantis shops, liquor store, grocery store, pharmacy, banks etc. Truly centrally located to everything on Paradise Island

Cons
- 7 straight days of Sausage being the only meat offered at breakfast. I heard one day they had bacon but I must have missed it. The oranges at breakfast were good but the bananas at times were a little green and the apples a little soft. Truly minor things to fix.

- the odd time the shower temp would flux and go from cold to hot. I have experienced this in 5 star hotels in Scottsdale so I wasn't too concerned but watch with the kids are in the shower. Never had a problem no hot water as others reported.


Other food notes from our trip to Nassau/Paradise Island
- we ate at Virgil's BBQ. Food was pretty good but we split a mixed meat platter, had a side of fries, 2 beers and 2 juices and it was $190. Ridiculous prices but so are most restaurants on PI.

-had a great lunch at Athena Cafe in Nassau. Food was nery good. my wife and I split a chicken dinner and it was enough for both of us.

- If you are able to explore a bit, try to find Goodfellow farms on Nassau. It's a working farm that has great lunches. We had Salmon and ribs. Our friends who live in Nassau took us there and it was a nice change from the usual tourist sots.

- we had a nice lunch at Andros at the fish fry. Be warned the meals are huge. We had spicy grouper and it was very good.

-Montegue Gardens was a great value. They will pay for your taxi to and from your hotel (its about 10 min away)Great service and good food. It's an older fine dining restaurant. Dinner for two adults and two chicken was $95. A great value compared to anything on PI.

- Spritz restaurant on Nassau was great food and laid back atmosphere. It's on a canal and next to a condo type building. Pizza was great as we're the pastas we had for dinner. Our friends live near by and it's their local restaurant they frequent weekly.

- Compass Point had great views on the ocean and the hotel attached is great with the colourful shacks. The food was okay but not a great value. My wife's fish was sent back undercooked and the kids chicken fingers were tasteless. The chef apparently didn't season the meat at all. My chicken was pretty good.

- the Marina Pizza was pretty good. My wife loved the spicy chicken pizza. We also had a few lunches pool side and the food was pretty good. We found once place near the kids pool area with grilled sandwiches. A nice change from hot dogs etc.

Overall we found the dining experience in PI and Nasau to be lacking in value. Food in the Bahamas was just okay but extremely expensive. That being said we knew that going in and had a few pleasant surprises.

In closing I would say that we would definitely stay again at Comfort Suites. It was great value place to lay our heads at night and when your throw in the location and access to Atlantis you can't go wrong.

BTW - we paid 200 US per night. Pretty good value for March break.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking Atlantis. No issues with noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Travelledone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Do NOT listen to negative reviews of this place! Our family of four just returned - we stayed for 4 nights over the US spring break. The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and having full access to Atlantis is key! The breakfast was good - something there for everyone. We saved over 1500.00 and were able to splurge on other activities.
The Comfort Suites is amazingly close to the Atlantis property - our room looked out at the Convention Center. Will definitely return!
Don't hesitate - save your money and enjoy.... :)

Room Tip: For easiest access to Atlantis, ask for a room in the West Wing, 3rd floor. Try not to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor, we ended up booking a stay at the Comfort Suites adjacent to Atlantis instead of at the actual Atlantis. I had actually already booked the trip through Atlantis directly, and had paid for half of it. The more I read about Atlantis and its' accomodations and the outrageous prices we were going to encounter while there just to feed ourselves, the more nervous I felt on spending so much just on the hotel and airfare. Our stay at the so-called Royal Tower was going to run about $3,000 for 5 nights. Your bill gets run up considerably by very large taxes and other fees. After the cold feet set in, I cancelled through Atlantis (only keeping the overpriced flight that was nonrefundable) and switched over to the Comfort Suites.

As you probably already know if you are reading this, Comfort Suites offers free access to the Atlantis property...that's right, free!!! This is such a wonderful benefit. I have read that cruise passengers book rooms here just for the passes, they are such a deal. I believe Atlantis charges upwards of $100 per person, per day for access to their property for the day for non -hotel guests. This is hard to believe when you can get a night at the comfort suites for as low as $50, depending on the day and time of year you go.

When you check in, you get a pink paper card that has your name and dates of stay that you take over to the Atlantis daily to get your wristband. You go to the same line as the actual guests, no need to feel ashamed. (yes, the Atlantis guests also have to wait in this line every day). Once you get your wrist band, you are free to run around and take advantage of everything the property has to offer, same as Atlantis hotel guests.

Plus, the comfort suites offers free continental breakfast. Mind you, it is pretty bad free breakfast. But, hello, it's FREE!! I have read plenty of reviews of people who have spent close to $40 a pop for a breakfast buffet at Atlantis, which I find ridiculous -most people can't eat more than a couple of eggs, toast and maybe some fruit, coffee and juice. I think Atlantis banks on you feeling nervous about taking out a second mortgage to foot your food bill after a week's stay, so they graciously offer a dining plan. I read reviews both for and against the dining plan, and ultimately couldn't decide if the dining plan was a good deal or not. If you stay at Comfort Suites, you won't have the dining plan option. There are some eating options in the area within walking distance for a nice dinner outside of Atlantis. You might want to take advantage of these options at some point. A lunch sized salad with grilled chicken is about $20 @ Atlantis -not counting tip and taxes or your drink.

The room itself was clean, comfortable enough, quiet, and adequate. The other patrons at the hotel looked to be all nice, normal people.. I believe the property has such a great reputation that it is attracting quality customers.

The Bahamas are nice - they are beautiful! But I don't believe a vacation to Atlantis is worth $5k or so for a week. We spent 11 nights on two islands in Hawaii and spent under $6k total, and that included three nights at a very expensive property on the North Shore. Staying at the Comfort Suites can help you balance out the high prices of Atlantis. It will afford you a very nice vacation at a reasonable price.

The reason for only a 3 out of 5 rating...we are a couple without children...so we didn't have kids to get entertained by all Atlantis had to offer. We were in the area due to a destination wedding. If we had our choice, we probably would have stayed at a different island and avoided Atlantis altogether. For a family with kids, the value in staying at this property is immeasurable.

One thing to note...the hotel staff are nice, but they work on Island time. We were given a couple of vouchers for a free drink at the bar because our room was not ready when we tried to check in (AFTER check in time). We had to sit at this bar for about 20 minutes before a bartender showed up to get a drink. This was in the middle of the day. Just be aware that you should expect some service delays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent a week at this Hotel, two rooms 7 people and not once did we get to take a hot shower. Phones did not work to call local numbers and one of our safes didn't work. If you don't mind waiting 60 minutes for a couple grill cheese sandwiches fell free to stay here. Guess in should count myself lucky as both our tbs worked, heard others complaining that they did have water/tv/safe.

On the positive side, staff was very friendly and bar tenders worked hard.

Will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.3 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph Collection
Atlantis, Beach Tower, Autograph...
#11 of 14 in Paradise Island
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
#13 of 14 in Paradise Island
4,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Paradise Island

Property: Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Address: Paradise Island Dr, SS 6202, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Family Hotel in Paradise Island
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Suites Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Bahamas
Paradise Island Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Atlantis
Comfort Suites Nassau
Comfort Suites Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing