We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We have just returned from a fabulous honeymoon at the One & Only Ocean Club. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a relaxed and luxurious holiday then come here- its amazing! Although it is fairly pricey it is definately worth it- particularly if like us, you are on honeymoon. All the staff are extremely attentive, especially our butlers who would do anything for us.
(petals and candles on the bed, filling up the bath etc!) We stayed in the Crescent Wing which is definately the nicest area of the hotel with gorgeous ocean views. The only disadvantage is that it is quite a walk from the pool, gym etc - but I would say its worth the walk! Bathroom is amazing!
Food in the dune is very good, as is the Pool Bar for lunch. We went to the Golf Club for breakfast a few times (take the complimentary escalade or bikes) which was excellent (better than dune).
Atlantis the complete opposite of the Ocean club- its very very busy and its HUGE! Its worth a visit. The new marina village is definately worth a visit. Our fave restaurant was Cafe Martinique and the Seafire Steak House was good too.
Out of the resort we tried Villagio- 30mins drive but worth it.
The ocean club is a fave with the celebs we here - whilst we were there we saw Lionel Ritchie, Teri Hatcher, Michael Bolton and Nicolette Sheridan who all seemed to be having a great time!

1  Thank UkSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 894 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2006

I just came back from a fabulous and luxurious week at the Ocean Club. This is my second visit to the One & Only Ocean Club and both times I was very impressed.
I stayed in the Hartford wing garden view which was very comfortable and well appointed. Our room faced the garden and we had lots of privacy. The service was excellent and my butler checked on me in the AM & PM to see if I neeed anything. One night we had a "romantic turndown" with flowers and candles without even requesting this be done.

Dining was great every meal. Dune was excellent as was the clubhouse and pool. There is a Friday night beach BBQ which was very nice as well. We ate at Nobu (Atlantis) and Seafire Steakhouse (Marina Village). The food at the Ocean Club was the best though.

The pool was impeccable with complementary sorbet service in the afternoon.

The beach was very beautiful and had very attentive beach service.
I can't say enough about the overall service at OC. They take this word very seriously. After the second day everyone called us by name.

One day we took a day trip to harbour Island on the Bo Hengy ferry. Harbour Island is a must do. Pink sands, we rented little golf carts to get around the island. Fun!

We would definitely go back to the Ocean Club.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

This place is so private and excellent for couple! I went to OO Club with my new wife 2 weeks ago June 19-22 and was EXCELLENT! We are a regular couple no millionaires, but no poors, just mid class citizens. We was a little nervous about what to expect.Our room was in the older Hartford wing and I was more than pleased with it. First we were in a tour with the front desk agent he told me and showed me everything, very profesional. Second the room was veeeeeery private and quiet with a nice and very comfortable bed. The balcony of the room and the Garden are beautiful. The restroom, very clean and big, YES with "Shampoo and Azure soaps" in fact the shampoo came with a special bottle that the room maid refill every day. We had a nice TV with nice home theater, in fact one morning we rented movies from the DVD menu in our room. The pool was very nice, they have 2 pool, one family pool and one adult pool with view to the gardens(the gardens are more big than the pictures) and the water from the adult pool is veeery clean and blue. The Butler...well...money talk baby. The Dune, expensive, but very nice. The Beach, like the sky. We spent like $1900.00 in 3 night between room, tips and food, but we are very happy and satisfied. After the OO Club we jumped into the Atlantis and that is another review. If you are going to Nassau keep in mind that everything overall is expensive. For us a unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank giomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Just got back last night - although the grounds are gorgeous and it can't get any more relaxing and quiet, I was so disappointed in the hotel. The room was very nice - but I expected lovely ammenities like shampoo, conditioners and lotions in the bathroom - nada! didn't bring shampoo and washed our hair with shower gel!!! The air conditioning in our room made a clanging noise everytime it circulated on. It woke us many times during the night. I called housekeeping as soon as we woke up. They fixed it sometime during the day, but no one ever said a word to us. The second night the smoke alarm started going off. Although they had it fixed within an hour (it was faulty and they just removed it), we were certainly inconveniece (again). At the very least, I think the manager should have apologized or said something to us. I told about 4 people that we didn't sleep well the first night because of the air conditioning - everyone just sort of said "thats too bad"...
As far as the butler goes, well, we heard from him for the first time as we were leaving for dinner the 2nd night- asked us if we were ok and did we need reservations. I reminded him we had already been there 2 days and had made our own. we never heard from him again.
Loved being able to use the facilites of Atlantis and then escape the craziness to the quiet of our hotel....that was the best of all worlds.
The champagne and chocolates are lovely..but the details seem to fall thru the cracks. At this price, there are many other hotels who would make sure to attend to their guests much better!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My husband, 11 year-old daughter and I just got back from a wonderful week at the One & Only Ocean Club. The grounds are truly spectacular - tropically lush and perfectly manicured. Our room was an upper level room in the newer Crescent Wing and was both beautiful with a fantastic view. We particularly loved the dark wood floors, the louvred doors to the patio and the ceiling fans both in the room and on the patio. It was hard to get our daughter out of the beautiful mosaic-tiled tub.

The service was extremely friendly and we never lacked for anything. Dune Restaurant was beautiful and the food and service were wonderful. As others have said, breakfast was the biggest disappointment so we finally started ordering the pastry basket with croissants, brioche, toast, danish and mufins for room service every morning. We would go to the Library for the complimentary coffee and the sit and enjoyed having breakfast on our own beautiful balcony each day. This was a cheaper and much more satisfying way to start the day than eating breakfast in the restaurant.

We took our daughter to Atlantis one morning, using the always present Escalade service provided by the hotel, and after 3 hours, could not wait to get away from the crowds and the noise. They are adding a whole additional section to Atlantis, so the whole time we sat by the Mayan Temple Pool with the big slides, the construction noise was nonstop and unbearable. We were thrilled to get back to the beauty and serenity of the Ocean Club.

The family pool was great and the beach was fantastic. There were only the slightest bit of waves in the calm, turquoise water and almost no undertow, so it was completely safe for our daughter to play in the water by herself with us watching from the beach.

We did not really use our butler. Any special requests we had, the concierge took care of instantly, so it just wasn't necessary for us.

The only negative I have to say at all, is that once you leave the resort, the rest of this area of the Bahamas is just not that pretty. Nassau is just not as picturesque as say Bermuda or St. Thomas. It was also very buggy whenever we left the resort. Obviously, they must spray for insects at the resort, because we never had the slightest problems with flies or mosquitos there.

In all, we had a wonderful time. Lionel Ritchie and Teri Hatcher were staying there with their families the same time we were, and they also seemed to be having a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

We had a great visit, staff (except for concierge/check in team) was EXCEPTIONAL. Beach & pool & grounds were beautiful. Pools never crowded. The food was great but WAY too overpriced. We would probably not go back just because the food was so expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KEWLBEANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Just got back yesterday from the One and Only Ocean Club; it was probably one of the best vacations I've had. I've travelled extensively in both the US and Caribbean, and enjoy staying in luxury properties. Ocean Club exceeded all epectations. The hub of the (pleasantly small) resort is the Library - beautifully, tastefully decorated and furnished. The Library also houses the bar, and complimentary coffee is served there all morning. We stayed in the newer Crescent Wing, which had double sliders onto a large balcony. teh room was HUGE, with dark wood floors and cream linens. The bathroom had a mosaic deep tub, double sinks, and a rain shower. The beach was pretty, with extremely attentive beach service. Service throughtout the resort was exceptional, especially at Dune, the fine dining restaurant, and both the Library bar and Dune bar. All public areas were spotless and wonderfully landscaped. Food was expensive, but not really out of line with the rest of the Caribbean. The food quality overall was excellent (breakfast was just mediocre- we often skipped it altogether, grabbing some apples and coffee in the Library.) Lunch on the beach was delicious. Our evening chocolate covered strawberries and champagne was fun. Spa treatments take place in a villa or in your room- there aren't any "treatment rooms" per se. The villa is partially outdoors, with a day bed, fountains and a jacuzzi- gorgeous. Car service to thetlantis runs every 15 minutes- we went several times for dinner, but couldn't wait to escape the screaming children and rude employees, and get back to our oasis. I would go back in a minute-

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sabine1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.1 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,659 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range: $900 - $2,895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection. With newly, enlarged Hartford Wing rooms and the addition of a new shoreline infinity pool and Ocean Grill, the resort has taken its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance to an unsurpassed level in the Caribbean. The resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambiance and posh exclusivity of a grand estate, welcoming generations of the world's travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island. Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff. Warm and inviting accommodation plus 3 and 4-bedroom residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten. One&Only Ocean Club is a playground for world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing