We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely suite, lousy service, indifferent staff, scruffy pool area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One & Only Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
One & Only Ocean Club
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely suite, lousy service, indifferent staff, scruffy pool area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our suite was lovely, clean and beautifully furnished, the grounds and location are also lovely, sadly the rest of the experience at the One&Only was let down with indifferent staff, the breakfast service was a joke, both restaurants lack any sort of ambience with staff who need serious customer relations training. The shuttle service works well and thank goodness for some great local restaurants and the Atlantis, at least there was a choice even if not your preferred choice. The pool area is tired with broken paving, tiles and a dirty tide mark all around the water line and the service around the pool leaves an awful lot to be desired, the staff couldn't wait to pack up.
Certainly not a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l4wsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_C10521, General Manager at One & Only Ocean Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest
I will contact you via email with my contact info so I can request a time that i may call you to discuss your entire experience.
Sincerely
John Conway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    132
    75
    52
    51
See reviews for
159
355
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The setting, landscaping and amenities of the property was only surpassed by the caliber of service throughout and for our entire stay. They even graciously and readily accomodated our unexpected request for a late check-out due to flight problems.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleeflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our second stay at the Ocean Club. Our first stay last year was incredible. This time was disappointing. We found the level of service had dropped, especially in the dining areas. Pool service at lunch was extremely slow. Our favourite restaurant Dune proved to be not only slow, but the waiter took no interest in our overall dining experience and the maitre d was rude. For the cost of this resort we felt let down and will not go back next year. The usual, very friendly Bahamian atmosphere was missed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sakcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 week at this over-the-top property in mid-January.
We took advantage of the 'stay 7/pay 5' night offer.
The room was on the small side, but our beautifully furnished balcony added to the additional space it gave us.
The property is intimate and beautifully maintained. The staff always greets you and simply can't do enough for you. The fine restaurant "Dune" was great!
Breakfasts were superb!
The pool has a mini Versailles Gardens on the one end to view or walk the grounds.
My complaints would be the nerve to automatically add $10/day gratuity for housekeeping service.
You'd think that @ the rate of $1,000+/nite + $200/nite taxes -- that this $10/day might be absorbed by the Hotel. Incidentally, we always leave a cash tip for housekeeping, regardless.
They actually charged $1.99 for all my local calls - which they agreed to remove when I complained.
A property of this calibre should not be caught up in nicle-and-diming!
Otherwise, would love to return, but only if their rates drop.

Room Tip: Hartford Wing -- 2nd floor, Oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cre8ev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We travelled here mid September 2012. The grounds were beautiful and we had a beautiful ocean view room. It was picture perfect! However this was considered off season and we were very disappointed that most of the amenities they offered were not available to us. Most of the hotel was shut down while they refurbish. They should have stated that before booking. There was only one restaurant open at the entire resort and they had very few spa appointments available. We called before and after our arrival and was never able to reach anyone by phone to make an appointment. No one bothered calling us back until the day we were checking out (how convenient). Service at the pool was very slow. Because of this I will not go back. Bad timing as it appears to be a nice hotel. Customer service was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank get2sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath, ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband & I stayed at the One and Only Ocean Club in June 2012. We had a beautiful spacious room in the Crescent wing, overlooking gardens with hammocks slung between palm trees & looking out to the ocean.

I can't fault the room, clean, airy, spacious, large bathroom - we found a lovely fruit basket on arrival. Champagne & chocolate strawberries were delivered every afternoon. Large sized Molton Brown toiletries - replenished daily. Wi-fi in the room. Our only issue - the safe got stuck in the locked mode & the maintenance man was unable to repair it. It had to be broken into & a new safe delivered. This was accomplished with a minimum of fuss.

The food was good - but be prepared to pay high prices. We found better value at breakfast by ordering from the a la carte menu rather than the buffet breakfast. Be prepared for quite a wait for breakfast. Leave plenty of time if you chose a la carte.

Great service on the beach - sunbeds carried to where you wish to sit, towels arranged, ice-buckets brought over, waiters available for drinks. Sun cream & magazines available on the beach steps. The beach itself is wonderful. Warm waters, clean sands.

The spa was a bit of a let down. The private villa was beautiful but the massage was nothing special.

The shuttle service to and from Atlantis was excellent. Visiting Atlantis made us glad we were staying at the Ocean Club. The room key from the Ocean Club gave us free access to all areas of the Atlantis resort.

We took a trip out to Stuart's Cove to go on the underwater scooters - great fun &. real experience even if my control of the scooter left a lot to be desired!

Room Tip: Choose the crescent wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My boyfriend treated me to this great resort for my birthday last year and I was mesmerized by the personal touches and attention upon arrival. 24 hr butler was a nice touch as well. Our room was located ocean side, so the view was amazing! Not to mention, the patio attached which we spent countless hours sipping on champagne and enjoying the breeze. The hotel itself, is kept up very well and if we had any issues they seemed to be taken care of within the hour. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast (included with our stay) and each time was prepared well! The butlers we're gracious without being intrusive and even decorated our room for my birthday while we were walking the grounds which I especially liked. The concierge and staff were very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and explore as well. All in all, I have no complaints about the service, hotel or overall experience...It was a great way to spend my birthday and hope to return in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirl_90245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.7 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Cove Atlantis, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
2.3 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One & Only Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One & Only Ocean Club

Property: One & Only Ocean Club
Address: One Casino Drive, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One & Only Ocean Club 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the deep blue of an endless Bahamian sky, wrapped in the turquoise waters of an exuberant sea, One&Only Ocean Club nestles peacefully along a shore of delicate white sand beach...a treasured sanctuary of privileged perfection. With newly, enlarged Hartford Wing rooms and the addition of a new shoreline infinity pool and Ocean Grill, the resort has taken its legendary sophistication and contemporary elegance to an unsurpassed level in the Caribbean. The resort was once the private estate of A&P heir Huntington Hartford II. Today, this alluring beachfront hideaway reflects the glamorous ambiance and posh exclusivity of a grand estate, welcoming generations of the world's travelling elite. Expansive manicured lawns and towering coconut palms provide an enchanting backdrop to the pristine beaches of Paradise Island. Here, service is elevated to a fine art form by a gracious staff. Warm and inviting accommodation plus 3 and 4-bedroom residential-style villas are ideal for couples and families alike. The dining options at One&Only Ocean Club are renowned and unforgettable featuring the imaginative cuisine of chef Jean-George Vongerichten. One&Only Ocean Club is a playground for world-class golf, tennis, spa, and off property water-sports. The spectacular blue waters of the Caribbean are the elixir of Bahamian life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, BookIt.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your One & Only Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One & Only Ocean Club Hotel Paradise Island
One And Only Ocean Club
One Only Ocean Hotel
Ocean Club Bahamas
One Only Ocean Resort
One Only Bahamas
One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas/Paradise Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing