We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim with the dolphins”
Review of Dolphin Cay

Dolphin Cay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sometimes the best way to describe something is by saying what it isn't. Dolphin Cay isn't an aquarium, it's not an entertainment facility, and it doesn't stage marine shows. Opened in 2007 in response to a need to provide a safe haven for 16 stranded dolphins whose home was destroyed by Hurricane Katrina, Dolphin Cay is one of the world's largest open-air, man-made marine mammal habitats. Located on the west side of the Atlantis, Paradise Island property, the 14-acre environment includes an 11-acre lagoon complete with coves and sandy beaches, 7 connected "residential" pools, a state-of-the-art education center, an animal rescue-rehabilitation hospital, an animal pharmacy, a quarantine, and a separate sea lion center. Dolphin Cay is an accredited member of the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA), Alliance of Marine Mammal Parks and Aquariums (AMMPA), and the International Marine Animal Trainers' Association (IMATA). Through its partnerships with the University of Florida's School of Veterinary Medicine and University of Miami's Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, Dolphin Cay plays an active role in the development of the advanced research and knowledge about marine mammals. Every visit to Dolphin Cay supports the Atlantis Blue Project Foundation, creating and promoting solutions for a wide range of marine conservation challenges from coral reef degradation to marine species in decline.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swim with the dolphins”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There was nothing to dislike about interacting with these beautiful animals. It was a great experience and I would definately do this again!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori_T610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,095
    465
    199
    93
    62
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well u can almost see them”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

First off the dolphin experience thay say u can watch it! Well if u get thear early u can fit into the little area to watch people who paid a lot $$$ to do basically the same thing as we are doing ! So if you want to see the dolphins get thear early!!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for first-timers, but pricey!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was my second visit to Dolphin Cay, but this time with my 7 year old daughter. For her, it was perfect. We got a free tote, and the pre-show movie was really fun for her and kids of all ages. After a brief lesson, our trainer took us to meet our dolphin. She was a young female who kept attracting another dolphin. It was probably frustrating for the other folks who kept losing their dolphin, but it ended up being double the pleasure for us! We got to see dolphins courting right in front of our toes. The cay is crystal clear, clean, and contained, so it eases a bit of anxiety. Unfortunately, they gouge you on the photos. I think I paid $75 for five. Yep, five. They don't allow you to bring your own, so you're stuck.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 75peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shallow Water Dolphin Encounter”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I visited this facility on Feb. 9, 2013 and found it to be alot of fun. The TV monitor was broken and one of the staff came and talked to our group--alittle hard to hear but TVs do tear up, so they did their best. The actual time that you spend one on one with the dolphins is maybe 10 minutes. One thing that everyone should know-- You cannot take your camera in the water. A photographer is snapping pictures that are availabe for purchase in the gift shop after the encounter. The cheapest package is 1 5x7 and 4 4x6 pictures for 70 dollars.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank darcarr0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Shallow Water Interaction was Great”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The facilities are wonderful. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. You'll spend about 30 mins with a dolphin, with about 5 mins of you actually one-on-one interacting with the dolphin. I felt like the time allotted was perfectly fine. It's very expensive, so you likely won't feel like it's a "good value," but nothing is a good value at Atlantis :) You'll still enjoy yourself. I felt a bit guilty knowing that these dolphins are trained to act like little pets for our enjoyment. But I do believe that they are very well cared for. Be forewarned -- the pictures are really expensive. The photo pricing was the one place where I thought Atlantis went way overboard.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JasonTarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Cay also viewed

Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Dolphin Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing