We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day ever!! Swimming with pigs! ”
Review of Harbour Safaris

Harbour Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Harbour Safaris has many different options available, including visiting the Swimming Pigs from Nassau, Exuma Excursions, and private charters. Swimming Pigs Full-Day Adventure: We'll travel through the Northern Exuma chain all the way down to Big Majors Cay, where you'll get an experience like none other - feed and play with the legendary Bahamian Swimming Pigs! Our adventure continues with lunch at Staniel Cay (where you can interact with nurse sharks) and back up the Exuma chain, stopping to admire the native rock iguanas in Allen's Cay. The tour lasts approximately 8-9 hours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

My fiancé and I were fortunate enough to visit from Boston to the beautiful Bahamas in August and when we booked our stay in Nassau I knew right away we just HAD to book the swimming with pigs. (I'm obsessed with these animals!) I'm so glad harbour safaris had a slot available to do this excursion. I would recommend booking it in advanced to be sure you get a chance to see the pigs! This was hands down the best experience and part of our vacation. The two men who were in charge of taking us to Exuma were both soo friendly, and personable as well as knowledgeable! They kept checking in to make sure we felt safe and comfortable on the boat. Amazing amazing day! Definitely book with this company!!! You will not regret it one bit. The pigs are awesome, the food at the yacht club was great and the day in itself was amazing! Thanks guys for everything!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank joyc1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourSafarisLtd, Manager at Harbour Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Thank you so much for the stellar review! We're so happy you enjoyed your day with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"swimming pigs"
in 34 reviews
"grouper"
in 35 reviews
"nurse sharks"
in 20 reviews
"yacht club"
in 11 reviews
"day trip"
in 21 reviews
"boat ride"
in 19 reviews
"rock iguanas"
in 5 reviews
"staniel cay"
in 7 reviews
"sand bank"
in 4 reviews
"pig island"
in 6 reviews
"rib boat"
in 2 reviews
"major cay"
in 2 reviews
"long sleeves"
in 2 reviews
"sore backs"
in 2 reviews
"saddle seats"
in 2 reviews
"superb trip"
in 2 reviews
"bucket list"
in 8 reviews
Filter

216 - 220 of 301 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2016

The captain and first mate were great, and the time with the pigs was fun - just about the right amount, and we were provided with carrots and berries to feed them. Felt a bit rushed with the iguanas, and were not provided with food to feed them as we were with the pigs. Lunch was good, but service at the restaurant was really slow. My main (and really only) complaint was with the watercraft we took. It is not really a boat - it is more like a giant 12-person water ski (where you straddle a seat and hold onto handles) that you ride for about 2.5 - 3 hours each way. It is really, really uncomfortable and not at all what I expected. I'm not even sure how an older person could make the journey. I think people need to go into the excursion with eyes wide open about what the ride will be like so that they can be mentally - and physically - prepared.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 81katherinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourSafarisLtd, Manager at Harbour Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Sorry to hear your ride was uncomfortable - our boat is indeed a very specific style and we feature a lot of photos on our website so that people can see that. We're happy to hear the rest of your experience was enjoyable! Thanks for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Excellent day for this trip. The weather was great and the boat ride was smooth for the entire trip. Lunch was also very good and the boat captain was very knowledgeable and kept the passengers updated on the various sites. The seats were a little uncomfortable but other than that everything was very good. I would definitely recommend this trip.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarbourSafarisLtd, Manager at Harbour Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Thanks for coming on board and for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Date of experience: August 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2016

Date of experience: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Safaris also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Harbour Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing