We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Cafe Skans - CLOSED

Cafe Skans
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Good service on the main street. Great little breakfast place with a very friendly service and faster than the usual island speed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tricklic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    69
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice local place for a bite”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We visited Cafe Skans so I could try conch fritters, the one food I wanted to try in the Bahamas. The price was higher than the fritters offered at the touristy bar we passed but that was OK, sometimes you should just try a local cafe rather than a loud crazy bar. The service was friendly and the fritters were excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garyvnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casual lunch on Bay Street”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's similar to Greek-owned diners found elsewhere, serving breakfast and lunch. I ate lunch there twice. The conch chowder was fairly good the first time I visited, but I really liked the fresh conch salad and jerk chicken/pork combination I had the second time. The sharp vinegar dressing in the salad might be too strong for most tastes (not mine), although the conch was somewhat firm. My server warned me that the jerked meat was going to be spicy; and it was. Filled with the flavor of Scotch Bonnet peppers and other seasonings, I found the meal to be delicious (although with a bit too much allspice). I complimented the cook at the grill on my way out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pancakes yummmmm. Souse?”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Keep out of McDonalds, Starbucks or Dunkin' Donuts when you visit Nassau.
Blueberry pancakes & crispy bacon. Delish. Chicken souse, didn't look appetising but a lot tastier then it looks. If you're feeling daring and want to dive in to something Bahamian, give it a go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VW2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple local food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We wandered into Cafe Skans to try some local food instead of the cruise ship fare after our day spent in Nassau. The restaurant was clean and there were only a couple other diners when we went. We ordered the mahi mahi and the conch fritters and a couple of beers. Service was pretty quick, and the food was simple but fresh and very good. I wish in hindsight that we had tried the conch in another dish or two, because it is such a popular local ingredient. The fritters were so tasty, but it was hard to really pick out the flavor of the conch in them.
The meal was not very expensive and made a delicious lunch. We will go back if we are ever in Nassau again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridger6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Skans also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing