We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy over night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed July 18, 2014

If you are overnighting in Nassau Compass Point is only 10 minutes from the airport .
Fun bungalows and a lively restaurant. On the water, but not a great swimming beach.the pool is fine.
Great place to have lunch or dinner if you have a long airport connection
During the busy season there is a 2 night minimum

Room Tip: There is nothing else close to this hotel No shopping No museums
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 525 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a total of 3 nights. Reason we stayed here were based mainly of great reviews here on TA. I have been staying at a lot of hotels the recent years and I have some comments about my stay here at Compass Point.

First the reasons for actually staying here:
- Nice area! Laid back atmosphere and away from the "Las Vegas" hazzle at Paradise Island.
- Local bus just by the hotel gate.
- Ok small beach! Snorkling and swimming. Nice pier!

BUT (and I hope compass point reads this)
- Dirty pool with bugs, dirt and trash in it. Used and dirty pool towels from guests wasn't picked up by the staff, often beeing there for days.
- Dirty and old sun beds. Some of them were really gross.
- Receptioinst was rude and lazy. Asked here several questions regarding my stay and about the island. I felt like a burden asking question. Not professional!
- Good food in restaurant but way to long serving time. Had beers here one of the nights. Had to go to the bar to get beverages. The waiter was never around. When the bill came they still wanted 15% gratuity?
- Dirty and gross outside restrooms. Shards of glass on the floor for days and lights out in the stall. The paper towels were empty for 2 days!
- The resort has gardeners cutting grass and grooming flowers every hour of the day. This is great, but why not get the pool deck, lounge and hot tub in better shape? These are the things the guests actually used!

All in all: this is a beautiful place, but the staff and owners of this place has to go through their day to day routines in order to make it great!

Stayed: July 2014
27  Thank Flipcider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Quaint with a definite island charm and flavour and a hidden gem of a secret - the Spa! After spending a pleasant morning on the beach I decided to have lunch (excellent cracked conch) washed down with a very good local beer - Sands in my throat and sand in my toes! After lunch I decided that as it was too hot to go back to the beach I would give the Spa a try - and, oh boy, am I glad I did.Though rather small, this Spa has it all! The girl therapists who work there know exactly what they are doing and have obviously been highly trained. No wishy-washy back rub here. I opted for a deep tissue massage and by the end of it I was walking on air. Brilliant experience and one I would repeat in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

driving from Nassau airport ..you can NOT miss funky colorful roof tops of one Compass Point ! I always wondered , what was this place all about, so remote from your typical Bahamas attractions of Paradise island , Atlantis and the Bay street . Since "Sun City" people took over the island and turned it into Las Vegas team park , I just stopped going there , instead I discovered my own paradise on earth, Harbour Island in the Bahamas . This picturesque island can be reached by plane ride or by boats from Nassau and Compass point became my stop over , recharge, have a lunch before catching a plane ride to Spanish Wales or over night resting place before taking 8 am boat ride to Harbour Island. But Compass Point is more than " stepping stone" it has fantastic ocean front restaurant serving fresh catch of the day ..properly chilled vines ...it's beach is small, white sand with no crowds irritating you nor it has hamburger smells like the once of Atlantis or RIU..here you have complete privacy in your "Hut on the beach " and sun sets are spectacular , service coordinated and polite in that English colonial way . This is real Bahamas , last bastion of what this island used to be prior to real estate boom of 90-ties Loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PashadeCerigo0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I recently visited the Compass Point Resort while we were docked in Nassau for our Disney Cruise. Compass Point is on our “short list” for potential upcoming vacations, and we figured this was a great chance to see the place first-hand and determine if we’d like to book a vacation here in the future. The answer to that question is a resounding YES!

The Compass Point Resort is very colorful and has a wonderful laid-back vibe. There are only 18 “huts” so even at capacity I doubt the place would ever be crowded, though in addition to their hotel guests they also do a good business with locals at their bar and restaurant (which I’d say is a good sign about the quality of both). Probably the best attribute of the resort is its location right on the water… absolutely gorgeous views everywhere you look. It has sort of an “Out Island” feel, while beiing conveniently located just minutes from the NAS airport.

Speaking of which, the jets flying in and out of the NAS airport do fly over the resort. We were on property for about 3 hours and saw about a half-dozen planes. The noise wasn’t bad, and they didn’t bother us a bit (but it may bother some folks, so just a head’s up about that).

While at the resort we enjoyed a very good lunch at their outdoor restaurant, and then got a tour of an elevated Sea View hut by one of the front desk employees.

Lunch was very good, and dining by the water was a real treat to all the senses. My husband is a fussy eater, but it looked like their menu has enough variety that even he’d be happy dining there multiple times during a vacation stay. Service was friendly but a little on the slow side, which is pretty typical for the Bahamas. Prices weren’t exorbitant, especially by island standards.

The elevated Sea View hut looked like a winner to me. The room is pretty spacious, nicely decorated, and the bed/bedding looked extremely comfortable. They provide robes for guests, and each room has a built-in stereo sound system. The bathroom was on the small side but clean and perfectly adequate. There was a tiny kitchenette on the lower level porch, and this style hut includes a picnic table on the porch so you can eat meals at your hut if you prefer that to the restaurant. From the upstairs bedroom there is a small verandah outiftted with a few chairs, overlooking glorious views of the clear blue Bahamian water below. Absolutely lovely!

One caveat: The unit’s air conditioning wasn’t making much of a dent on the island heat, but there was a nice breeze. The way the huts are constructed I’m guessing you’d only get so-so air conditioning at best, however given the location right on the water that may not really be much of an issue since the sea breezes should usually suffice for comfort.

This woudn’t be what you’d consider a “luxury” hotel, but it is several steps above rustic. “Quirky and comfortable” might be a good way to describe it… If you’re looking for a unique boutique-style hotel to unwind and unplug, get some R&R, and enjoy island beauty, then this may well be a place for you. It certainly passes the litmus test - with flying colors - for us!

There is a small pool and hot tub on the property, and it’s an easy walk to a nearby swimming beach. We were told by another guest that you can take wonderful long walks along the beach. Something to look forward to when we return.

FYI, Nassau’s low-cost jitney buses stop right by the resort (the Route 10 buses), so for a cost of less than $5 per person you can get back and forth between downtown Nassau and Compass Point. The time it takes varies; we made the trip from Bay & George Street in downtown Nassau in about 40 minutes, but the return trip was circuitous and took well over an hour. It just depends on where the driver meanders that day, and how many stops they need to make along the way. If you plan to take the jitney buses bring small bills and coins, because the driver’s generally don’t make change.

Room Tip: The elevated Sea View huts offer a WONDERFUL view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv2Travel_19438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent four days at Compass Point in mid-June and love it. The resort is 10 minutes from the airport and far enough away from the town of Nassau to be enjoyable. The accommodations (relatively small studios) are right on the water with great views and the restaurant serves excellent food. Very good bar (outside and inside and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Bus numbers 10 and 12 go right by the resort for the ride into town ($1.50 each way). Taxis are piracy. There really is no reason to leave the resort.

Room Tip: We had studio 101 and it was great...right next to the pool with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel, consisting of colorful bungalows right on or overlooking the water fit the bill perfectly for a 20th anniversary long weekend. The ocean front room we had was very comfortable, equipped with a TV, ipod dock, fridge, microwave, AC and a lovely balcony overlooking the turquoise water of the Caribbean. To our left spanned a long white sandy beach that we walked down for about a half hour. On the hotel grounds was a lovely pool, a nice hot tub, a very good restaurant and bar, and a long dock with a straw roof at the end, perfect for watching the sun set. Except for a few short excursions we were happy to hang out at the hotel where it was very peaceful and relaxing. We even snorkeled right off the hotel beach along the rocks bordering the beach and saw rays and a squid, many fish, and a resident barracuda that hung out under the dock. We ate dinner there 3 out of 4 nights and had delicious meals each time. Breakfast was included with the room cost and was excellent, with lots of great choices. The only downside was the sound of jets taking off and landing because of the proximity to the airport (but that was also an advantage, as it only took us 5 minutes to get to and from the airport). Also, we left water shoes outside our door one afternoon and some local kids who were fishing and hanging around on the hotel property stole them. We were glad we hadn't left our masks & snorkels there, too. Although frustrating, it wasn't a huge loss. All and all I would highly recommend this place for a quiet, relaxing getaway, especially if you don't want the hassle of renting a car (as we didn't).

Room Tip: The rooms without the kitchenettes still have a small fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RocklinWaltch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
10.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
10.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,659 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
8.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
3.2 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $293 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing