We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing time”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from a 4-night stay at Compass Point and we so enjoyed it. We were in hut 118: ocean front, could see the pier from our balcony as well as the pool area and of course the stunning ocean views. While this property might not be for everyone, (they are huts!!!) it was great for us for this trip: we were looking for a relaxing time, lounging by the pool, beach walks, etc. We enjoyed the small resort atmosphere; all the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Our porch/balcony overlooking the ocean was so relaxing, and hearing the surf and waves crash at night was awesome!!

We ate all of our meals at the on-site restaurant which was great!! A breakfast credit is included in the rate; you just choose from the breakfast menu which had several good options. I will write a separate review for the restaurant.

Suggestion: Based on a tip from Trip Advisor, we ordered beverages and some fruit thru FoodStore2Go.com. What a great move!! Our box of waters, mixers, and fruit was in our room when we checked in. Would highly recommend taking advantage of this great service.

We enjoyed a bus ride to the downtown and Cable Beach areas one day, which confirmed we made the best choice to stay at Compass Point. Hubby enjoyed snorkeling around the pier, etc. We enjoyed a long walk on Love Beach on Friday and pretty much had the beach to ourselves; it was more crowded on Saturday and Sunday. The rocks are just part of nature; it's unfortunate tho that there is much glass from broken beer bottles that washes up w. all the seashells,etc.

If you are looking for slick/shiny contemporary resort, you won't enjoy this. But if you are open to quiet, funky, and personable, something different from the chain resorts, definitely book at Compass Point. If we are ever back in Nassau, we wil!!

Room Tip: Hut 118 is closest to the pier ,the hot tub and beach/water access; noise did not bother us; we enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolaBeach2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    134
    45
    26
    18
See reviews for
87
292
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our son got married this past week at the Sandals resort. We wanted to host a dinner with the families before the wedding. Anita, at Compass Point, was great. From the first contact to the night of the event, she was so helpful. We rented the Gazebo, with a fabulous view. There was an indoor lounge area right next to us, that we were able to use the tv for our video of the couple. Our server was fabulous, The food was great. He kept the drinks coming and was very quick to make sure everyone was comfortable. Everyone commented on how nice the evening was. It was a great way to start our new combined family, since it was the first time for us to meet. Thank you Anita!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My best friend and I just got back from spending four days at Compass Point Beach Resort before heading to the Sheraton for a bachelorette party. We had the most amazing experience at CPBR. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful (especially Aneka, Weintzel and Dino). They truly made you feel welcomed and that your experience there mattered to them. We stayed in bungalow 115 which had a magnificent view of the ocean. Even on a rainy day, we still felt blessed to be at this location. Love Beach which is right next to the resort has pristine water and sand. The best part about it is that there was never anyone there. One night we were lucky enough to watch the sunset while drinking a bottle of Chardonnay. We had the beach ALL to ourselves. It was incredible. The restaurant at CPBR is quite good, although I wish there were more choices to pick from. By day 4, we started to get bored of eating the same food everyday. If you go, you must try the blackened red snapper. It was one of the best dishes I've ever had. Overall, this was one of the best trips and best resorts I've ever stayed at. By the time we had to leave, we were very sad. Going to the Sheraton afterward was very disappointing. It had more of a Disney World feel, something we were not looking for in a relaxing vacation. If you want to relax, feel like you are around long time friends, and have a magnificent view, then you MUST got to Compass Point Beach Resort.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are great, but we stayed in bungalow 115 which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuliaW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent four days here in July 2013 just to relax and to get together with friends we hadn't seen in several years. We just loved it! The Sea Front Hut was SO cute and comfortable...and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. We are not particularly fond of large fancy hotels with hundreds of people and no personality. Compass Point was just right for us! Quiet and charming, and the staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful! We'll go again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I loved that it had personality. It was so cute and the beach just near the hotel is great.
Most of the things are pretty far off. If you want to go into town, catch the jitney for a cheap ride or you will be stuck with large cab bill. My boyfriend and I stayed here to celebrate his birthday in June 2013 for 5 days and 4 nights. Overall, it was a great experience. We really enjoyed the breakfast and didn't experience the long waits that I read about before I booked the room. And...even if the food took long, we probably would not have noticed it because we enjoyed the view so much. We were pretty easy to please. The hotel staff for the most part was great. They explained our breakfast credit (a nice surprise) at check in and all the details. We only had one instance where we were annoyed with them and it was because we needed some extra towels and were told the cleaning crew would not arrive for an hour and a half and even then, we didn't get the towels. But, that wasn't a big deal. You won't get the new amenities that you would get with a large chain hotel, but, you will definitely get an experience. The first night we were there, the staff set up for a wedding and it was absolutely breathtaking to watch. We even got to see a real junkanoo band. I recommend for couples looking for a relaxing experience. But, be aware that taxi rides from this hotel are costly. We paid almost a hundred dollars one night to get to and from a club. If you mostly want to tour (which is what we did) you can ride the jitney and pay $1.50 each way. We caught on really quickly to it and realized it was the most cost-efficient way to get around! But, they stop at 7 p.m. So, you will have to pay to get out at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voxboston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Short cab ride from the airport (yes, it's $20, no you're not getting ripped off, that's a typical rate for trips).

Unique, well appointed octagonal cabins, painted in spectacular varied colors (purple, pink, green) some elevated with seating areas below. Everything connected with walkways, cool colored lights at night. Comfortable beds, and the main chamber of each cabin is air conditioned. Attached bathroom is AC'd if you open the door to the main room.

Screens and louvered windows allow the sea breezes to blow through if you prefer this to AC.
It's hot here - 90+ in June, even at night - but because of the proximity to the sea it feels totally different than sweltering in the city - it's actually great.

On premise restaurant was better this time than last - not ~as~ good as the resort itself but quite decent. Conch soup is a standout on the lunch menu. Bar is fun, and again - right on the water, overlooking the sea.

Cool pier for jumping off, sitting on a hammock. OK selection of snorkel gear at front desk, along with other water toys, but fins were too small for me (6'). Awesome: J. at the front desk went home and got me his personal set to use, which was just fantastic of him.

Like J, staff is really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel-associated cab driver, Leo, took me on a 3 hour tour of the whole island, peeking into relatively un-visited areas like Adilade village or the power station - awesome. Leo = highly recommended, seek him out.

Fish Fry is a short drive away. Get a Sky Juice - sweet creme, fresh coconut milk, and gin.

Oh, bonus - beautiful Love Beach right next door is miles of perfect sand, reefs, swimming... A new outfit is renting paddleboards and snorkel gear at the beach, which was a perfect new option for guests @ CompassPoint. Looking forward to next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms to the East side (by Love Beach) are farther from the bar, restaurant. There are smaller no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank voxboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Compass Point resort is the kind of place that not everyone will enjoy, which is exactly why a friend and I decided to go there for a girl's getaway weekend. Neither of us wanted an Atlantis-type experience, and looked forward to being far away from the cruise crowds and casinos of many of the island's resorts.

In that respect, Compass Point was perfect. It's quiet, small, quirky and charming with huts smartly arranged so that you still have privacy. It's next to Love Beach, which is nice for relaxing if you're not up for lounging in the small pool area (Note: "snorkeling off the beach" = a few fish and mostly dead coral).

Food, although limited, was fairly good. I wish we had planned better and done some grocery shopping - the huts have fridges and nicely supplied kitchens which would have provided a nice alternative to the resort restaurant.

The downsides come in the form of some surly waitstaff and less-than-knowledgeable front desk staff. The waiters at dinner were fantastic, but breakfast and lunch staff were downright grumpy and argumentative. An example: "The menu says this fruit salad comes with a sauce. May I have it?" Reply: "You didn't ask for it" And so on...

The people at the front desk were very friendly and nice, but seemed to have no clue about the basics of the island, like when to go to Nassau to avoid cruise ship crowds.

So overall, we liked Compass Point. However, it could be close to perfect with some closer attention to service quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nodice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
10.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
10.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
8.5 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
3.2 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
5.5 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Property: Compass Point Beach Resort
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing