We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing oasis in the middle of crazy Nassau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Stone's Throw Away
Ranked #2 of 14 Nassau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“amazing oasis in the middle of crazy Nassau”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I came here for a few nights with a good travel buddy of mine a couple weeks ago and had such a great experience. Everyone here was friendly and the service is exceptional. (HI PATRICE!!)

It's a gorgeous property and you definitely come here to get away from the tourist-saturated, cruise ship monstrosities that make up downtown Nassau. We used this hotel moreso as a transit/stop over point due to its proximity to the Pindling Int'l Airport. It's literally a 3 minute drive away.

Each of the rooms, our deck, and the overall property has so much charm and character! Very very clean, safe, and roomy. What more could you ask for. The pool is so-so, but if you want to go in for a quick dip, it's in a nice little grassy/grotto area.

The only hiccup is the beach access. You can be driven free of charge by the hotel's driver about 5 mins away to a private beach (Love Beach) that costs $5 to access. Otherwise you can walk down the street and get to the beach from West Bay Street. The beach here off the road is definitely accessible, but I didn't feel too comfortable laying out or going for a swim, just because it's literally off a main road. But I did see a few people enjoying the reef and water here. It's just up to you.

Overall a really great experience and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    104
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
32
191
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in February. We were looking for a relaxing, quick getaway, away from all the nonsense you'll experience on Paradise Island. This property provided exactly what we were looking for. It is propped up on a hill, with lots of shrubbery for privacy and a beautiful view of the ocean. The owner and staff are helpful and accommodating. The king size beds are comfortable, the rooms can use some upgrading (newer AC unit, new fridge, safe (the safe is actually part of the fridge cabinet), shower/shower head could use an upgrade (tight fit, pressure was okay).

They offer free car service to the airport, BUT not from the airport. The taxi from the airport to the B&B will cost about $10. The breakfast is continental at best, however, they will make you eggs or something else if you ask. Taxis from the B&B to downtown can get expensive ($25-$40). Reserve a scooter or plan on flagging down the number 10 or 12 jitney to town for $1.50 a person (they run from 9am to 7pm daily).

We didn't have dinner there, but if you tell them early enough, they will make dinner for you. There is coffee, tea and water available all day, and an honest bar for cocktails/beer/wine. Laundry services are on the ground floor for a fee.

The closest beach is at Compass Point Resort and Spa (about a 10 minute walk). They will charge you $10 to use their facilities for the day. It is worth it. Their facilities are really nice. Their restaurant is tasty, drinks are strong. There is a local shop down the road that serves tropical conch salad and beer, it's worth going there for the food and experience. Traveller's Restaurant is okay, service is slow, average bar food, nice live entertainment, but only open Wednesday - Sunday nights.

Room Tip: Island view rooms on the main floor are noisy in the morning. Hallway traffic, and you'll hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika07NewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburn, va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a layover to an out island. Perhaps we had a room that was unlike the others (#4) because our experience was nothing like the other reviews. At first glance the B&B is quaint, but upon further experience, it obviously is in need of some TLC. We had two lamps on the wall over our bed; one did not have a light bulb, both of them were literally coming out of the wall. My husband had to play around with them so that they wouldn't fall completely off. The screen on the side window is torn completely off the bottom frame. The french doors out to the balcony did not lock. The lock on the main door into the room was broken. When we returned from dinner, the door was wide open. When I asked Harriet she said "oh don't worry, that door always pops open"! Really????
The hotel is in a residential area. There are serveral neighbors with dogs that barked incesssantly. The balconies although nice, were shared with the rooms next door so there was no privacy and you couldn't sleep with the doors open.
And of course the stairs - if this place was a true 5 star place, then perhaps I could have lived with it, but it was just another thing that crossed this off of the list for future vitsits.
Again, it was only for one night, we could live with it, but if we had been staying for longer, I would have checked out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickytraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here on a 24-hour layover, en route to elsewhere, and it was perfect. First of all, the idea of staying at a B&B is more appealing to us than at a big resort. A Stone's Throw is a gem! Clean, lovely setting, beautiful view and a 1-block walk to a very private-feeling public beach. You'd walk this far to get to the beach at some of those sprawling resort properties. For lounging on site, there's a dunking pool and expansive decks on multiple levels overlooking the ocean. Breakfast included yogurts, juices, cereal as well as eggs to order. The rooms were clean & comfortable. We didn't eat dinner at the B&B, opting to walk down to the ocean-facing bar around the corner--Traveler's Rest. Festive live music and good "bar food" hit the spot. We didn't have time for a 30-min. taxi to downtown ($25 each way). Their complimentary ride back to the airport (a stone's throw away!) is also handy. Taxi from the airport to the B&B was about $20 or $25.
I would definitely stay here again for up to two nights for just some R&R.

Room Tip: Try to get a room viewing the ocean rather than the opposite side facing inland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jskantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

To be honest we were only here for the famous Stuart Cove's Shark Dive and not so much for visiting the island of New Providence. So we only needed a place to stay for a couple of days. After reading a lot of bad reviews for other hotels and reading a lot of good ones about ASTA we finally chose this place. And what a good choice. The whole place feels really homey and Chris, John and Harriet really make the difference with their honest and sweet and open attitude towards customers. We were upgraded to a Sea View Suite and OMG what a fantastic room this was. Just look on the their website and check it out. This is really a nice cosy B&B in a calm location. So if you like authenticity then this should be your choice. And if by any chance you have the opportunity to do the Shark Dive with Stuart Cove's than do it. It is absolutely worth it!

Hope to visit again if ever possible!

Room Tip: if you can afford it....choose the ocean view suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirckZadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for peace and relief then this is the correct place. Been in Nassau for business and found ASTA as an incredibly good place. Apart from traditional hotels like sheraton etc where you get tired of neverending uniformity this place was my switch off button. My stay was an adventure and great positive experience. Can i do that once again, mom? :D

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank meeleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Such a nice cosy B&B, in a calm location, the complete opposite of Atlantis. If you like authenticity, this is it. Staff was very helpful and there are a few places around for dinner and beach stuff. Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: No fitness center but a nice little pool and it's 3 minutes from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.4 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,558 reviews
8.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
748 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
1.9 mi away
Ocean West Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone's Throw Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone's Throw Away

Property: A Stone's Throw Away
Address: Tropical Garden Road | Gambier Heights, Nassau SS5412, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Stone's Throw Away 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the west end of New Providence lies an exquisite hideaway. A STONE'S THROW AWAY is perched on one of the highest elevations by the coast. Here our Guests can indulge in a rare panoramic view of Nassau 's land and sea. The scenery boasts the best of the island's natural wonders, from the native pine forest by Lake Killarney to the brim of the coral reefs that protect the glimmering beaches of west Nassau. The property was recently built to echo the traditions of an old Bahamian home: wood floors and wood ceilings, louvered shutters and a large wrap around porch bring the visitors back to a quieter time long ago when the music of the islands could be heard in the whispers of the trade winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Stone's Throw Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Stone`s Throw Away Hotel Nassau
A Stone's Throw Away Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing