We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Bahamian bed and breakfast feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Stone's Throw Away
Ranked #2 of 14 Nassau B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Bahamian bed and breakfast feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights (Mon & Tues) very close to Nassau International Airport (MYNN) used this location as a spring board to fly around the other islands. Collin (the head waiter for the restauraunt) is great. The food was awesome. It was like staying over at a friends house. Lots of steps to walk up to get to the house because it is built on top of the stone cliff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euroride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    103
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
30
186
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a great spot to spend our one night in Nassau before flying to Eleuthera the next day. The B&B is well located and close to the airport. The views are absolutely beautiful and the whole atmosphere is laid back, friendly and welcoming. The staff was very helpful and I felt like I was staying with old friends.

It's not perfect (the pool is a bit average and I feel that it's a bit overpriced) but overall this was an excellent stay for us and I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TDF_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Although we did not stay here as guests, we did have dinner here on two evenings. Colyn , our waiter could not have been more gracious. He really made us feel at home. The menu is limited, but I feel that it enables Chef Tony to devote more time to his culinary expertise ! The conch chowder is excellent, as is the curry chicken and fettucini alfredo with chicken. Shrimp scampi over rice is also the best. The grouper is the best we have had. On our next trip to the Bahamas we will stay as guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Md
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am not sure I really understand the reviews on this place and I am starting to lose faith in being able to come to trip advisor to book based on reviews because this one in particular was so off. Maybe it depends on where your expectation are going in, but we have stayed at boutique, quaint hotels and B&B's before so it is not about thinking you are going to the Ritz. Reasons why I would not recommend going and will not return:
1) The is no beach- The site leads you to believe that there is, but your Ocean View room is set about 1/4 away from the water which has no beach. You have to have someone drive you to a beach that you then have to pay for to get on.
2) The property is close to nothing but is not secluded. You are basically in a residential neighborhood with access to nothing by foot.
3) The pool looked like a large coy pond and was just as dirty. Also did not have enough seating around the pool area to accommodate more than 6 guests.
4) The room was very small and the balcony which was nice was shared with another room. No privacy to go out there in PJ's or anything. The water in the shower was highly problematic. Went from hot to cold and the pressure was non-existent. The lights in the room kept flickering preventing me from reading my book at night. The balcony doors would not lock. The only positive- the bed was actually very comfortable and we slept the well the one that that we stayed.
5) Service- the people there are actually very nice, however their amenities are seriously lacking. The have an "honor bar" which in theory seems nice and casual, but their selection is limited and you serve yourself. Other items are extremely overpriced such as $6 chips. Breakfast was also kind of a joke. The selections were basically boxed cereal and mlik, yogurts, cold cuts (strange), and if you wanted they would cook you up some basics like eggs and bacon, pancakes. Coffee was actually good.

We had booked for three nights. After being there for 1 hour we were ready to leave but since we were going to be charged a night to the tune of $320 with taxes we stayed. When we left we had to carry our own bags down what I called the Pai Mai steps (Kill Bill reference) by ourselves. We ended up going to the Hilton downtown and have been happy every since. Wished we started there, but live and learn I suppose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jerseygirl10577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We didn't stay at the B & B, but wanted to be sure to go for a meal. We walked up from Compass Point where we were staying. I had read about the dog who will walk you to and from the beach, but that was from an old review. We walked what is a bit of a dodgy road with lots of blind turns and not much shoulder and were all of a sudden greeted by our sentinel (see picture). He walked us all the way along the road and up the hill. He then turned, gave us a glance of "my work is done here," and headed back down the hill. A really cool experience -- he nipped at the cars as they drove by as if to ward off pesky flies. We were greeted by Carlin, one of the nicest men, with one of the warmest smiles you could ever meet. A positive person who displays great kindness and genuine hospitality. We really loved the view from the porch where we had our meal. The menu was set and Carlin informed us that he and the Chef, Tony, were new to the place and took it on to do something "special." With years in the industry, you can tell that Carlin really treats each guest as if they are a longtime friend. We enjoyed some great soul music, conversation, wine, views, and food. My fiance started with the Conch Chowder, with some nice lingering heat. I had the salad with one of the best dressings I've ever had (Carlin said a guest from Italy days earlier asked him to bottle it, and so did I). We then enjoyed the Curry Chicken and Grouper with some of the best Jasmine rice. Tiaramasu and Ice cream for desert. The night was most enjoyable and we look forward to seeing Carlin again -- he's a true Ambassador for the Inn and for the Islands of the Bahamas -- thanks Tony & Carlin!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely night here because the staff were helpful and the room was upgrades to a suite at no extra cost
Our room was excellent and the hotel interesting as its cut into the rock. This could prove a problem with guest who can't carry their bags up the first set of stairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having previously stayed at Wyndhams during airport layovers whilst travelling to the Out Islands, I was really doubting there was anywhere like this on New Providence. Anyone travelling away from the island is probably going to a peaceful destination...and the process of staying in
monstrosities such as Wyndhams or any of the other hotels on the 'strip' is certainly a tad demoralising! 'Stone's Throw', on the other hand, is perfect; creating a much better impression of The Bahamas for someone who has never travelled there before.

The B&B is literally situated a stone's throw from the airport. It is a charming colonial house with a lush garden and pool. The climb up to the main building is quite steep, but there is help with the bags if you call. The staff are freindly and helpful, with plenty of ideas for food, etc. Rooms are clean and a little quaint, ours having ahatch through to the bathroom, if you wanted an open plan effect! The area is quiet...just right for a relaxing evening after a long flight. In the owner provided a free shuttle to the airport (just tip the driver as you see fit)!

We will be staying again on our next Bahamas trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seatroutfisher-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
0.4 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
4.7 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
8.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.9 mi away
Ocean West Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Stone's Throw Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Stone's Throw Away

Property: A Stone's Throw Away
Address: Tropical Garden Road | Gambier Heights, Nassau SS5412, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — A Stone's Throw Away 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the west end of New Providence lies an exquisite hideaway. A STONE'S THROW AWAY is perched on one of the highest elevations by the coast. Here our Guests can indulge in a rare panoramic view of Nassau 's land and sea. The scenery boasts the best of the island's natural wonders, from the native pine forest by Lake Killarney to the brim of the coral reefs that protect the glimmering beaches of west Nassau. The property was recently built to echo the traditions of an old Bahamian home: wood floors and wood ceilings, louvered shutters and a large wrap around porch bring the visitors back to a quieter time long ago when the music of the islands could be heard in the whispers of the trade winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Stone's Throw Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Stone`s Throw Away Hotel Nassau
A Stone's Throw Away Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing