We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the "fish fry" area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oh Andros

Oh Andros
Ranked #7 of 272 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best of the "fish fry" area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We tried three "fish fry" area restaurants during our week long stay. We found the quality of food at Oh Andros to be the best (grilled or fried). We had a fried seafood sampler (lobster, shrimp, and snapper) and a spicy grilled grouper plate. Sides are typical Bahamian (peas and rice, plantains, potato salad, and etc). Don't go if you're looking for ambiance or a quick dining experience. Welcome to the Bahamas...things don't move quickly when you leave your resort or cruise ship. Oh Andros is a simple building full of locals and tourists alike most of the time. You may have to wait a bit. What you'll get however, is a good meal at a fair price (for Nassau).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sptbg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    200
    58
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“don't waste your time - very crowded”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

total chaos in this restaurant, no good customer service, ac don't work, dim lights. Sort of a hole in the wall for expensive food (even though portions are large). Very unprofessional restaurant - management need to upgrade in all areas from the time you walk into the door nobody greets you and the chaos begins. Worst experience during my trip!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank intwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We took a cab ride from Atlantis and it was well worth it. Great value and portions were HUGE! Everyone that we asked from cab drivers, hotel staff, baggage handlers at the airport...everyone said...Oh Andros! We were seated promptly and the wait staff were very friendly and patient as we studied the menu. The food was tasty and it was probably our best meal while in the Bahamas.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank social1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
245 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Portions, Good Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you want an authentic Bahamian food experience, try out Oh Andros. The prices are reasonable and the portions are ample. The dining area is air conditioned, but very cramped. Also, if you ask for water, they bring you bottled water for $1 per bottle. An order of grilled snapper with a large pile of peas and rice, cole slaw, and plantains will run you $12. Not bad considering the jacked up prices on Paradise Island and the world famous Poop Deck.

Getting to the Fish Fry (where Oh Andros is located) will cost you $5 per person from Paradise Island, so I'd suggest you go to the zoo (across the street) first and make an afternoon of it.

Service was slow and they forgot to bring out our conch fritters. They were polite, though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big meh - good food, bad buliding & staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

There is truth to the other reviews - the food is good, portions are large, and not a rip-off. We had a couple of locals recommend the place. However, the food is definitely not great. We went with a group of 7, and fried fish was the best reviewed meal. The experience was a big disappointment. The place is cave-like, and the staff was neither friendly nor helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vtcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Andros also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Oh Andros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing