We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable Tatebud -tantalizing sushi with a spectacular view of the cruise ships” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sur Club Sushi Bar - CLOSED

Sur Club Sushi Bar
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian, Bar, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An indoor-outdoor restaurant & lounge specializing in authentic sushi & Asian cuisine, overlooking a picturesque view of the marina & Atlantis!
Sparks MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbeatable Tatebud -tantalizing sushi with a spectacular view of the cruise ships”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is not your typical run- of- the mill sushi joint. The food is infused with subtle flavor nuances reflective of haute cuisine and Bahamian culture. We had the crouching tiger roll featuring soft shell crab and it was superb. The Sashimi sampler highlighted fresh caught fish of the day- wow.
Owner Todd came to our table side and offered us a special preview of the new martini - 'wockie wasabi ' ( I think I got that right..) It was terrific....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutrition-TheBestRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

After spending over a week in Nassau and having been at many of the restaurants within walking distance of the Nassau Village area we stumbled across the Sur Club Sushi Bar. We were extremely impressed with the food and atmosphere of the restaurant. We were even more impressed with the excellent food and great service. Since then we have been back to Sur Club twice more before we left and wished each time that we had found it earlier.

Compared to the terrible service at the vast majority of the restaurants in the area this was very refreshing. It is definitely worth the short walk off of the beaten path! Compared to the prices of food options in the area, this was much more reasonable, especially for the quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A few friends and I were there last night, and boy didn't we have fun. The steak entrée was ok but the 'Sur Club Sushi Roll' appetizer was bomb!! I loved it and it was a great portion as oppose to the entrée that the chefs brought out with a big smile. The drinks were nice as well. Its certainly worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sur Club Sushi Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very friendly and corteous: Manager, Chef & Waiter.

Excellent service
Excellent attention
Excellent food
Excellent waterside view

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfbartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worst Dining Experience in Half a Century”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Sur Club Sushi is a new location in Nassau, located in the beautiful Elizabeth-on-Bay arcades, where sadly other restaurants have failed in the past. Elizabeth-on-Bay is not the nicest part of town - far from it. The arcades, however, are very nice, and Sur Club Sushi offers harborfront outdoor seating. Enough to convince us to give it a try.

While the scenery on the waterfront is indeed gorgeous, dinner wasn't. Where to begin? A half dozen of us had dinner there, each ordering an appetizer and a main - and some of us two mains, as sushi rolls tend to be smallish. Well, Sur Club Sushi's rolls weren't just smallish, they were minute, yet they were so unappetizing that none of us looked forward to a second bite. Roughly fifteen different plates yielded one edible dish, two more that fall in the category of "if you're really hungry, go for it," and the rest into the category of "If I throw this into the harbor, it'd be pollution, because not even the fish would eat it."

The main problem, it would seem, are inferior ingredients, e.g. "Chicken of the Sea" (yes, the mystery meat out of the can) should not be in a tuna roll, and some of the fish in the rolls tasted off, just off. The kitchen's attitude of combining as many different styles and flavors on one plate also doesn't help. Sometimes, less is indeed more.

At the beginning of the evening, the service wasn't rude, or overly lazy, as is often the case in Nassau; rather, it was clumsy and clearly without an idea of what restaurant service should be like. However, once we expressed our disappointment with the food after dinner, the restaurant staff was incapable of accepting criticism, and the service did become rude and slow. Getting the bill took the better part of an hour, and was only achieved when we started to head for the front door. That's when the bill finally appeared.

The prices are actually quite modest. We had expected a more expensive meal given the waterfront location. However, cheap prices do not make up for lack of quality.

My recommendations for anybody desiring some sushi in Nassau are two alternatives, both only a few blocks from this one: Seafront Sushi and Ichiban. The latter is a tad pricier, which is reflected mainly in the ambience of the place, not necessarily the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Oceans242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sur Club Sushi Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing