We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetest Staff ever!”
Review of Gullies Restaurant And Bar - CLOSED

Gullies Restaurant And Bar
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Sweetest Staff ever!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We are big Trip Advisor readers before we go somewhere and our trip here was no different. We found this on the list but oddly enough, none of the locals could tell us about it. They all thought we were saying Goldie's........but no this place was worth the confusion! We we met walking around the Fish Fry by staff outside saying that we should come in he would buy us a drink. We agreed and he followed though with some rum punches. As our wonderful server arrives we felt right at home. She talked with us the whole time our food was being made. The place was quiet due to cruises leaving at that time. Our food portions were huge and fresh and delicious! Prices were a average for the rest of the island. Definitely worth checking out in the fry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Too costly and average food.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I know I am in the minority here, but I even wondered if people were bribed to write a review at one point. We were staying on Paradise Island so we had to take a ferry across to Nassau ($4 per person=$12). We ordered conch fritters, just to try it. My daughter got chicken & conch, I ordered shrimp and my husband ordered grouper fingers. It was average. We went there because of the rave reviews and people said it would be cheaper, it was not! The bill was $67. And we had to take cab back to Paradise Island $20. So our total was just under $100, so there was no bargain. It was just basic fried food though, nothing special. I do enjoy good, quality food. Maybe the others are comparing to McDonalds, in which case this would be good. ?!? Confused on the high rating!!! I am lowering my rating to poor because the woman constantly complained about how the Chinese people share meals. (and we do that when ordering appetizer on occasion, she should be happy for the business!!!) And the food was nothing special!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blackshag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Bahamian Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant is located at what the Locals call 'The Fish Fry'. It's a nice spot that has a lot of different restaurants for you to choose from. I chose this restaurant because of the reviews and ratings. I was not disappointed. The service was prompt and the food was very delicious. I highly recommend this spot for local Bahamian food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great restaurant! We took a cruise to Nassau and through Tripadvisor's review we picked this restaurant. Great choice! Upon arriving to the restaurant, David immediately greeted us and in the end, got us can back to the ship- talk about service!
Food was amazing! And a lot if food!
FYI - they are located in 'The Fish Fry' - tell your cabbie - they will know the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Always_local_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to eat here after reading the great reviews. This place is nothing fancy, but the service and food was amazing! I would highly recommend it. We have been on the island for 5 days and it is the best food we've had so far!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dana1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullies Restaurant And Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing