We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Not bad”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week on an all-inclusive package with the deluxe pool view room. The staff for the most part are friendly and helpful. The front lobby has been renovated and is very nice, the rooms on the other hand are a little bit dated but still nice. The food is mediocre. I would have liked to see more variety in breakfast, lunch and dinner. Did not like the "signing" of the bill every time you order something even though you are on an all-inclusive package. Really did not like that it is to your discretion about what you order and whether or not it is included in your plan. Caution that they add 15% gratuity to every bill! This luckily is included in the all inclusive package but gave me a scare at the start thinking I would have to forcefully tip 15% on every bottle of water or meal. Overall this is a nice place and I would recommend it if you want to stay in the Bahamas. Do not leave the resorts/touristy areas however, things go downhill very quickly once leaving the "main" areas. The Bahamas is very over priced greatly inflated due to tourism.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello DavidF,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. You will be happy to know that our property is scheduled to start renovations this year which will include the addition of three new restaurants! I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon so that you have the opportunity to enjoy our new additions and upgrades.

Thank you for your business,
Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    1,622
    973
    511
    425
See reviews for
1,369
1,952
151
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We traveled March 30 - April 3 on a great deal through Sunwing Vacations. After reading many reviews before we left, we went with an open mind and without high expectations. We arrived around 9:30 pm, did not wait at the airport for the shuttle to bring anyone else that was on the plane to the same resort. We only had carry on baggage, so we breezed through security etc. grabbed a cab and were there, checked in, unpacked, drink in hand in the lobby bar within a half hour of landing. Check in was fine, only a couple people ahead of us, front desk staff ok, nothing to brag about but not rude by any means, room was ok, we had requested a king, but instead got 2 doubles, tried calling down to discuss possibly switching rooms but was disconnected a couple of times so just gave in, not a really big deal anyway. View made up for the double beds. Room was clean enough, could be updated a bit more, tiles in tub a little grungy, fan in bathroom really dust covered, could see the age of the hotel mostly in the hall ways to the rooms, nothing a little paint and maybe new light fixtures, carpet could cure, but none of this makes for a bad vacation. Just mere observations.
The grounds are beautiful, many pool areas to choose from, and yes the main pool again needs a facelift which I hear is coming, by mid afternoon the pool could have used a good skimming, lifeguard did some one day. No problems ever finding a lounger, pool wait staff was around often enough, if you needed them sooner all you had to do was wave and they were right there. The beach was beautiful, clean great sand, snorkeling equipment available to use, but snorkeling very disappointing, there were a few vendors but they never bugged you, asked once and left it at that.

We did not do the all inclusive so we did not eat at any of the resturants. Starbucks in the lobby was great for a morning tea and muffin for a walk on the beach. There is a liqour store in the building, also a cafe which is open from 7am to 11 pm, everything from breakfast sandwiches to dinner plates, pop chips and ice cream also available. Very reasonably priced.

We did take the Jitney into town a couple of times, great way to get around. Downtown very touristy, lots of people especially with the ships in port, expensive shops and usual souvenir things at the straw market. The Fish Fry at Arawak cay was nice, we had a really nice lunch at Oh Andres, there are many there to pick from. There is the Daquiri Shack right across the street from the hotel, great Daquiri's, made with fresh fruit, great to pick one up before getting on the bus !!!

A short 15 min walk to the right of the property takes you to a nice area which has Milanos Bistro, great pizza and pasta dishes, a Subway, a deli, pharmacy, liqour store, high end beachwear store and a supermarket.

Construction beside the property did not bother us at all, no noise or issues.

Overall it was a very nice get away, would have liked to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello Kaupert,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach for your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and didnt want to leave! I am also glad that you had the opportunity to explore the island as well. I hope we have the chance to welcome you again should your travels lead you back to Nassau, Bahamas.

Thank you for your business,
Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel staff were nice but hotel needs more work. Bed mattresses were old
Bathroom tub was old
Major upgrade needed the hotel has a lot of potential. Cats on the grounds nasty , food was good wewe told to go by the yeller

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtho S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello MyrthoS,
Thank you for staying with us here at the Melia Nassau Beach and for sharing your experience. I am glad you enjoyed the resort. You will be happy to know that our property will be undergoing renovations this year and they will include major upgrades to the resort including three new restaurants. I hope you visit us again soon.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I wanted to make sure I wrote a review because me and my wife and an excellent stay at this gorgeous hotel.

The service was top notch. All of the people who worked there were super nice and very friendly. Our room was facing the ocean and we didn't have to pay extra for that. We also met another awesome couple that were given a beach view on the ground level for no extra charge. The beach is really breath-taking. It's in an excellent location. We had such a nice vacation.

I can't see how anyone would write a bad review. The rooms are very fairly priced. If you like to drink I suggest getting the all-inclusive package. All food and booze is taken care of before you check-in.

If you have a chance I highly suggest staying here.

Room Tip: You can ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello adamrado,
I am so happy to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful stay. Our associates work especially hard to ensure all of our guests leave us with memorable experiences. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again should your travels lead you back to Nassau, Bahamas.

Thank you for your business,
Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is my first review ever in life, but I wanted to share our experience hoping it would help someone else. The location is the best. We were the very first stop off of the airport shuttle. Cable Beach is one of the best. The pool and beach area were awesome. This is a big deal for us as we spent most of our time out there. Several of the locals mentioned that Cable beach was the best as well. As mentioned in other reviews, the Melia is new ownership for resort so there are a lot of changes taking place. We liked the rooms...our room was updated with new furniture. They provided a crib for my 9-month old which was great. When booking we thought we purchased the all-inclusive plan, but the front desk told us that it was not inluded in our purchase. The plan was about $140 pp per day to add it. We usually do get ths meal plans at other hotels, but we decided to opt out and WE ARE GLAD WE DID. We ate at the lunch buffet once at $28 per person and it was HORRIBLE. The poolside grill was decent but basic - burgers, fries, chicken tenders and ran about $22 per person. After noticing that the food was not the best we tried the Wyndham next door for Breakfast and we loved it. It was only about $15 per person. For dinner we ate at the local Fish Fry (5 min taxi ride) which has over 15 restaurants at about $15-$20 per person. So if you do the math the all-inclusive plan is not worth it!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return if the prices do not creep up after they complete all upgrades. We did a day pass at Atlantis and are glad that we did not stay there - WAY TOO many people and it does not give you the local feel of the island. It's very commercial.
There is a $2.6 billion hotel underconstruction right next to the Melia. This hotel will be opening in Dec 2014 and will be competing with Atlantis. I'm curious to know how the pricing of the Melia will change based on this.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 505, ocean view and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hello Marissa P,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach for your stay and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy our restaurants however I am glad you enjoyed the resort. I hope you visit us again soon.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Yes, towels are a real challenge at this hotel, as were things like a room service menu and mini-bar (the latter didn't exist at all). The beach was good, as was the pool, price was very reasonable, but that comes with issues like a slow cleaning service (6pm one day), and towels are kind of special request items (as was the room service menu).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
6 Thank Orn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear OrnG,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach and for taking the tome to write about your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences caused due to the issues mentioned. We have brought in more towels and our guests should no longer experience this problem. I hope you visit us again and give us the opportunity to give you the memorable vacation you deserve.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallingford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Melia just took over the property in December 2013. Hopefully they will update the rooms - I will say even though furniture was old, the rooms were clean, housekeeping did a good job. The location, Cable Beach, is good as there are a few nice restaurants or fast food places you can walk to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
4.9 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,509 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
5.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
#13 of 14 in Paradise Island
4,648 reviews
3.4 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Nassau Beach All-Inclusive is located right on the stunning Cable Beach with 694 Guestrooms/32 Suites just a few minutes from the center, shops, restaurants, nightspots and Lynden Pindling International Airport. Enjoy yourself at our 3 spectacular pools with waterfalls facing the sea, 2 hydro-massage tubs, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine in 7 dining venues/4 bars featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. ACCOMMODATIONS: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, The Level Junior Suite, One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite, Two Bedrooms Ocean Front Suite and the Presidential Suite, stay at our comfortable accommodations with stunning views of the ocean, pools or resort gardens, perfect for a romantic getaway. Stay connected with Free Wi-Fi everywhere, even at the Beach. Stay fit with our FREE 24-hour fully equipped gym or join the fun with our full activities/entertainment program, shows and live music. In addition, enjoy extra privileges for guests staying at The Level such as exclusive areas, FREE room service and much more. For the youngest the Resort features a Kids Pool and Kids’ Club. *Operating as an inclusive resort as of December 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing