We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nassau Bahama holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just returned from Melia yesterday, April 6th. The resort is showing a little age but was still comfortable, clean, and located well for travel to either side of the island. The rooms look out across the pool area with beautiful views of the ocean and each room has a balcony, chairs, and small table. There are 2 large pools with a swim-up bar. One of the pools was down for maintenance. We only saw one outdoor jacuzzi but it was not operable....too bad since the pool and ocean water temperature was a little chilly (77 degrees F). Outside, there is a large tiki bar, many chaise lounges, and several small tiki-like umbrellas to sit out of the sun. The bar inside is in the cavernous lobby. There are adequate fitness machines and free weights in the fitness center but no sauna or steam room. Valet parking is $10 per day and well worth it....when we called for our car it was always there by the time we got downstairs. The rooms do not come with a refrigerator but you can order one for $10 per day. Ours worked so well that it was freezing our water and milk by the 3rd day. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and responded to our requests immediately.....we did not receive adequate towels the 2nd day but upon calling the front desk we had them in minutes. One edge of the carpeting in our room was a bit tattered and the faucets in the bathroom were a little loose but this was really nothing that detracted from a wonderful stay. We ate the buffet breakfast two mornings, $25 each, and if you are a large eater it would be well worth it since there was substantial choices. The outdoor seating for the restaurant was charming. We went off-site for lunch and dinner. The hotel connects to the casino by a convenient inside walkway...however, many of the stores along the walkway are closed - there are a few open where you can buy liquor or another ice cream. The casino was pretty vacant. A huge new resort, Baha Mar, is opening next year almost adjacent and proposes to demolish the present casino for a new one. Overall if you are looking for a comfortable long weekend at a reasonably-priced hotel with most options, this is a good choice. If you are looking for posh accommodations, fine dining, extensive spa facilities....book somewhere like Atlantis.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, room 409. Elevators are at approx. 401 and the ice machine was at 415...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckp18f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

ckp18f,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach for your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had the chance to relax.

I hope you visit us again should your travels lead you back to Nassau.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,531 - 4,537 of 5,533 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from a long over due getaway@Melia. We arrived about 1pm. Checked in but room not ready. Desk said come back @2. We had Lunch at the o grill outside. Well 2pm no room,came back @3pm. No room found some type of hostess said she would check.No room .3:40no room my wife is getting upset.3:45 hostess take us down to a room. Down to a room,surprise upgrade to Royal suite. It's as big as a house. Huge . Wrap around balcony on the second floor amazing ocean views. The rooms well appointed very clean some carpet could use repairs.We had all inclusive. Three restaurants not great variety but everything was good. Only big food disappointment was BBQ night no even good. Inside of hotel in pretty nice shape but out door areas need sprucing up. Hotel staff very nice and polite entertainment so so. Beach and pools very nice. I believe this hotel will have problems when new mega hotel opens

Room Tip: Try for suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank threesecons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello threesecons,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Our hotel will be undergoing renovations this year and they will include major upgrades and new restaurants. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My daughter & I stayed at the Melia Nassau from March 31-April 3. I was a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews, but we were very satisfied with our stay.

I reserved transportation from the airport with Majestic and quickly learned it was more expensive to do this instead of just taking a taxi (about $20-30 total more for both ways). Also, once we were on the bus to the hotel we had to wait for about 30 minutes which was too long & not necessary. So…take a taxi b/c it's cheaper and more efficient.

When we arrived, our check-in was smooth & only took 5-10 minutes. Everyone was pleasant & professional. Our premium ocean view room (811) was clean & had a wonderful view. It was quiet & there we no issues (except a real firm mattress ).

The pool was cold (it's not heated), but it was still wonderful to sit there, listen to music, enjoy some drinks, etc. The beach was perfect! Beautiful water, white sand, not crowded, plenty of chairs, gorgeous views, kayaking, jet skis, parasailing & snorkeling available. We spent a lot of time on the beach.

The food was good, but not great. The breakfast buffet at Marketplace was the best meal; Aqua was by far the worst. The lobby bar had good drinks, nightly music, and tasty appetizers.

After reading some of the complaints, I think many people are just being too picky. This isn't a 5-star resort - yet, but the prices aren't 5-star either. It is definitely a 4-star and well worth the money. I do think Melia is working to make improvements, but we were very pleased & will return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello Teresa L,
Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a detailed review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you plan to visit us again. We will be adding new restaurants and upgrades to the resort this year that I'm sure you will love. We can't wait to welcome you!

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

So, I've stayed here before when it was the Sheraton so I was curious to see what was different/better/worse for my long weekend.
I come to the Bahamas, not because I live the island, but because it's a 2 hour flight from NY, is usually the cheapest of options (long weekends for me start on Friday and end on Sunday and really should not cost more than 1200 tops).
First thing I noticed was it all looks he same with a different name slapped on the door. Check in was easy and effective. When this place was the Sheraton check in always too forever for reason I could never understand and always annoyed me.
I was immediately able to get a room and when I told the woman put me as far away from the elevators as possible she complied and checked to make sure I was on walking that far.
Things that made no sense; there's now a bracelet you're suppose to wear around the resort so folks know you belong here. It makes sense to am rig you're on the all inclusive plan , otherwise what's the point when no one checks. The darn thing also gave me a rash so I took. It off immediately.
There's also a towel card - lose the card and you owe them $30. You also only get one towel per card. I work at a large co so I get controlling costs but at a resort this is ridiculous. If you go in the water you do not want to be stuck laying I the same towel you just dried yourself off with. Also some of the towels are ratty and falling apart- there was no upgrade. Really is the most ridiculous thing I've seen.
If it is possible the food is worse and the menu limited. I don't come here for the food and typically just eat at the hotel. When I'm in St. Martin it's a different story but the food here tends to be bad by comparison, even at the restaurants I've been to.
They limited he room service menu so unless you want to eat like a 8 year old don't bother. I are dinner both nights at the. The now have different singers each night which is better than the band that used to be the only entertainment. If you like Spanish music they song some current songs and artists, the others tend to sound like light fm radio.
The bra his clean but there are hardly any umbrellas, just a few straw huts. Good luck getting one unless you're out there at 7am. Red is not a good look and they really need to bring the umbrellas out so there's shade.
The room are the same - modern with something slightly missing the mark to be luxurious. I've been in some crap places so the fact it's clean, has coffee and I can sleep is what I want.
There are no brochures to find out what's happening in the hotel - you'll spend a lot of time calling.
The spa is great - always get my hair done before I leave.
Overall good weekend place .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

t1997,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay however I do apologize for any inconveniences caused due to the issues mentioned. I do hope these problems did not cause you to not want to visit us again. We would love to welcome you back. I will be sure to share your comments with my team to make improvements where necessary.

Once again thank you for staying with us,

Andrew Tilley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a beautiful vacation with another couple at the Melia Resort early this March. We did the All-Inclusive plan, which is surely the way to go (prices otherwise are very expensive). The drinks were great, the service was good and usually pretty quick. The property all-over was very clean, our rooms were clean (it's the first thing I check!) and the staff at the Melia were all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The housekeepers were sure to say hello in passing and sometimes engaged in brief conversation; they would also replace the water bottles in the room daily, which I thought was great. It would've been nice if they had a stocked mini-bar with a small fridge for those with the All-Inclusive plan.
The resorts beach is well-maintained; the Melia's staff rake the sand, pick up trash and cigarette butts, and organize the lounge chairs daily. The hotel is renovating and you can see its efforts.
The Customer Service made the trip for us. From the moment we walked into the doors to the moment we left and said goodbye to the Melia the staff treated us with respect, courtesy and friendliness. We would like to thank Mr. Paul Cooper, a manager there, for his warm welcoming and greetings. He familiarized us with the facility, the food and beverages. Seeing Paul repeatedly throughout our stay accounted for many happy memories.
We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_VIP_Family_Motel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

The_Vip_Family_Motel,
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your praises with Mr.Cooper, I know he will be happy to hear from you. Its great to know that you will be back and we cannot wait to welcome you and your family again. If you are visiting next year you will be able to enjoy our upgrades and renovations that we will be doing this year!

See you next year,

Andrew Tilley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Melia is a huge resort about a ten minute drive from the airport. The rooms are clean. The pool is dirty. The food is average. We were trying to stay somewhere close to the airport, and Nassau does not have much of a choice in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrownMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Family of 4, Hotel well maintained. Pools and Beach were superb. Staff at front desk friendly, however bar and restaurant staff not so much, but prob typical for Bahamas. No wi-fi access in room available, but it was free in the lobby. That was not a deal breaker for us, because this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank mulva324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello mulva324,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach Hotel. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share a review and I hope you visit us again soon.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#1 of 37 in Nassau
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
0.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.2 mi away
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas ...
#2 of 14 in Paradise Island
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
Price Range: $286 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Nassau Beach All-Inclusive is located right on the stunning Cable Beach with 694 Guestrooms/32 Suites just a few minutes from the center, shops, restaurants, nightspots and Lynden Pindling International Airport. Enjoy yourself at our 3 spectacular pools with waterfalls facing the sea, 2 hydro-massage tubs, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine in 7 dining venues/4 bars featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. ACCOMMODATIONS: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, The Level Junior Suite, One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite, Two Bedrooms Ocean Front Suite and the Presidential Suite, stay at our comfortable accommodations with stunning views of the ocean, pools or resort gardens, perfect for a romantic getaway. Stay connected with Free Wi-Fi everywhere, even at the Beach. Stay fit with our FREE 24-hour fully equipped gym or join the fun with our full activities/entertainment program, shows and live music. In addition, enjoy extra privileges for guests staying at The Level such as exclusive areas, FREE room service and much more. For the youngest the Resort features a Kids Pool and Kids’ Club. *Operating as an inclusive resort as of December 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing