We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hello Melia, So Long Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hello Melia, So Long Sheraton”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I made reservations to stay at the Sheraton Hotel and Resort on Cable Beach beginning Dec 12, 2013. But around the first of December we received an email notifying us that the property was no longer part of Starwood Preferred and the Sheraton banner was discontinued, replaced by Melia. Good news is Melia honored our room rate with no problem. In fact, check-in was smooth taking us less than 10 minutes (we were third in que). Our room was ready upon arrival, around 1500. Our room appeared to have been recently renovated but it was comfortable and quite clean with a spectacular ocean view. The entire staff was quite cordial and helpful; room service was prompt (15% gratuity included in your check). However, the food, while not bad, was nothing out of the ordinary, perhaps due to the change in ownership. No issues about safety and even though there was on-going construction, the sound of it was never noticeable. Melia lacks a business office and provided only two desktops for internet access. Unless you don't mind giving away money to your mobile phone company, I'd recommend you turn it off and avoid outrageous roaming and data charges. Finally, if you like casino life, there's one next door at the Crystal Palace which was open between 4pm and midnight (perhaps because it wasn't quite high season?) Our only "complaint" was that the bathroom's hotwater for the face-bowl was nothing more than lukewarm. Now the shower water ran quite hot, no problem there! Would I stay again? Yes. But we plan to be at the opening of Bahamar next year.

Two big points to mention. On the positive, Bahamar is the next great thing being developed next door to Melia and Crystal Palace. Bahamar is a $3.2B complex that will include a Mandarin, Grand Hyatt, waterpark, the largest casino (two stories) in the Caribbean, and a Jack Nicklaus championship golf course opening Dec 2014. Atlantis needs the competition. On the negative, a new Value Added Tax (VAT) has been proposed for locals, residents and businesses. Everyone we spoke to detests the new VAT.

TRAVEL NOTE

If you haven't been to Nassau of late, a new international terminal has been opened. Entering the country was painless but leaving was simply unprecedented. Melia is approx. 15 min from the airport; the taxi ride to the airport took longer than clearing customs!! We arrived 2 hours prior to our scheduled departure but it only took us 8 minutes to clear customs. And BTW, we checked our bags and received boarding passes within 10 minutes of arriving. Mind you we were traveling on a Sunday (Dec 15th) and our flight was full.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BuyEuros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    1,662
    1,000
    523
    434
See reviews for
1,411
2,012
156
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON ONT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Was there 1 week of Dec to check it out, we were staying in the Cable Beach area. Big place nice beach ultra clean. Going to Nassau end of Jan with 4 couples, all 8 drink and love the pool, beach and bars. We sat at the lounge bar and ordered 2 domestic beers ...kalick ...2 beers $16, if beer $8 a bottle we didn't bother with dinner or 2nd round. Walked down the street to find different location, will likely stay at Crystal Palace on return. If you are a non drinker you may have a total different opinion, If you do stay there or the CP and want more reasonable food and bev options go to the street and turn left, nice walk to several locations ( Some fast food, some not ).
e n j o y

Room Tip: Only went for bar and restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nassau hotels

Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I know this hotel has changed hands, we were probably last group to stay there. We really liked the beach it was beautiful, I agree with some of the comments on TripAdvisor that it did show sighs of wear but for us knowing this going in we were quite happy with our room,the location,the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would go again, like I said before the beach for swimming and snorkelling was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My family visited the Sheraton over Thanksgiving. We read the reviews and were very skeptical going into our vacation. We were VERY pleasantly surprised! We stayed on the top floor and our room was great. It needed some updating but was otherwise clean and very comfortable. The cleaning staff did a great job every day, and with my two kids messes, they earned their money.

The pools were beautiful though cold. Even the heated pool was cool. It didn't bother my kids though so they had a great time. Thankfully there was a hot tub to warm up in after the pools. There are friendly cats roaming the grounds, which just made it even better for my kids.

We ate at the buffet for Thanksgiving and thought it was great. A lot of choices and the food was good. We also ordered room service a few times which was very good. Otherwise we ate out of the hotel to save money. There is a Thai restaurant two blocks away that was not bad. The fish market area was also very good. You must go to the daiquiri shack across from the hotel. The best daiquiri's ever!

Overall we were very pleased with the Sheraton. Unfortunately the Sheraton turned ownership of this property over to another hotel chain beginning on December 1st. I am sure they will update the property and it will be beautiful, but you will definitely pay more for the visit. The Sheraton provided a great place for a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We went all inclusive for one week. Beautiful hotel especially beach. Could be cleaner in bathrooms, extremely slow everything: They have no concept of time, wait to check in & out, waitress, bar attended - u have to go get them pretty much - though there are some great friendly ppl working there too especially at the main door. Singing these bills (though all inclusive) is just weird - have AI bracelet work it out internally. Our flight leaving was late aft and got slapped with a bill at checkout as we had drinks - All inclusive and you get a bill! We weren't forewarned about cut off and looked trough everything yet front desk did not care. Just no service. I'm not usually picky but attitude at hotels and resorts gets to me. Left us with bad impression which is so frustrating as they have the nicest stretch of the beach main floor of hotel is great especially he view from couches by Starbucks. Melia just took over so hopefuly it may at some point turn from 3 to 5 *. Oh and only 1 day the restaurant was open otherwise we were stuck at the buffet everyday and if u sit outside at buffet - don't look at the sealing or outside walls/ pipes - so dirty it really just needs a good wash wight a hose. At the beach no sign of anyone working - never got to use any equipment the few days weather was good. In fact when got there not all waterspouts were included (again that's not what we thought we paid for) so didn't even get to try windsurfing . Give it some time for Melia to straighten out the service.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Eunika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,741 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,503 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We checked in around 1pm and our room wasn't ready until 3pm. We arrived later, around 4pm, and we were told that our room wasn't available anymore. Supposedly they gave our room to another guest. The front desk took more than 40 minutes to figure out what was going on. In the end they realized that we were the guests that had checked in!

They offered us $25 in bar/restaurant credit. But when we checked out the $25 credit was charged as a debit... Instead of receiving $25 they charged us $25!!! And the front desk couldn't solve it because they had just migrated the system from Sheraton to Melia. We are still trying to contact them to solve it, calling and sending faxes to Bahamas...

Rooms: are dated although we stayed in the 6th floor (room 678), it was OK and it had a good view over the beach.

Breakfast buffet: I do not recommend it. Check my pics.
You can have a coffee and a pastry on Starbucks or walk/ take a bus to the Swiss Pastry (less than 10 minutes walking).

Guests pay an extra $40 fee for using the resort facilities. But if you are not a guest, for $40 you can have access to the resort facilities plus lunch buffet. This doesn't make any sense.

Room Tip: 678 has a good view over the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My group and I were on the NCL Breakaway and one of our stops was Nassau. I had given this some research ahead of time. We walked a few blocks and took a bus for $1.25 each to the Sheraton Hotel. We each got a day pass for $30 which entitles you to use their beach, pools, chairs, towels and water sports equipment. Wave runners were available at an extra cost which was expensive but 6 of us did it anyway which was so much fun ($80 for 30 minutes). The pools were beautiful and they had a swim up bar and music going on. This was well worth the $30 and I would recommend this to anyone spending the day in Nassau.

After we left the Sheraton we headed to Senior Frogs which we always like to frequent when we are in Nassau. We were disappointed they do not make their signature drink, the Firefly, anymore. They said too many people were getting crazy…unfortunately that is the whole reason we like to go to this place…it was fun and crazy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
5.6 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
5.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
#13 of 14 in Paradise Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,697 reviews
3.4 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive

Property: Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Nassau Beach All-Inclusive is located right on the stunning Cable Beach with 694 Guestrooms/32 Suites just a few minutes from the center, shops, restaurants, nightspots and Lynden Pindling International Airport. Enjoy yourself at our 3 spectacular pools with waterfalls facing the sea, 2 hydro-massage tubs, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine in 7 dining venues/4 bars featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. ACCOMMODATIONS: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, The Level Junior Suite, One Bedroom Ocean Front Suite, Two Bedrooms Ocean Front Suite and the Presidential Suite, stay at our comfortable accommodations with stunning views of the ocean, pools or resort gardens, perfect for a romantic getaway. Stay connected with Free Wi-Fi everywhere, even at the Beach. Stay fit with our FREE 24-hour fully equipped gym or join the fun with our full activities/entertainment program, shows and live music. In addition, enjoy extra privileges for guests staying at The Level such as exclusive areas, FREE room service and much more. For the youngest the Resort features a Kids Pool and Kids’ Club. *Operating as an inclusive resort as of December 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing