We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive staff, great dives”

Stuart Cove's Tiger Beach Safaris - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Nassau Snorkel Bahamas Adventure
More Info
$147.99*
and up
Nassau SUB Bahamas Adventure
More Info
$84.99*
and up
Nassau Shore Excursion: Bahamas Snorkel Adventure
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great dive staff, great dives”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We took a group of sixteen divers, five of them doing their open water certification dives and others having hundreds of dives in their logs. Everyone had a good time and, once we got past the hassle of actually getting checked in and the seemingly challenging administration issues they have, things went really well.

We only dove for two days but did five dives (including a night dive) on day one and four on day two. Haley was our divemaster and she did an excellent job of briefing for every dive, covering safety procedures and, in general, keeping the herd in line. Steven, our boat captain, was entertaining, hard-working and a real team player. It's obvious the staff at Stuart Cove's enjoys working there and they truly care about showing everyone a good and safe time. Kudos to all of them.

Most of our dives were on wrecks, several of them sunk to film movies. Boat rides were all very short, making for pleasant days. Visibility was good, but not great--we had some seas and they were stirring things up a bit. Haley made certain we saw each part of each dive as several of them had multiple things to see (wrecks, reefs, etc.).

The world-famous shark dive is truly a fun experience. We had Haley doing the feeding, a videographer and a still photographer with us and they were nearly giddy with excitement before and after the dive. That was infectious. Again, safety was paramount and they spent plenty of time making certain we understood the protocol and were comfortable when arranged on the bottom. It's hard to not be excited with 5-8' sharks swimming, literally, right next to you and we all loved the dive.

Overall, an excellent operation (short of some preliminary challenges), well-run with good equipment and a superb dive staff. Don't pass this one up.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DVenturesMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tiger Beach - Grand Bahama”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Best dive that I've ever done (and I'm close to 1000 dives). Very cool experience. Dive staff is very knowledgable and well-informed. We had a 4 tigers, tons of lemons, 1 or 2 reefs and a lonely nurse shark. If you listen to the dive crew, you'll be safe. We left at 9 and got back by 3pm. THe Grand Bahama Resort is very nice and the boat leaves from right there. We flew in Saturday morning and took the ferry back Sunday night. Best weekend trip I've ever taken. Bring snacks on the boat!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank KPBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladera Ranch, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“stuarts cove shark dive”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

5 of us went on this dive. 30-40 sharks around. never felt unsafe, awesome photo opportunity. they make a video and do shots. it is one of the best dives we have done. ranged from 21 -60 years old on the dive. watching these guys feed from 30 feet away is thrilling. staff knows their stuff.

totally worth it..2 tanks.. still get goosebumps thinking of it..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tiger Beach was spectacular!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I dove tiger beach back in June and decided to dive with Stuart Cove as they offered single day excursions. This was hands down the best dive I have ever done in my life!!!! Numerous barracuda and lemon sharks showed up alongside two large (about 10-12ft) tiger sharks! Because of the conditions of the dive (kneel on bottom, 12ft of water) we got about 3hrs of bottom time with these magnificent animals. To add to that, the staff was superb! The divemaster (cant for the life of me remember his name) was polite and courteous and gave a informative presentation on the animals/dive before getting in the water. At no point during the dive did I ever feel in danger (the animals are pretty chill) but the staff's excellent safety precautions put any doubts to ease. Awesome trip and this is a MUST dive place if your in Grand Bahama

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank mlawrence27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I did the 1/2 day snorkeling trip with Stuart's Cove and it was well worth the price. The first stop was at a reef that was teeming with fish. There were literally hundreds of fish swimming around us at any given time. It was an amazing experience. The second snorkeling location did not have as many fish, but we could see a submerged plane that had been a prop for one of the Jaws movies. At the third site, the crew dropped a bait box into the water, which attracted several large reef sharks. One shark was at least 8 feet long! The crew was extremely professional and friendly, and at no time did we feel like we were in danger. The only complaints I have are in regards to some other rude passengers on our tour who refused to follow the crew's directions. Overall, it was an amazing experience, especially for someone who loves the ocean but can't dive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Dude_Loves_Button
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stuart Cove's Tiger Beach Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

West End, Grand Bahama Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Stuart Cove's Tiger Beach Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing