We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, rum, chocolate, local food…great guide…what's not to love??”

Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Nassau Rum and Food Walking Tour
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Nassau Shore Excursion: Rum and Food Walking Tour
More Info
$64.45*
and up
Nassau Beer Tasting and Food Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 11 Food & Drink in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Islandz Tours guides visitors through downtown Nassau’s rich historic passageways, hidden architectural treasures, art galleries, and street murals painted by local Bahamian and international artists. Our mission is to provide a vibrant image of the culture and heritage of The Bahamas in a captivating, informative, and authentic way. We offer a variety of daily tours to choose from, and incorporate light refreshments and adequate rest stops along the way. All guides are local Nassuvians, certified by The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism’s Bahama Host Program, and absolutely love to share their island city with its visitors.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I can not say enough great things about the Rum Runner's tour from Islandz Tours. Our guide, Orchid, is also part owner of the company. Not only was she extremely knowledgeable about the history of Nassau and the impact of rum production, Prohibition, and tourism on the culture of the Bahamas, she was also lots of fun! The walking tour covers just a few blocks of the downtown at an easy pace. There are quite a few stops and lots of food tasting and drinks. We were lucky that there were just four of us and Orchid, so the tour was intimate and very comfortable. I can't recommend this tour enough, but I hate for too many people to learn about it and make the group too big ;)

Thank Ixplore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchid B, Manager at Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Don't worry, Ixplore2, we're still one of Nassau's best kept secrets! Moreover, we'll always keep our tour groups at a manageable size so you never lose that intimate and comfortable experience. That's an Islandz Tours guarantee!

Thanks for leaving such a great review, as well. We're so pleased that you had a wonderful and fun experience on the Rum-Runner's Passage Tour and we hope that we'll have another opportunity to host you, in future! Until next time... Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I took the Rum Runners tour while visiting Nassau on a cruise. Orchid was awesome - well versed in her history and info and wonderful company on the tour. We were lucky to be the only two on the tour and were able to have a great visit and ask Orchid any and all questions we had. We learned so much and brought home some fantastic chocolate and rum (after some yummy tastings). Thank you so much, Islandz Tours and Orchid!

Thank Jay9691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchid B, Manager at Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Jay9691! So happy to hear that you loved the Rum-Runner's Passage Tour! It's one of our favourite products in the inventory, combining the best of rum, food, history & art! I'm sure you've devoured all that amazing chocolate by now but I hope that you're still enjoying your rum and vacation memories! Thank you for leaving Islandz Tours a review and I hope we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We took the Rum Runners Tour of Nassau and loved it! Our guide, Orchid, provided a detailed, well researched presentation on the history of The Bahamas from its piratical past to the nations modern roots in the rum running during the American Prohibition period. Her knowledge of The Bahamas political, social and artistic scenes was first rate and added a dimension to our Bahamas vacation that we missed on our first visit. Well worth it! Thank you, Orchid! ~Frank, Janice & Alex

Thank fstopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchid B, Manager at Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Frank, Janice & Alex! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your Rum-Runner's Passage Tour with us and thank you so much for this awesome (and very well written) review! It's always a treat for us to share an Islandz Tours Experience with repeat visitors to the Bahamas! Often times, it's difficult to navigate the "tourist areas" of Nassau without a guide and we're pleased to hear that we succeeded in adding a new dimension to your vacation. Until next time... Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This tour was a highlight for us. Orchid, our guide and an owner of the company, in a native of Nassau and an expert on its history. We learned many stories about Nassau and how prohibition in the U.S. helped them grow and prosper as we traveled. Stops included a bar, an art gallery, a bed/breakfast, chocolate shop, and distillery. Along the way we were given samples of rum, chocolate treats, some chicken wings, and other goodies. We enjoyed our time with Orchid very much and felt the cost of the tour was a great value. Nassau is a beautiful place, and we left feeling we understand more about its people and culture.

Thank kcleigh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchid B, Manager at Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi kcleigh76! Thank you for this glowing review! It's feedback like this that helps us gauge how well we're hitting our goals of giving our guests great value for their money and also sharing a "taste" of Bahamian history, culture and heritage. We're happy that we were able to accomplish that on your Rum-Runner's Passage Tour! Hope to see you again sometime. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was the Highlight of my cruise. If you have been to Nassau before, there is not a lot to do other than Atlantis and the standard water excursions, if you are looking for something different and are into Rum, this is a great option for you while in port. Orchid did a fantastic job of providing us the History on the area. The tour was a great value for the amount of tastings you received, along with the other cocktails, fritters and chocolates you got to sample. It was a nice experience without all the crowds from the cruise ship. They offer one tour in the morning and one in the afternoon, we did the afternoon tour and had plenty of time to complete the tour and walk back to the ship before it's departure. I would book another tour with Islandz Tours, the next time we stop in Nassau.

Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchid B, Manager at Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hi Nadine B! Thanks for joining us on the Rum-Runner's Passage Tour and leaving such a comprehensive review! We strive to make sure that our tours are authentic, intimate, a great alternative to the beach and worth every penny! We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you're in Nassau. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing