We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Nassau Rum and Food Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 10 Food & Drink in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Islandz Tours guides visitors through downtown Nassau’s rich historic passageways, hidden architectural treasures, art galleries, and street murals painted by local Bahamian and international artists. Our mission is to provide a vibrant image of the culture and heritage of The Bahamas in a captivating, informative, and authentic way. We offer a variety of daily tours to choose from, and incorporate light refreshments and adequate rest stops along the way. All guides are local Nassuvians, certified by The Bahamas Ministry of Tourism’s Bahama Host Program, and absolutely love to share their island city with its visitors.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“History”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the second time I have taken this tour with guests. Each time I have learnt something new of the history of the Bahamas. Maria, the tour guide is amazing and she does know her history of the islands. Our guests were so impressed with this tour. Also have done the art n dine and rum tours, if one is visiting the island one of these tours should be on your list to do. I highly recommend as you will not be disappointed with the tours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun!! Rum Runners Tour”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As a History teacher I am always looking for ways to learn about the places we visit and this tour did not disappoint! I booked this walking tour online for my husband and I as a shore excursion while on a cruise. We were met right on time by our tour guide Maria and we were off for a fun adventure! Maria was not only very knowledgeable about the history that rum (and rum running) played in the development of the Bahamas but also in Bahamian history in general. She even shared some secret historical facts!! We visited several interesting sites, learned how to taste rum, sampled a variety of rums, rum drinks, rum-infused chocolates and a delicious cake with rum sauce.

This was definitely not one of those boring history tours where the tour guide doesn't even realize they have "lost" the participants in their rambling. If you are going to be spending any time in Nassau I would highly recommend that you spend a few of those hours on this tour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mga116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Walking Thru History”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We are staying with friends who currently live in Nassau...our host had recommended this tour and arranged for us to go on it...what a great way to learn about the history of the Bahamas, and Nassau in particular. Our tour guide, Maria, had an impressive knowledge of the history associated with the various buildings/sites we saw and was always able to answer our questions. An excellent walking tour, and well worth the cost...looking forward to doing the Rum Tour soon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding art tour!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We (my mother, sister and myself) booked a walking art tour through islandztours.com since we wanted a feel for the local artists. Our tour guide,Orchid, was absolutely wonderful. Her knowledge of the local art work and artists made this a must do tour! We visited several outside murals, two local galleries and the National Art Museum. Orchid's narrative at each stop gave us a very interesting insight into the local art scene.I understand that islandztours offer several other tours and if they are as good as this one was, I urge you to take one. We enjoyed the tour and highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LKCPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun and different way to explore Nassau!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of four choose this tour to do as a shore excursion from our cruise. We were met right on time by Maria and had a wonderful time. Maria was very knowledgable- not only about the history of rum runners, but about the Bahamas in general. We enjoyed the walking tour and felt like we saw a part of Nassau that we wouldn't have seen otherwise. We tasted some delicious samples of chocolate, rum cake and rum punch along the way, too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank boonegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau also viewed

 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Islandz Tours - Cultural Walking Tours of Downtown Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing