We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow what a holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandyport Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandyport Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow what a holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a fabulous holiday resort - the staff are courteous kind and very very helpful. Our kitchen was one of the newly refurbished - which suits us great as I like to cook.

This is our 8th year and each year seems like our first. The grounds are fabulous with hammocks around the property - a great place to relax.

I urge everyone to try the local buses to go down town - they are really colourful, they stop and drop you off where ever you need to go.

Sandyport Beaches Resort is everything that we look for in a holiday - family atmosphere, quite, hot, relaxing and places to shop.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny particularly 426 - an absolute favourite of ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    209
    80
    48
    69
See reviews for
176
243
43
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed a week through the RCI timeshare and it was super relaxing! The condo we stayed in (unit 326 in the green building) was very nice and spacious. We had a great view overlooking the lagoon. The hammocks around the property were a great place to relax. The private ocean beach at Sandyport was so private that most times I went I was the only person there (could have just been the time of year)! The staff was friendly and helpful. The town is a short bus ride away...no need to rent a car. And the grocery store and liquor store was within walking distance. There wasn't a ton to selection as far as places to eat, but with a kitchen in our unit what they had was fine. There's not much nightlife around and most places even in downtown Nassau seemed to close early, but if you're looking for a place just to relax and get away from it all, I highly recommend Sandyport!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesica916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The resort is really nice but a bit dated. It is good for the price you pay for. Hammocks around resort are very convenient. Shop is close by. Cable beach is few minutes by bus. Airport is close as well

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

There is no WI-FI at the hotel!! only 2 computers at the front desk. I thought it's not a big deal but it is.

we arrived for a week with RCI. for our honeymoon. the view is amazing the room we got was really nice. the overall maintenance of the place isn't really good but not terrible.
they can paint the bridges, above the pools.
replace the inside of the dishwasher which was rusty so we cleaned the dishes by hand.
and also clean the cupboards of the kitchen which were a little sticky.

but except that the room was fine. double big bed. 2 bathrooms. Jacuzzi and a shower which took them 3 days to replace the shower head but after that worked fine.

the second day we were they the hotel offered us a trip to the supermarket with a bus to buy food. we used it wisely to carry all the heavy stuff.

the hotel offers trip for a outrages price of 50$ for a "safari trip" do not take this trip this is not a safari it's just going on a bus with no a/c at September which was not fun and hearing big Al talking about how much does houses costs in Nassau.

the sunset boat ride was nice
and so was the fishing trip. be ready to fish with your hands, no fishing rods but still fun.

the problem is that most of the action is in paradise island or downtown. so if u don't go to the trips there is nothing to do in the hotel except the pool. the bar at the pool was closed for the whole week.

there are 3 restaurants which serves good food next to the hotel. mind they add 15% tip to the bill.

if you want to go to paradise island you can go by bus and ferry which runs up to 6PM after that a cab to paradise island will cost you 25-30 $ one way.

tip: the aquarium in Atlantis is free after 6PM, before that is about 40-50 $
the water park in 139$ per person if you don't stay at the hotel.
Aura the night club is 100$ for guys 50$ for girls - runs only on friday and saturday
dragons is 20$ per person

so if you are looking for a good place to be on your own. that's the place.

but if you want to do something after 7 PM like going to restaurants, night clubs, casino, eating ice-cream, i suggest you find something closer to Paradise island.


the major problem we had is that they knew we are coming for a honeymoon and the remodeled the entire floor where we stayed so in 8 in the morning we had hammering and painting outside our door, and also they stopped the water for the hotel for almost 24 hours.
only when we said we don't have anything to drink they gave us 2 gallons of water.


Really ?? the honeymooners needs to be up at 8 AM

Room Tip: rooms in the middle were remodeled when we were there u might as well enjoy them :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A lovely relaxing place...100% quality time with family and u sure will relax and spend time with your love ones. A great view of the beaches and a pleasant site out your room window. Beautiful tranquilizing pools and its a great getaway from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volumptous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had an amazing time !!! Although it was slow season and not too many people at resort, and not many activities, this suited us fine as we were there just to relax. We booked a three night get away two weeks prior, so we didn't attend their activities/info presentation. No sales pitches which was nice. Our flight got in early so staff stored our luggage in an unoccupied room, and allowed us to change and sit by pool until our room was ready. Staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. Be sure to request a renovated room. There is about 6 two level villa style buildings on site, but only one (blue building) that is renovated. The rest are in process. Each room has a patio/balcony depending on level, and suite rooms have best views on canal. 1BR and studio rooms have pool/garden views. No need to rent car as cabs are very reasonable and mini transit bus is only $1.25 per person which will take you down the street for groceries, or downtown Nassau. They come by every 10-15 minutes. Only negative would be government fees which is applicable apparently ANYWHERE IN BAHAMAS. There is a check-in government fee which ranges from about $90 to $120 depending on how many bedrooms. Also a government hydro fee of $12 per person, PER NIGHT over 12 yrs old. Bahamas in general is on the expensive side for groceries, beer and liquor (except rum). If can get over this and plan a vacation to Bahamas, this is a great choice. Should we plan to return to Bahamas, this would be first on our list.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a renovated room. There is about 6 two level villa style buildings on site, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carm Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at Sandyport and liked it very much. It is a bus ride removed from downtown Nassau so it it isn't all hustle around town. If you are looking for a high volume night life , this is not the place nor would I call it overly kid friendly. It provides for activities including snorkeling, bus tour around the island, deep sea fishing, sunset cruise, and evening BBQ. It is a timeshare property with no sales pitch! It is a SILVER so don't expect it to be a gold one. It does a little updating of furniture but the staff is very friendly and my compliments go out to Sarah, Big Al, Judson and Cleveland the bar chef who makes breakfast and dinner. There is no menu, you just tell him in the morning what you want for dinner and he gets the food. One night we changed dinner plans and he left during the evening and went to get us dinner and also another couple. The staff as I said was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed this resort very much. Our room was right on the marina beach with a patio and just steps to the pool and office. Other reviews complained about the Wi-Fi but there are two computers in the resort lobby for use. We would return to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hawkeyecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.8 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
6.8 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.9 mi away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandyport Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beach Resort

Property: Sandyport Beach Resort
Address: West Bay St, Sandyport, Nassau none, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandyport Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beach Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Wireless Internet access is free in the rooms and public areas. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and tranquility of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Sandyport Marina Village on the Resort's doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandyport Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing