We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK For a Last Minute Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK For a Last Minute Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our view of New Providence and Nassau is that both are fairly run-down and need repair. The one positive thing about them is the friendliness and cheerfulness of their population. The government makes its money off imports and as a result local agriculture and manufacturing are discouraged, and both food and other goods are expensive.

Our unit Sandy Beaches Resort had a kitchen/living room and a large bedroom with a Jacuzzi. The room was clean and bug-free. The kitchen stove had two burners that would light using the pilot light and two that we had to use matches to light. We didn't use the dishwasher because the rusty, wheel-missing bottom rack couldn't be moved out to load with dishes. The kitchen had a coffeemaker, refrigerator and microwave that all worked well, along with dishes and cooking pots and pans. The tap water isn't potable, but you can buy a gallon of water from the office for $2 ($1.49 at a nearby grocery store). The staff was very friendly and helpful and provided useful information about nearby shopping and using the jitney buses. Unfortunately the weather was not great and the surf was very heavy so we did not use the beaches.

My wife and I had a good time--as we always do--watching people, shopping and having lunch at the Fish Fry.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmmathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear hmmathis,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I know exactly when you stayed as we had usually high surf and I am so sorry that the weather negatively impacted your stay. Our islands sunshine, beaches and beautiful waters are along with our people our greatest assets; to not get to enjoy them is a real shame. I am pleased to hear though that you did have “a good time”, that you found our team “very friendly and helpful” and your suite well-appointed and clean. We are in the process of replacing some of our major appliances and I apologize that yours were not to our normal standard.

I do hope that you will visit us again soon when we have excellent beach weather so that we can give you our true island experience.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    180
    73
    42
    57
See reviews for
141
209
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a week for our vacation. I would never consider looking at other places to stay when I do come back. Staff was very welcoming and super helpful throughout our time there, especially Lady Sarah who booked stuff for us and recommended awesome places that fit our interests. Rooms were amazing, clean, and very spacious. Awesome views, close to ocean, nearby restaurants, and the bus stops right in front of resort. It is some ways from downtown (but a short bus ride away), which we very much appreciated as it was very peaceful and relaxing. I highly suggest doing the activities they offer as well. All around great experience and I can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMasley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear K Masley13,

I am so glad that you enjoyed the peace and relaxation and “would never consider looking at other places to stay”. We very much aim to provide a tranquil island experience while being near to all of the activity Nassau has to offer. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and I am so happy to hear that you found our team “welcoming” and “super helpful”. Thank you so much as well for posting your pictures. Your hammock is calling me!

We can’t wait to have you back too. See you soon.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at Sandyport on a stopover between London and Eleuthera. The treatment I received was first class, nothing too much trouble. I had a WONDERFUL room - actually a suite of rooms which I shared with my travelling companion. It was clean, well equipped, overlooking water on both sides. What more could I want! Oh yes, the Poop Deck restaurant is well worth a visit. I had a Cobb's salad - just the job on a hot day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TouagubaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Angela K,

Thank you so much for writing your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a “wonderful room” and the “treatment was first class”. I do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at Sandyport overnight. Originally, we had a booking elsewhere. We did not like the place and decided to move to Sandyport, having stayed there several times before, always to our great satisfaction. We would have booked in advance, but nothing showed available on the net. We, therefore, in fact came in "cold". M. Vernon Moss, the manager could not have been more helpful and pleasant. He set us up in a wonderful appartment overlooking the water. Everything was in pristine order and our luggage was even brought to the room for us. Being a winter resident on Eleuthera, I had food I wanted kept in the freezer. The mamager very kindly stored it for me until I was ready to go to the airport. This is definitely the best place to stay in Nassau!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chantal039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Chantal039,

“Definitely the best place to stay in Nassau!” Wow, thank you that is high praise indeed. I am so pleased that Vernon was able to squeeze you in but sorry that you could not initially find availability on-line. We love when our guests become friends and will always try to accommodate where we can. Please do always feel you can contact us directly.

I hope that you are having a wonderful time in Eleuthera and perhaps next time you can stay with us a little longer.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great view right on the canal. There were a couple of issues with our room (adjourning room door lock broken, bathtub faucet leaky); but the staff addressed these issues immediately and were some of the most friendly folks we've ever met. The adjacent restaurant is a bit expensive, so I'd advise you to take Chef Cleveland up on his offer to prepare a personal breakfast and/or dinner for you. The man can cook! If you're looking for more adventure, ask Chef Cleveland about Beverly's Kitchen. It's more of a small local restaurant where many of the locals go for great food at a great value! Our suite was spacious and the resort was in a great location. We're looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Shawn B,

We are so pleased that you “loved” your first trip to Nassau. I am sorry that you had a few initial issues but am pleased to hear these were rectified immediately. We pride ourselves on our excellent staff who genuinely enjoy taking care of our guests and giving a friendly local experience. We too are looking forward to your next trip. I am sure Chef Cleveland will be ready with some more great food.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I enjoyed the comfort of the resort and saw the improvements to the property!! The amentities and furnitures have been upgraded. I loved the quietness of feeling like a vacation home and enjoyed the ability of the amentites that allowed you to cook food rather than getting alot of fast foods which saved a lot of money!! I normally stay @ Sheraton but I enjoyed the "right in the backyard" beach access from the suite!!I had a great time there & will be back most definitely!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsDivatech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ms. Divatech,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you chose Sandyport for your stay this time and enjoyed the feeling of a “vacation home”. We look forward to having you “back most definitely”. Glad you like the upgrades!

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I visited this property every year. I seem the improvements on the property.Grounds well kept, ground crew keeping the plants and flower together. Housekeeping always there to assist. Cleveland the chef cooking great food to order. The new pool a plus. The rooms frest looking ,new furniture and updates appliances.The front end staff and management team is professional, friendly and helpful. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madelyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Madelyn s,

Welcome back to Sandyport. We are so pleased that you have seen the improvements that we have made and that you had a “great time”. We are working very hard at the resort to continue to improve our guest experience. Next year I am sure that you will see even more to delight you.

See you soon.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
3.8 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
5.1 mi away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
1.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandyport Beaches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beaches Resort

Property: Sandyport Beaches Resort
Address: West Bay St, Sandyport | P.O. Box SP 63162, Nassau none, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandyport Beaches Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beaches Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Wireless Internet access is free in the rooms and public areas. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and tranquility of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Sandyport Marina Village on the Resort's doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandyport Beaches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing